Ratings based on 1,843 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

50th Birthday

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Bought this as a present for a friends 50th who has never been to The Grand was very disappointed to say the least about the scaffolding as I had not realised or been advised! Not a very Grand entrance!After initial disappointment our rooms was lovely and was given a bottle of wine for our friends birthday!Breakfast was very good but again the sea view was spoilt by scaffolding! I would not have booked it as a present if I had known!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

A grand stay at The Grand Hotel Brighton

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Warm and welcoming atmosphere as soon as you arrive Spotlessly clean room Comfy bed Great cocktails Great food
Cons: Maybe a shower enclosure instead of the shower over the bath tub with a curtain
Location: Location is spot on Ideal for a mixed age group to enjoy the town
From start to finish our experience was second to none The staff are courteous and warm and are most happy to help We had a full afternoon tea which we can honestly highly recommend Also tried a Brighton Gin cocktail...delicious So much so infact we bought a bottle of Brighton gin from a shop in The Lanes Brighton is a lovely place to visit and The Grand is ideally situated right on the sea front We shall certainly be visiting Brighton again and will stay at The Grand...for longer next time Top marks to everyone at The Grand Brighton and thankyou for giving us a visit to remember
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was unfortunately not 'grand' at all

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Cons: Make the steam room and sauna free & invest in your rooms. Both rooms we stayed in were no better than Travel lodge.
Hotel was ok, but for the price we paid we expected a lot more. Our first room we had to change as the window was broken and the noise from the outside generator was very loud. Decor was peeling and hotel quite run down in places. Breakfast also wasn't great (coffee was awful) and the loud pop music being blasted from the lobby most of the time really wasn't in keeping with what we had expected. Hotel far too overpriced for what you actually get, and you have to pay £19.50 just to use the steam room and sauna (there is no pool), despite already paying a small fortune to stay there in the first place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Birthday /anniversary stop over

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The hotel was very easy to find from train station, great location to walk everywhere, the outside was being updated so u don't see the beautiful building at the moment, but once inside it's old/ new meets very elegant beautiful, staff was friendly & doorman was very helpful, breakfast & staff was fab good standard of food, only LITTLE thing with my booking said we were celebrating my birthday and anniversary NO acknowlement was made at all, very disappointed for a 5 star hotel never happened before in all my travels, this could be Expedia or hotel lack of communication
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

A slice of Victorian elegence

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Elegant. first class service.
Cons: Could have used more drawer space. Ended up having to leave a lot of clothes in the suitcase. Not enough power outlets.
Location: It's Brighton, there's plenty. But leave time for a late night cup of tea or cocktail in the lounge.
Great location for the seafront and the famous Lanes for shopping. Staff are extremely well trained. efficient and friendly. Don't miss breakfast on the Terrace. You won't need to eat until dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Hotel was undergoing renovation when we stayed. Excellent customer service from staff. Facilities, rooms outdated, e.g. Creaking floorboards, old-fashioned bathrooms. Overall a very good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Best hotel in Brighton

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Loads of character. Very nice hotel, close to everything. Stayed at a few hotels in Brighton in the past and they can be very noisy. No problem here. I would definitely recommend for a short break in Brighton.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

renovation

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Discounted rate after we were advised of renovation
Cons: Staff being more attentive
Location: Walks
The hotel was covered in scaffolding, had we known this at the time of booking we would not have chosen it. Interior tired and average. Staff in attentive, large conference was being held at the time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouer BC

Beautiful hotel on the beach, very helpful staff

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Hotel front was under construction while we were there, we would return to see it's completion. We can't say enough about staff and the room was very large and comfortable .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Great, welcoming retreat from the often craziness of Brighton. Perfectly located for an exploration of the lanes and the beachfront.