Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great locatio

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Good breakfast cooked to order. Character building
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
When I arrived the door was locked, no-one answered bell. I had to phone and was told someone would be there 'in a moment'... took 10 minutes for them to arrive from another hotel along the road somewhere. My initial reaction was therefore 'this place is rubbish' but that was the only bad point. The room was fine, the shower was excellent. There was a fridge and plenty of coffee/tea etc. It would just have been nice to have someone there to welcome me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent

In one word - grim

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Booked one night here (about a year in advance) and it wasn’t the same place as described in reviews at the time. The recent reviews are more accurate. Some of the most concerning aspects that should be noted - • You get one key - this one key opens the front door and also opens the door to the room - it’s obvious from this that all the bedrooms must have the same lock - making it feel very unsafe • To add to this, the bedroom door couldn’t be locked from the inside - we had to wedge a shoe under the door to feel safe • The plug socket was not fixed safely to the wall - not an expert, but this looked very hazardous to us as it moved around when attempting to use it The room itself left much to be desired- • Carpet was dirty and stained • The mattress was so worn- spent the night dodging springs as they went • The shower curtain and rail were filthy, mouldy and rusty • Overall - not the stay we hoped for and way way overdue for a refurb Based on this, we felt uncomfortable eating anything cooked in the kitchen and we left earlier than planned as a result.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing, didn't match description

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Cons: Description of hotel and rooms, cleanliness (a new shower curtain costs very little!), having staff on site to discuss issues with.
Avoid. Very disappointing: room was advertised as 'premier with garden view, staff on site at all times'. The reality was mould in the bathroom, rust under the basin, loose flooring in the bathroom, and there is no garden but a small back yard, barely visible (unless you lean out of the window). We were telephoned on route and told there would be no staff on site (no explanation), and that we should have breakfast at a sister hotel 5 mins walk away. The photos on the website did not match our experience. Has this changed hands? This is more like a hostel, and the charge should be half what we had to pay. Would not recommend and will not be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oldham

Nice b& b close to Brighton front

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Comfy beds, bed linen ,towels, good breakfast.
Cons: More attention needed of cleaning the toilet pan.
Location: Brighton pier, Pavilion , museum, shops, North lane shops cafe's pubs etc
Enjoyed our stay in Brighton lots of places to eat, lovely places to visit within a short distance. Worthing,Eastbourne,Lewes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Good location and close to main town and beach

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Paying system
Location: Beach and pier Town Harvester Nice restaurants Sea life Arcade
Pros: Good location Nice room Ease of access throughout the day Cons: Breakfast not always included in room prices (we went to the harvester which is a 5min walk) Towels not changed every day even when left on the toilet seat The main issue was the paying system, they block that amount of money from your account about a week before you stay and then when you arrive you pay again but the blocked money then has to be processed which can take up to a week which if you have money to spare thats fine but we went on a budget and the second amount we had to pay would have been our spending money so we were pretty stuck our whole trip with no money to do anything as we were only there for four days. Overall it's decent but if you can't afford to pay double how much the room cost for a while then great I recommend it but sadly it ruined our trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

First night in England after many years away

Posted Sep 15, 2017
This an old row house close to the beach and in- shops and restaurants. The house has been renovated into a pleasing guest house. It is not handicap accessible, there are 3 floors and the stairs are steep and narrow. With just carry on luggage the stairs were not easy for my daughter and me, we are both fit and mobile. This is a typical situation in older English buildings. The furnishings were good and we were able to get a king bed. The plumbing has seen better days, but once we learned how to use it we managed. There was only one electric outlet that I could use with my universal adapter. Breakfast was available. The staff was friendly and helpful. Parking could be an issue as it is on the street and we were lucky to find a spot nearby. Parking is free over night but there is a fee during the day. I strongly suggest that you use the app "Pay By Phone" for parking wherever you are. Most if not all parking meters have been removed in England.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Decent BnB with a very good breakfast

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Super breakfast with lovely sourdough toast. Huge comfy bed.
Cons: The check in process could be smoother.
Location: Very good location for seafront walks, wide range of independent restaurants and the centre of town.
My husband and I stayed in a Platinum room for one night. The location was great - literally a couple of minutes from the sea and close to the centre of town. We found lots of nice places to eat in the surrounding streets and a handy Co-op for our packed lunch. The check in process wasn't particularly smooth; I'd confirmed my arrival time but no-one answered the door. The problem was resolved quickly by an employee at the nearby New Steine Hotel but it didn't provide the most professional first impression. Our room was clean and warm with an enormous super extra king size bed! The breakfast was also tasty and generous with lovely sourdough toast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Staff are friendly and the breakfast is freshly cooked. Location is good.
Cons: Hot water was more lukewarm than anything.
The Sea Breeze is located fairly centrally and close to a good range of bars and restaurants. It is quiet and comfortable. Be aware that it is 3 storeys high and there are no lifts, so if you have any mobility issues at all this might not be the place for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Good position for walking to all attractions. Hotel has a lot of stairs and no lift, beware if you have any mobility difficulties. Excellent breakfast. No parking but permits provided at £10 a day and it may take a while and be a few streets away before you find a space, although loading and unloading can be done directly outside the hotel.