Ratings based on 1,276 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portsmouth

Great location

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Would deffinatly recommend to family and friends. Great value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

EXCELLENT ROOM

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Just a short walk from all of the shops and pubs restaurants etc. Excellent front location.
We had an excellent room with full views of the sea front. Check in was painless and the breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Lovely hotel close to everything

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Stayed for 2 nights after a wedding in Lewes there were 6 of us altogether staff were lovely and breakfasts were too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Xvery conveniently located if a little dated.

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Wifi. Range of cereals at breakfast.
Location: On seafront. Close to Brighton beach and pier and walkable to city centre.
The hotel staff were very helpful and welcoming. Facilities all satisfactory. Enough so to stay again. Wifi little disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Ideally situated close to the Brighton Centre

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: The hospitality
Location: Close to everything
The hotel seems to be undergoing renovation. The staff wer very helpful, especially as my husband had a fall on arrival. The bar manager was very knowledgeable . The room was clean and good value . On arrival there was no hotel parking but the Regency Square secure underground car park was only 5 minutes walk away . Breakfast in the morning was limited but good . The location was ideal for the Brighton Centre, the Lanes, the i360 and the beach. Would definitely use again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Nice hotel close to beach and town

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Clean hotel, plenty of hot water for showers
Cons: Perhaps needs small amount of upgrading
Location: On sea front, close to car parks (when hotel parking full), 10 minute walk to town and Brighton Centre.
Exterior of building covered with scaffolding but interior was pleasant and clean. Hotel room looked out on to side street (listen out for the 5.40am dustbin emptying!). Very clean room. Particularly pleased with the amount of hot water for showers. Overall a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Convenient

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: It's location. On the front so if you get a front facing room it would be better. Close to the town centre and approximately a 15 minute walk from the
Cons: I don't really think much can be done. It is a hotel built some time ago so there are restrictions on what can actually be carried out to improve.
Location: The BA tower is about a 3 minute walk away.
The hotel wasclean and tidy and the staff I came into contact with at check in, check out and breakfast were very pleasant and helpful. It is however an old seafront hotel built years ago and misses all the modern bits. Not the hotels fault, just the way things are. I had a single room which was at the rear of the hotel overlooking, well the rear of the hotel, home to many pigeons. I was only in Brighton for one night but if I had been there for longer I would have been more disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good location and could be good with a little work

Posted Oct 16, 2017
I booked it for a weekend away in Brighton with my partner, mainly due to the location and the sea views it offers. These were both great however the hotel itself is definitely on the tired side and staff who point blank ignore you when you arrive and then try to blame you for something not working is not acceptable in my opinion, particularly as this hotel isn't cheap! Restaurant area is cute and breakfast is ok. Could be a charming place with a little work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Friendly, functional hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: The staff were very friendly and the rooms were warm but not uncomfortably so.
Cons: Bubble bath provided for the bath. More varieties of tea in the bedroom e.g. green, peppermint.
Location: The hotel is literally a stone's throw from the i360. It is about a 15 minute walk from the Palace Pier. Lots of restaurants close by.
I stayed at the King's Hotel for a conference, so was only really there in the mornings and late at night. The rooms are pretty basic but comfortable and nice and warm (we stayed in October). TV has a form a freeview, which was nice. Plenty of towels and extra pillows, which was a bonus. Bathroom was great - it was fab to have an actual bath and not just a shower (this was a twin room). Staff were so friendly and helpful, they were definitely the crowning glory of the hotel. The breakfast was also varied and superb, served quickly and with a smile. Being right on the sea front was a joy. Everything was within walking distance too. Cannot fault my stay at this hotel, would stay again in a heartbeat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dover Kent

Ambivalent experience

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Excellent sea view
Cons: Staff attitude
Location: Great location on seafront, lots to do and see. 10 minute walk to The Lanes
Stayed here for one night in early October before venturing abroad hence delay in posting review. This is a very middle range hotel, it has the potential to be good. However. Our experience was spoilt by some bad initial handling of an issue by staff on duty. We checked in about 1540 and we're told we'd just missed the last space in the car park. We were directed to a nearby underground car park- which actually worked out cheaper than the hotel's rate. It took us some 20 minutes to park then a few more to walk back. On enetering our room I immediately noticed the TV had a crack d screen.i reported this straight away and to cut a long story short the staff said it was fine before we entered and inferred we were responsible and had waited 30 minutes to report it. Ultimately the matter was resolved but I was fuming at the staff attitude & inference. Compounded later by a power cut and a long wait for breakfast to be served the next morning. Wouldn't stay there again and couldn't recommend to friends or family