Ratings based on 1,145 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The room with no view!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: On an encouraging note, we slept well, and breakfast was great, there was a delightful selection even for us vegetarians.
Cons: Provide a better selection of beverages, like herbal teas and REDUCE the parking costs!!
Location: Location was good, but being on the sea front was wasted for us, given that we didn'd have that view from the room. Brigton Marine is a vibrant place.
Although I said I wouldn’t recommend this hotel that’s not entirely true, it really depends on what you want from a hotel; just a bed and breakfast/meal its fine. Anything else, I’d go a bit a more modern and glamorous for a better clientele. On saying that, I did choose this hotel for its supposed charm, and the entrance/foyer/reception were very appealing. However, the lift was a place I really wouldn’t want to venture too soon, en-route to the room, the corridors/hallways were irregular to say the least, and on entrance to the room, the door encountered the bottom of the bed before we even entered the room. The room’s décor, whilst it was fine, the electrical trunking around the wall mounted TV was crude and unseemly, there were no electrical sockets near the bed; however, on reflection that’s probably not a bad thing and the architrave around the door was dissimilar. Lastly, on the room, it only had a selection of beverages that catered for caffeine drinkers; I had to ask for herbal teas. The bathroom shower curtain overpoweringly reeked of mustiness, it was that bad I had to keep the bathroom door closed to stop the smell permeating the room. The corners and radiator pipe area of the bathroom floor could do with a good clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Lovely hotel but does need some TLC

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Stayed here for three days to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The room itself was a lovely standard room but the floor boards creaked really bad, we were on the 5th floor so whoever was below us must of been very fed up if they could hear the constant creaking. Bed was very comfy & bedding & towels were very clean. Staff were friendly & helpful & managed to squeeze us in for a table in the restaurant at short notice. The terrace area is super on a sunny day, lunch was really tasty. Car parking is not good, hotel car park very small & full but we parked over the road in a pay & display after queuing for about 45 mins which cost us £45. Hotel is in a good location, easy to find & close to the pier & shops. All in all a lovely break & would definitely go back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fabulous rating. We hope to welcome you back again soon. From all the team here at The Old Ship Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Pride Weekend Visit

Posted Aug 8, 2017
We stayed in room 130. The room could do with some updating. Plug sockets in inconvenient places, frayed carpets and DIY repairs to bathroom ceiling to name a few things. The room was noisy, being by the main staircase and toilet roll was not replaced when cleaned on one of the days. Positives were great location, great breakfast selection, friendly staff and an easy checkin process even though we were two hours early. I would stay at the his hotel again but would ask for a different room
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, Thank you for your review. I am pleased, that you enjoyed the major things of your stay and rest of the things I am sure we can improve. Hope to welcome you back to Brighton once again. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

sea side pleasure

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: see above
Location: good for seafront, the lanes and the royal pavilion
Staff and service good but hotel has a decrepit atmosphere and needs major reinvestment. All bathrooms should have a seperate shower
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very dated decor

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Close to the sea front.
Cons: Breakfast menu, refilling of trays, attention to customer needs.
I was extremely shocked and disappointed at the price of extending check out - £20 per hour for the 1st 2 hrs! Most hotels have an hour's complimentary extension. The lift was tiny and we did not feel safe in it. I was on a crutch but was put on the 5th floor. Very limited variety with the breakfast menu and staff were extremely slow in refilling the food trays.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Very convenient location Nice hotel just old! Breakfast was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good location near beach and near the Lanes

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Other than bad weather nice weekend.lots of restaurants to choose from.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by Old Ship, Hotel Management
Dear Lynda, I am very pleased, that you enjoyed the position of the hotel and hope, that you would return. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In agood position for town and bar s and restauran

Posted Jul 19, 2017
We always enjoy the hotel and love the the area and brighton itself
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Old Ship Hoel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fabulous rating. We hope to welcome you back again soon. From all the team here at The Old Ship Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Lovely hotel with a huge amount of history. Its like a rabbits warren, lots of hidden places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Yamsim Thank you for your lovely score. It's very important for us to know our guest's opinion and share the experience. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel once again. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

Lovely character hotel.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Staff.
Cons: It's a very old hotel so has a few quirks but that, in our opinion, adds to the charm of the place and wouldn't stop us returning.
Location: Perfect location for the beach and local bars and restaurants.
we found this to be a lovely hotel with plenty of character. The beachfront position is ideal for local attractions,bars,restaurants etc. Staff were friendly and attentive to our needs, they were very knowledgeable and made us feel at home in their hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Rob, We are delighted, that you found and enjoyed the charm of the building. We would love to welcome you back to the hotel once again. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations