Ratings based on 498 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close to shops

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Breakfast, close to Merryhill shops.
Cons: Redecorate.
Location: Shops
Bathroom - shower broken and mould on tiles.Rooms okay, need updating, carpet worn would not pay full price for hotel. Breakfast good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Poor hotel needs updating.

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Close to family we were visiting
Cons: Total refurbishment.
Location: Good for shopping.
Very disappointing. First impression black tape on carpet not good. Bed clean but uncomfortable. T.v not working told to bang remote and it should work. I've never heard anything like it from a 4 star hotel. Breakfast first morning was awful in my opinion it was cooked hours before and kept warm until we wanted it. The staff delt with it well and the price refunded off our bill. Once again I must comment on the tape on the carpet it was everywhere in the restaurant doesn't look like a 4 star hotel at all. We used to live in the area and this is why we chose this hotel because it had a good reputation but not anymore. Sorry to have to say but I wouldn't use this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice near shopping centre

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Room Size; bar area was pleasant and staff was accommodating and friendly
Cons: Hotel make over and change of chief
Location: Hotel was situated amongst lots of shops and other amenities within walking distance.
standard. hotel lobby and room jaded i.e. carpet in lobby held together with black tape, room furniture chipped and hotel hall ways smell unkempt/dampish Room service very poor as internal tele lines were down and not working. Hotel lacked personal touch such as room clock, water, room service and menu lacked imagination and substance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from merry hill

Average

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Blood stains bath towel from last person , tooth brush had been used , Friday party nite put into a small side room for dinner and told over half hour wait for food so had to go to nearest pub. And sat morning no newspapers had been delivered so went to local shop and bought one
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location for tennis event

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Reasonably comfortable and convenient location.
Cons: Temperature in bedrooms too hot Check in very slow behind coachload of women who had just arrived.
Only stayed one night on this occasion and we were satisfied with the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by simo from nokia

Nice

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Toni

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jacquelyn from London

Lovely hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed at this hotel for a wedding. Found the staff very accommodating and friendly. Food service was a bit longer than expected, even when they appeared quiet, but the food was great and the service was good. The room itself was very clean, save for some stains on the carpet which was a bit off-putting, especially as slippers were not provided as standard. Beds very comfortable and room service thorough. Would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mr SCP

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels