Ratings based on 706 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to shopping

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Decor is generally outdated however staff were very helpful suggesting the that we move to a quieter room on the third floor away from the lift. A great hotel location should you wish to have a girly weekend, pool and spa facilities, and shopping on the door step.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Wales

Great hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Lovely hotel, friendly, professional staff. Close to shopping. Facilities are good, wifi strong. Didn't use the spa facilities, but everything looked good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Nice Town hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Needs updating but good nonetheless! Nice room looking over canal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merry Hill, Dudley

Visited family

Posted Feb 18, 2017
On arrival we received a genuine welcome from Karl, who explained everything to us and was delighted to inform we had been upgraded to a suite. The room was more than we could've hoped for, and we were extremely grateful. Nothing was too much trouble for Karl who arranged our taxi. On returning to the hotel later in the evening, again we were made to feel welcome. Breakfast next morning, was superb, with Nigel and Franco ensuring we were happy. As big hotel groups go, this hotel went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay, and all credit goes to the entire team for making it happen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

right next to Intu shopping mall.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Really comfortable beds, dated décor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham UK

Shopping weekend

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: No fuss , clean room , good facilities and a very nice breakfast ! Top tip , upgrade to Club its worth every penny .
Cons: Looking a bit tired , could do with a refurb .
Location: Perfectly situated for Merry Hill shopping Centre . Surrounding area is a bit grim , the waterfront looks like it went bankrupt .
Good quality hotel . Maybe getting a little tired now but still good place to stay , especially if you intend to go shopping at Merry Hill Centre .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle-under-Lyme

Cosy hotel close to the shopping centre.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The staff, the high standard of service, my room and the fact that there was so much choice at breakfast.
Cons: Some of the furniture in the room was marked/damaged and it was quite cool, as though the insulation wasn't very good.
Location: Shopping centre and its restaurants, plus two pubs on waterfront. There are two gyms up the road and some supermarkets.
The Copthorne is a really nice hotel with very attentive staff and lots of facilities, including a small spa. It's also close to the Merry Hill shopping centre and all its shops and restaurants, as well as a couple of pubs on the waterfront. The rooms are nice and spacious if a little dated but it felt very cosy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dursley, Glos

Location Useful Locatio

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Loation
Cons: Getting towards a refurb
Location: A large out of town shopping centre, restaurants, canal basin, cinema, did not see much else, January and it snowed a little!
Spent two nights in club room, very comfortable, overlooking Merry Hill, able to travel to central Birmingham on bus a bit slow but no parking worries! Hotel suited our needs well - except someone having a crafty cigarette in another room somewhere and the fumes got into our bathroom presumably we shared same ventilation shaft. Told hotel staff immediately but it was late at night and they apologized.
5 out of 5
by Simon J

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I along with our daughter enjoyed our few days'stay, the location being ideal for some retail therapy and for our daughter to visit friends living nearby.
4 out of 5
by Simon J

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels