Ratings based on 1,344 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Across street from the beach

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Nice comfy bed
Location: Beach across the street. Many restaurants within walking distance.
This was very clean, big room, king bed was nice and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Aug 7, 2017
ERu fissapointwd to arrive for a wedding and they could not find our reservation that was booked months ago I had documents I spent 3 hours at a family wedding looking at emails trying to find reservation we were finally told T 6.30pm they had found our booking and said it was Expedia fault we asked for a late checkout as had not. Ren able to get in our room till so late staff were rude and said could not be done eventually he agreed very disappointing ruined our stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Classic old hotel fronting the beach, but...

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Everything about the hotel was fine to excellent, except the PARKING! The hotel entrance fronts a very busy street, and what little space was set aside for cabs, valet, etc. was completely clogged two deep and impossible to access. Prominent signs then direct guests to pull into a parking garage behind the hotel, which we naturally did, and the nightmare began. The garage was completely full, with no mechanism for closing the entrance if no spaces were available, and 20-30 cars were clogging the lanes within the garage, paralyzed to get out. We were in the garage, unable to move, for 90 minutes, and finally the drivers organized a collective and elaborate exit plan. When we left, a dozen more cars were lined up outside the garage, unwittingly facing the same fate. There was no where else to park, and no direction from the hotel, so we eventually found an unaffiliated garage several blocks away. When I complained at check in, I was greeted with a shrug and the excuse that "we can't control when the garage fills up." No refund, no apology, etc., and I had to pay for my parking at the other garage. TO HOTEL: Please fix this!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leighton buzzard

Nothing to write home about

Posted Jul 29, 2017
This was a nice hotel just a little dated and rough around the edges which I feel could have been improved by small details improved. We had no spoons in room for tea, no biscuits, 2 sockets did not work for when charging phone. All not a major problem but these things matter. Staff overall were friendly and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Waste away your stay waiting for room service...

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Ordered a cake upon check in (4pm) and several phone calls later being told they'll get back to me, I was still waiting come 10pm. This was a surprised birthday cake pre-arranged, however it never turnt up with 0 explaination untill 10pm when I was told the Pastry chef had left already :l Also ordered 2coffee's at 7pm and after calling a third time to chase them up and being told 'they're on their way' we were finally told that they were out of coffee although it doesn't seem they were going to ever let us know. The room we booked was for three ppl (double and single bed) and was half the size of the picture advertised at point of sale which was the reason for paying more than other hotels! The hotel is clean and being such a reputable name younwiuld think they knew how to run it a bit better. Reception seem
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location on beach front

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The hotel had a lovely open feeling with big rooms and high ceilings. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Cons: The consumables were not always replaced in the room eg water, tea and bathroom.
Location: Good beach, local restaurants, pier and The Lanes
We had a lovely stay at the hotel which is ideally located for the beach and town centre. We had an initial problem with the room but the staff on reception sorted it out immediately and we were really impressed with how quickly it was resolved. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was excellent. There are good faclities at the hotel and we enjoyed the pool. Theŕe is plenty to do in Brighton either on the beach or shopping. The Lanes are worth a visit as there are some interesting niche shops. We spent a lovely afternoon at the Marina which has a good choice of cafes and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Very helpful staff and great breakfast

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Had a great stay, made use of leisure facilities and really enjoyed the buffet breakfast. Good location for beach and town centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucuresti

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 28, 2017
quiet, good location; ienjoyed staying there; close to anything
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Large room but service, staff and food poor

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Large room and the view
Cons: staff, room service quality of food
Nice large room with great view of the sea. Let down by lack of toiletries, gowns, and all those extras you would expect from a Hilton. We were told check in could be 3pm, we arrived 3:45 only to be told our room was not ready as they were busy. No apology just an arrogant staff member who couldnt care less. Was told room would be ready by 430 and we would be sent a text to let us know when the room was ready. Text never arrived, I called the hotel at 500 and was told the room was ready, I said why did no one text me or call as agreed, another staff member arrogantly said they were busy and they did not have the time! Were given room key that didnt work so had to walk back to reception to get another, again a rude member of staff said it was probably my fault as I probably kept the door key card next to my phone. I said I didnt and staff member just ignored me. Room service food was very basic and not worth the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lumpy bed

Posted Jun 4, 2017
I went with my daughter and granddaughters 14 and 12 as a birthday treat. We have started doing this for the girls. We had a lovely family room. The fold down couch was not set up till well after 9.30 when we had to go and find someone to do it. My daughter and oldest granddaughter went to bed but kept rolling in the middle and the bed was lumpy. I divided I would sleep there and the three of them got in the big bed. The springs were digging into my back so I had to sleep on top of the quilt and cover up with the bath towels. As you can imagine I had a horrendous nights sleep. They did offer us a late check out as compensation.