Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York City

Decent Value especially without young children

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: On the water with a very nice beach. Liked the town it was in.
Cons: Check in-check out times and pool opening time. Also, they should at least offer a breakfast on site.
Location: The list is endless, for both adults and children.
Much older hotel with noisy room air conditioners, which kept waking my son up, and the coffee table had a glass top that kept sliding off. No nearby breakfast option and the hours for things are terrible. The check in time is 4PM and check out is 10AM and because of that we couldn't use the pool because it doesn't open until 9AM.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We're very sorry you were disappointed with the location of your accommodation. On behalf of our entire team please accept my sincerest apology. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA / Frankfurt, GER

Great hotel - close / quite

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: close to the beach and very quite
Cons: update the elevator
Location: ACME market, pizza shop, one bar in Bargantine, family dollar, Atlantic city
We booked this hotel for one night. The hotel is direct at the beach. The hotel looks a little bit different than at the pictures - older and not white like at the pictures, more a sand color. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was a studio and we had a nice view out of our window ( Atlantic City / beach / water ). Our room was clean. They have 5 min away a ACME market - you can shop your groceries there. You need around 10-15 min to Atlantic city. It was very quite. The bar/restaurant wasn't open. The elevator seems really old, he needs to be updated - it shakes a little bit to much for my taste. They have a older laundry room, you need quarters. We really liked this place. A little minus - they charged 3 x 100 bucks for a deposite ... ( normal is 1 x 100 dollar ) ... I called my bank. But at all it was a nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property regarding your recent stay with us. We service many guests in our resort and our main goal is to provide clean and comfortable accommodation and an exceptions customer service. This deposit is fully refundable upon check-out and subject to a damage inspection of the accommodation. If that is not the case, please give us a call ASAP so we can look into this matter further and helpfully resolve this issue. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
2 out of 5
by Phoebe

Weeekend getaway

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Nice location. Pretty basic but we knew that upon booking. Most of the place needed updating and we woke up to what appeared to water all over the kitchen floor. (A leak somewhere.) Other than that, it was nice to have a kitchenette and be within an Uber's drive of the casinos.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Phoebe, We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. We wished this information was brought to our attention. Our front desk is very quick and diligent to get a manager or supervisor to handle any issue or situation you have during your stay with us. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pa

close to the beach

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: the views
Cons: everything, old hotel
Location: great location
heater in room kept turning on and off. will not stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Gene, We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. We wished this information was brought to our attention. Our front desk is very quick and diligent to get a manager or supervisor to handle any issue or situation you have during your stay with us. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h luray va

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Did not come clean room first day. Water stood in shower would not drain and staff checked us out a day early
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Kollette, We apologize for the experience encountered while vacationing at our resort. The perception delivered is not indicative of our commitment to the overall service and guest satisfaction. We do offer cleaning services and linen exchanges for a small fee when requested. This is an optional service. If you are confused by this we apologize. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to vacation at Legacy Vacation Club and for your feedback! Our goal is to provide exceptional vacation experiences that will give you memories of a lifetime. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on the time you've spent at Legacy Vacation Club. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Sincerely, Legacy Vacation Club Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Georgia

Best Hotel On The Island

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The warm and inviting feeling, when they greet you upon your arrival. Thank you for making my trip that much more special (Nohelia & Jordan)... Again!
Cons: A bigger coffee bar, with pastries
Location: Plenty of shopping, eateries, and activities on the island... as well as sight seeing!
I came up for personal & family business, and was able to relax and enjoy the island life... once my business was concluded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear D.E.B, Thank you for the five star rating. We are pleased you chose us, Legacy Vacation Club, for your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Regards, Legacy Vacation Club Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Wonderful scenery, hotel location & staff

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Amazing expierence !! Wonderful room and super friendly staff! I recommended to friends and family . Defiantly coming back again! Thank you for the wonderful expirence !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, Thank you for the five star rating. We are pleased you chose us, Legacy Vacation Club, for your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Regards, Legacy Vacation Club Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Did not stay still had to pay!

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Nice view close to Atlactic City
The room did not look like the pictures. I can handle old but this was old and run down. Unfortunately we arrived later than planned and in a rush signed the check in paperwork before seeing the room. Big mistake! Didn't stay but still had to pay. Not happy! I gave the room comfort the lowest rating but we were only there for about 10 minutes
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Walt, We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. We are in the process of planning to upgrade several areas around the resort. As we constantly making upgrades to the property and the resort, we hope that you will visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brigatine, NJ

Not a resort

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
It is not a "resort" as stated more like an apartment building. The truest fact I read was once they got your money the comfort of your stay is irrelevant. I stayed in 504, 1br queen,, poor plumbing tub filled up while showering, toilet had to wait to be filled before flushing, housekeeping came 1 day for the 3 day stay and didn't clean. Pool is air conditioned, no other amenities except for a game and laundry room...apartment building feel. Won't be going back
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. We are in the process of planning to upgrade several areas around the resort. As we constantly making upgrades to the property and the resort, we hope that you will visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club