Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

First night in England after many years away

Posted Sep 15, 2017
This an old row house close to the beach and in- shops and restaurants. The house has been renovated into a pleasing guest house. It is not handicap accessible, there are 3 floors and the stairs are steep and narrow. With just carry on luggage the stairs were not easy for my daughter and me, we are both fit and mobile. This is a typical situation in older English buildings. The furnishings were good and we were able to get a king bed. The plumbing has seen better days, but once we learned how to use it we managed. There was only one electric outlet that I could use with my universal adapter. Breakfast was available. The staff was friendly and helpful. Parking could be an issue as it is on the street and we were lucky to find a spot nearby. Parking is free over night but there is a fee during the day. I strongly suggest that you use the app "Pay By Phone" for parking wherever you are. Most if not all parking meters have been removed in England.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Decent BnB with a very good breakfast

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Super breakfast with lovely sourdough toast. Huge comfy bed.
Cons: The check in process could be smoother.
Location: Very good location for seafront walks, wide range of independent restaurants and the centre of town.
My husband and I stayed in a Platinum room for one night. The location was great - literally a couple of minutes from the sea and close to the centre of town. We found lots of nice places to eat in the surrounding streets and a handy Co-op for our packed lunch. The check in process wasn't particularly smooth; I'd confirmed my arrival time but no-one answered the door. The problem was resolved quickly by an employee at the nearby New Steine Hotel but it didn't provide the most professional first impression. Our room was clean and warm with an enormous super extra king size bed! The breakfast was also tasty and generous with lovely sourdough toast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Good position for walking to all attractions. Hotel has a lot of stairs and no lift, beware if you have any mobility difficulties. Excellent breakfast. No parking but permits provided at £10 a day and it may take a while and be a few streets away before you find a space, although loading and unloading can be done directly outside the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hungary

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: ????
Location: absolute downtown
extremely small room, no chairs, no shelves, breakfast is average, parking is difficult
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hastings

Handy for seafront

Posted Aug 3, 2017
This b & b is absolutely fine for its price. It is in a very good location- part of kemp town which is still very accessible to the town centre. Our room was clean and had lots of drinks provided with milk in a fridge which was very handy. The TV had Netflix as well as terrestrial which was an added bonus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

plain and simple. clean.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
reasonably priced so didnt expect a lot. pleasant staff and clean comfortable room. room was just big enough for bed. bathroom was behind a warderobe sliding mirror. door right beside bed so no privacy... all could be heard. no handle on inside on of the sliding mirror and it didnt stay on its rail. if my son hadnt been there i wouldnt have been able to get out of the bathroom. we didnt close it again. woke to smell of smoke. staff member sitting beside my open window smoking. she had 3 smokes that morning. girl served breakfast then began spraying kitchen cleaner on table and chairs at next table. breathing in fumes while eating is not good. other diners were there too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Second visit disappointing

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Good location close to the beach
Cons: Disappointing that the teas in the room weren't replaced after using some on the first night. Breakfast included egg shell which was off-putting!
We visited last July and had a really enjoyable stay which is why we booked to return again. Sadly the second visit was disappointing, and we won't be returning. The personal feel that the hotel had the first time was not present when we returned, I don't know if the ownership had perhaps changed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Small room big price!

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Perfectly adequate hotel for the amount of time we spent there. However the price is on the steep side but I guess that's the price for Brighton! Bit of a faff getting back into the hotel late night. We tried the code that we had been given but it didn't work so had to call associated hotel for assistance. Luckily the night manager came to our aid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brighton Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Character of the doors and windows.
Cons: Had some problems with the television channels.
Location: Plenty of things to do. Good location too.
A comfortable, clean bedroom. Able to make tea in the bedroom. Also a TV on the wall. Shower and toilet clean. Also had a hairdryer and ironing board in the room.
1 out of 5
by Shelby

Poor Rating

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
Room was extremely small, only place to open a suitcase was on the bed. Washroom was about the size of a closet. Toilet seat had broken hinge mounts. We asked the young lady at check-in where the Brighton Pier was located. Her response- I don't live in Brighton, I don't know. As it turned out you could see the pier after walking 1/2 block from the hotel. Staircase up to the room was extremely narrow, difficult to negotiate with luggage.