Ratings based on 685 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quick overnight stay

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Suited the purpose, was well located on the seafront. Easy parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Room was clean and comfortable. Sea view. Just had no fridge. The window was not secure and loose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: The buffet breakfast was excellent, staff helpful & courteous.
Cons: The lift to the Mews area was dreadful, the door took ages to close. Many times, I gave up waiting & walked up 4 flights of stairs.
Location: The location was excellent, lots of places to eat nearby. The i360 is close and didn't take long to walk to the shops in Brighton.
I had my 13 y/o g/daughter with me, we both loved the spacious room which included a lounge, the robes, slides and little extras, also she was able to have a bath.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dated, too warm. Not worth the money

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The decor throughout is very dated and the hotel was far too warm. For quite an expensive hotel this was definitely not worth the money. On the positive side it is right at the front and the staff were friendly enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Oct 8, 2017
The room my boyfriend and I were in was small, but was advertised as such. It has everything we needed except maybe an extra plug socket! (It only had 1). I didn't sleep great but can't really blame the hotel, the bed is comfy enough. The only small issue I had was at about 7.30am it sounded like big trolleys were being moved right outside our room which woke us up. We only stayed for one night but all in all I would come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Comfortable stay

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: The room was very comfortable. The staff very helpful.
Cons: The hotel could do with a bit of a makeover, it's looking a bit tired
The room was very comfortable. The staff very helpful. The hotel could do with a bit of a makeover, it's looking a bit tired
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Convenient location

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Nice convenient location, good value, a bit dated and tired decor, bedroom and bathroom could do with updating, shower wasn’t working efficiently as the head was clogged up with limescale/mould. Really friendly staff especially Rebecca at reception.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

False advertising it is not a four star hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: The staff are well trained
Cons: Mercure please update your hotel or remove the false rating on line?
Location: The sea view and great restaurants
The hotel has lost ifs four star rating and I could see the deterioration on arrival. The first room allocated was two stars at a push. We complained and was given a better room, which was odd. Because we could have been offered in the first instance... Otherwise if was clean and well serviced....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel on seefront

Posted Oct 1, 2017
I really liked the hotel and the staff always ready to help you. Is a lovely experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Enjoyed our stay - weather was great. Breakfast was really good