Ratings based on 1,881 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Tired and in need of refurbishment

Posted Sep 22, 2017
we had to change rooms due to leaking cistern. Second room had leak under sink. Decoration and room furniture very poor. Not what we expected from a hotel that describes its accommodation as opulent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Horsham, West Sussex

Fantastic stay for my boyfriend's birthday

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Booked this stay as a present for my boyfriend, just one night and a couple of days in Brighton. I can almost not fault the stay at all! The staff were so friendly and polite, always there to help but weren't too 'in your face' if you didn't need anything. We had breakfast included and it was incredible, the food was some of the best we've ever had and staff were wonderful taking plates so quickly and making sure we were happy. Check out time was 11am which disappointed us because we had another whole day in Brighton and we had heavy bags which we'd carry around all day. However much to our delight as we were checking out, the lady at reception told us if we had any luggage we wanted to leave and collect later in the day, we could! This was such a lovely touch as it allowed us to spend another day in Brighton but comfortably without heavy bags weighing us down. Unfortunately there are renovations happening to the front of the hotel but they did not ruin our stay in the slightest. Our room was at the back of the hotel so we had no scaffolding in our window, and we didn't hear a single construction related noise at any point from our room, so we were not disturbed, these things need to be done! The only minor faults would be the squeaky floorboards in our room which we understood is difficult to fix and will just be down to the building being old. And the aircon in our room wasn't very quick to make the room feel colder. Overall, amazing stay and we will definitely be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Internal character in reception area
Cons: Chipped paintwork in room and clean grouting in bathroom.
Location: Excellent location. Almost opposite the BA lift
Would have chosen a different date if I had been told that hotel front was going to be totally covered in scaffolding a d white sheeting. Most rooms have ugly wall a few feet from windows. No Electric from 11pm to 7am. Given 2 torches! Room slightly shabby. However, staff, atmosphere and food was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Nice Hotel - Under Construction

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Good room, helpful staff.
Cons: Complete the refurb in the close season.
Location: Excellent location. In the middle of everything.
Internally the hotel is good. Staff are helpful. However the hotel covered in scaffolding and plastic sheeting. If I had know, I would have stayed elsewhere as this spoilt the experience. I was going to upgrade to a room with a sea view but I didn't because there wasn't one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, good location

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Very efficient, frriendly staff, excellent breakfast
Bank holiday overnight stay with friends Hotel was beautiful inside in contrast to the scaffolding etc outside
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Always love staying here everyone so helpful

Posted Aug 28, 2017
All very pleasant. Pity about scaffolding and cladding over the front but it didn't diminish our enjoyment of stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Great hotel, brilliant attentive staff. Efficient service. Shame restaurant last order by 10pm. No dinner after show at Brighton Centre
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Not for me

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Definitely trading on its name. Room very comfortable but to be honest our enjoyment stopped there. Supposed table service for drinks was hit and miss with us having to search for service twice despite empty glasses for 20+ minutes both times. Yet surprisingly when we went to leave two members of staff appeared to check we'd paid! Breakfast was very enjoyable with plenty of choice and pleasingly hot. Just feel for the anticipation of such a grand hotel they're trading on their past reputation which was very disappointing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wrapped in plastic, but a pleasure once inside

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel is wrapped in plastic and quite frankly looks like a mess from the outside. Once you step inside, however, the opulence is still there, the style is undiminished and the service is good. When they take the plastic down and reveal the upgraded windows / exterior, I think it will be even better
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Close to the beach and shops

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Had a lovely time at the grand staff were 1st class very helpful and the location is second to none for beach shops and restaurants