Ratings based on 508 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

Very quiet place

Posted Dec 17, 2017
PRO : 10 minutes from Atlantic City big beach Near Provincial Park where we can walk CON windows need to be replace some air conditionning not quiet
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to vacation at Legacy Vacation Club and for your feedback! We are in the process of upgrading several areas in and around the resort. As we constantly making upgrades to the property and the resort, we hope that you will visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Overall the experience was fine, except there was no shower curtain in the room. When I asked for one to be put in the room, they left it on the bed for me to put up. There were no clean towels in the pool area, but there was a bunch of dirty towels. The reason I would return is because I love the building.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. We wished this information was brought to our attention. Our front desk is very quick and diligent to get a manager or supervisor to handle any issue or situation you have during your stay with us. Again thank you for your review as it helps us to be a better resort. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Clean, comfortable, beach view.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Location, close to Atlantic City, but quiet and some great local restaurants. Beach was only steps away.
Cons: Nothing, met all expectations.
Location: Convenient, several local restaurants were all very good. Atlantic City was a few minute drive, local area beaches were great for walking.
Excellent, beach view, October was a perfect time to visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Legacy Vacation Club. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Legacy Vacation Club Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that your stay was unacceptable by your standards. Since we are unaware who you are, we encourage you to contact us to discuss this matter further with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we would like to know a little more. We look forward to hearing from you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Legacy No Go

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Although the hotel was right on the beach the hotel amenities were mediocre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. We wished this information was brought to our attention. Our front desk is very quick and diligent to get a manager or supervisor to handle any issue or situation you have during your stay with us. Again thank you for your review as it helps us to be a better resort. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
4 out of 5
by Joann

Great Beach Condo in Brigantine

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
Resort is easy to find as it's the only 'high rise' on the beach. Staff is welcoming and very helpful. Room is comfortable, clean and well constructed. In addition to the Laguna Grill, which shares the same parking lot as the resort, there are some good local food options within a 5 minute walk of the resort. We had brunch at Yianni's Café. Two things kept me from giving the property 5 stars - somewhat weak water pressure in the shower (we were on the 8th floor) and parking. There was a viewing of the Philadelphia Eagles football game on an inflatable TV screen on the beach outside the resort followed by a music concert until 10 pm at Laguna Grill. Patrons of these events used the same parking space as resort guests. Even though the valet parking staff would help get your car out and you could leave your keys with them when you returned, I felt trapped that Sunday because I didn't want to fight to park when I returned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. Unfortunately, due to the busy season and minimum spaces available, parking is tight. However, we do make Legacy guests a priority when parking during the busy season, meaning you will receive a spot or the valet will park for you. Again thank you for your review as it helps us to be a better resort. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
5 out of 5
by Linda

We were in town for my daughters wedding

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was quick and polite when we requested to upgrade our room. Laguna Restaurant /Deck Bar has the BEST atmosphere!!!! Great service,also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Linda, Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are pleased you chose us, Legacy Vacation Club, for your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Regards, Legacy Vacation Club Management
3 out of 5
by Susan

Rooms are Small but Comfortable

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
I expected daily housekeeping; we did not have any housekeeping during our stay. Had to request towels and toiletries when they ran out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Susan, We apologize for the experience encountered while vacationing at our resort. The perception delivered is not indicative of our commitment to the overall service and guest satisfaction. We do offer cleaning services and linen exchanges for a small fee when requested. This is an optional service and is stated in the information before you book, on your confirmation after you booked and your check-in information upon arrival. If you are confused by this we apologize. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
4 out of 5
by Michele

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Michele, Thank you for the four star rating. We are pleased you chose us, Legacy Vacation Club, for your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Regards, Legacy Vacation Club Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Parking ruined it for me

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel was nice and our room was clean and the employees inside the hotel were very polite. The parking lot and the valet employees outside were horrible. I knew the parking would be rough by reading other reviews online but it seemed that for hotel guests the parking was non existent The attitude on the valet employees was horrible. For the amount of money put out on the hotel I expected to at least be able to leave my car somewhere in the lot. The valet parks cars for the attatched bar and they make it very obvious they run the show and don't have any consideration for the hotel guests. Although I did get to park on the street and wait until the bar closed to go out and pull me car in which was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. Unfortunately, due to the busy season and minimum spaces available, parking is tight. However, we do make Legacy guests a priority when parking during the busy season, meaning you will receive a spot or the valet will park for you. Again thank you for your review as it helps us to be a better resort. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club