Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Ian

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
they took our reservation and then when we got there said they were full. didn't help to find us a new hotel. bad people
3 out of 5
by lisa from Nuneaton

ideal basic hotel

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
Everything we needed. room was big enough for the 5 of us. Had a good nights sleep.
4 out of 5
by Wattsy from Bicester

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels
A really good hotel would stay there next time we are down
2 out of 5
by Mrs O from Birmingham

Run Down

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels
The Hotel is in a great location. The staff were great and couldn't do enough for you, including in the restaurant which was great (we had breakfast included). I think the Cleaners obviously did as much as they could because the sink, toilet etc were clean but unfortunately the room was dirty and looked run down. We were in a family room on the ground floor. As there was no air-con we had to open the windows, which were difficult to open, and then the room was very noisy from traffic etc outside. The room size was great but the carpet felt grubby, the chair was covered in stains and the sheets did not feel clean. My quilt cover was covered in bleach marks and looked ready for the bin, my bed felt like it sank in the middle and had lots of layers to it as though they were trying to cover up something. I didn't dare investigate further. Overall I would say that the Staff are brilliant but the Hotel lets them down. For the price we paid I would expect a clean carpet.
3 out of 5
by Daisy from Southampton

Great location - but scruffy

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels
The location of this hotel is fantastic - especially for the conference centre. Preston street behind the hotel is a great place to eat. The view is amazing. The room was spotless and there was loads of free coffee .But - breakfast was poor, the dining room was cramped and the tables not cleared. Only one of the 4 beds in my room was horizontal and the curtains did not close. The stairs were rickety and frankly the stairwells are dirty. The lift is one of the most frightening I have ever experienced. It was not cheap either, but it is a 2 star hotel in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Obi from London

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was excellent
Location: The Brighton Pier was great and very child friendly (take your wallet).
Very comfortable, a better experience than a more expensive 5 star hotel I recently stayed in. The room for a family of five was excellent and the parking facilities was within a stone's throw. They stored my bicycle in secure storage and the concierge gave us pointers on where to stroll and find local attractions
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels
Room was a little small for a Twin Room but overall very clean, fantastic service. Just booked another week.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old school

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels
Rooms and decoration are very old ...it feels like you've stepped back in time...almost charming. Friendly staff, nice breakfast, great location! Perfect for a short stay that won't break the bank!
2 out of 5
by Nick from Bristol

Centrally located, but quiet for a Thursday night.

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Very little
Cons: Major refurbishment
Location: OK
The quality of the decoration is appalling and on the third floor is well below what I would expect from a two star hotel. The lift is ancient and requires you to close a lattice gate before it would operate. I found on a number of occasions guests had failed to do so and consequently the lift did not arrive. It would help if the hotel employed some local staff who were comprehensible. Breakfast unimaginative and served on very small plates to ensure you did not each too much. No proper shower facilities, relying on a hose attachment to the bath taps in a very small and unusually shaped bath. The hot water stopped running at one stage when in mid-shampooing and restored at a trickle. The entire hotel from staffing to accommodation need series improvements and shows a lack of management.