Ratings based on 496 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Overall the experience was fine, except there was no shower curtain in the room. When I asked for one to be put in the room, they left it on the bed for me to put up. There were no clean towels in the pool area, but there was a bunch of dirty towels. The reason I would return is because I love the building.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. We wished this information was brought to our attention. Our front desk is very quick and diligent to get a manager or supervisor to handle any issue or situation you have during your stay with us. Again thank you for your review as it helps us to be a better resort. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Clean, comfortable, beach view.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Location, close to Atlantic City, but quiet and some great local restaurants. Beach was only steps away.
Cons: Nothing, met all expectations.
Location: Convenient, several local restaurants were all very good. Atlantic City was a few minute drive, local area beaches were great for walking.
Excellent, beach view, October was a perfect time to visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Legacy Vacation Club. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Legacy Vacation Club Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Legacy No Go

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Although the hotel was right on the beach the hotel amenities were mediocre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. We wished this information was brought to our attention. Our front desk is very quick and diligent to get a manager or supervisor to handle any issue or situation you have during your stay with us. Again thank you for your review as it helps us to be a better resort. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
4 out of 5
by Colleen

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the four star rating. We are pleased you chose us, Legacy Vacation Club, for your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Regards, Legacy Vacation Club Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful experience

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Upon arriving there was absolutely no parking at all. We checked in at 8:30 at night and unpacked, and then left right away for a show at a casino. We had to ober there due to us being double parked. We came back and there was a water leak above us which made part of our ceiling come down and our floor was wet (which had ruined our phone chargers) we went down to the lobby and had them come look at it, we were told oh good I'm glad it's not over your bed because I have no where else to put you. Call house keeping in the morning and we will clean up the mess. Upon checking out I was told our resort fee of $3.99 was taken off our bill for our inconvenience. Um that's a slap in the face! I would not recommend staying in this hotel. For just a few dollars more you could stay in a nicer hotel in the city! Awful stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that your stay was unacceptable by your standards. Since we are unaware who you are, we encourage you to contact us to discuss this matter further with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we would like to know a little more. We look forward to hearing from you.
3 out of 5
by Jason

Good location. Nothing else was impressive

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Very good location right on the beach but other than that not much else was that great about our stay. Pretty much everything about the place is average and just OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
2 out of 5
by Melodi

Great beach location - couches horrible for sleep

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
The location and beach area was amazing. The reviews on the noise from the restaurant bar next door were accurate BUT it did quiet down around 10pm which I thought was very reasonable. I was also concerned about parking from reviews that I read and again I was pleasantly surprised with that as well - and there was no charge for parking which was a plus. The room however left alot to be desired. The a/c in the bedroom ended up leaking and soaked several feet of carpet - not good for the hotel but not good for my laptop bag/notebooks that had been sitting there either :( The toilet leaked. But the worse was the couch. The springs popped when sitting on it as a couch. I was traveling with my 3 children and needed to use that as a bed. We ended up with myself and my youngest two in a full size bed with my teenage daughter on the pull out couch (which she used as the couch because it was the worst pull out I've ever been on). The kids ended up begging to leave a night early to go home to sleep so we lost out on some vacation time and I wasn't happy with the extra spending but I couldn't argue with the logic. Had there just been 2 of us in the room it would have been doable. It would have been great if the person checking me out had asked how our stay was but he took our beach tags and keys and disappeared. (We did check out at an off time).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property regarding your recent stay with us. We service many guests in our resort and our main goal is to provide clean and comfortable accommodation and an exceptions customer service. Consequently, we're very concerned we failed with our services. We're very sorry you were disappointed with your accommodation. On behalf of our entire team please accept my sincerest apology. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
5 out of 5
by Linda

Great stay.

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
Had a great stay, the beach was so close and staff very friendly. Will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you for choosing to vacation at Legacy Vacation Club and for your feedback! Our goal is to provide exceptional vacation experiences that will give you memories of a lifetime. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on the time you've spent at Legacy Vacation Club. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Sincerely, Legacy Vacation Club Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, Pa

On the beach

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Wifi, view of beach and proximity
Cons: Very loud live music
Location: Walkable to beach and shops
Very pleased with the hotel-second time staying here. Unfortunately our room was right above the restaurant and they had live music 4 of the 5 nights we were there. When I called the front desk they were not correct when they said live music was only on Thursdays-Sunday. Had I known this before I would have requested to change rooms because I was traveling with a baby and it was very loud. The view of the beach was very nice. Wifi and AC worked excellent. Would stay again for convenience but next time I would make sure my room was not close to the restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to vacation at Legacy Vacation Club and for your feedback! Our goal is to provide exceptional vacation experiences that will give you memories of a lifetime. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on the time you've spent at Legacy Vacation Club. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Sincerely, Legacy Vacation Club Management
4 out of 5
by lena

Perfect- right on the beach.

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was in a perfect area, right on the beach! When we got there at 3pm, our room was not ready so we were not able to do an early check in. By 4pm (checkin time), our room was ready. Our room was clean and BIG. The bathroom floor wasnt swept/mopped that well. The shower curtain was really short for the shower/tub (Room 112) - the water was somewhat coming out of the shower to the floor because of that. The water pressure and hot water was awesome. There's also a closet in the bathroom. The room overall is a bit outdated, but clean. Kitchenette had everything you needed: utensils, cooking utensils, cups, wine cups, plates, frying pan, sponge, dish soap, dishwasher, disposal - which was what i was looking to see if they had as it is not listed on their website. Also in our room, one set of the blinds were somewhat inoperable as the windows were huge. We had the corner room on the first floor next to the play room - you can hear the air hockey table but we had the TV on, so it did not bother us that much. The ceiling was outdated as you can see water spots, but the ceiling were very high. I could not see if there was rinsing station on the outside of the hotel for the beach goers. Included were beach tags. Bed/pillows were pretty plush/soft. Our room did not have iron board, so we had to call to get them to bring us one and it took awhile (approx 30mins or so) but we finally got it. Restaurant outside/live band looked nice but did not go in. Overall, loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Lena, Thank you for choosing to vacation at Legacy Vacation Club and for your feedback! Our goal is to provide exceptional vacation experiences that will give you memories of a lifetime. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on the time you've spent at Legacy Vacation Club. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Sincerely, Legacy Vacation Club Management