Ratings based on 1,262 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, deluxe rooms very dated

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff; nice public areas; brilliant location; ace sea view
Cons: The dated 'deluxe' rooms need an overhaul, and should be more accurately described on the Ship website and other partner websites.
Location: It's bang on the seafront, 5 minutes into the centre of town, really close to restaurants, pubs and all amenities.
My partner and I stayed here twice in three weeks. We know Brighton well and The Ship is in a great location, and that bit cheaper than most of the other seafront hotels. Both times I booked a 'deluxe' sea view room. The first room was much larger, but both rooms looked very tired and needed repair and updating. Both bathrooms felt grubby and had cracked tiles, dirty grouting and poorly repaired areas. In the second bathroom the tiler had obviously run out of patterned border tiles half way round the bath, so he had just filled in with white! And a large hole in the wall at floor level had been filled with a piece of board. In the bedrooms there is a weird sort of wicker furniture and carpets, curtains and wallpaper were all horribly clashing, like someone dashed out to B&Q and bought everything in a power cut. Two positives: the sea view is stunning and the bed is comfy. The second time we had a room more or less above the entrance and noisy Brighton revellers kept us awake for most of the night. It's not the hotel's fault, except that when the shouting drunks sit down outside on the hotel tables and chairs, to eat their chips, it would be great if there was a security person who might be able to move them on after a bit - for the sake of guests' restful sleep. The breakfast experience both times was very pleasant and the staff helpful and friendly. But it's really wrong to call these dated rooms 'deluxe' - the only thing about them that's deluxe is the sea view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Margo, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. All deluxe sea view bedrooms have been updated by now. They are the most spacious, have fridges in them and also comes with extras. I am sorry to learn, that they did not met your likings. Hope to welcome you back to the hotel. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke on Trent

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Stopped here twice now. A nice hotel, but it is an old building, so no air-conditioning (there is a ceiling fan though) and the floors are a bit creaky. For the size of hotel there is only one tiny lift which is very slow so be prepared to use the stairs. Close to the beach, pier, shops and bars though. Will definitely stop here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Carl, thank you for your review. Two lifts serves different sides of the building. We are pleased, that you found location convenient. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oporto, Portugal

Great location

Posted Nov 9, 2017
The hotel is very old fashion and had really old furniture but the beds are comfortable and the rooms are very clean as well. The staff it’s very polite and it’s well located.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Bruno, Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Expedia. We all hope to welcome you back once again. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Perfect location for the lanes Old fashioned seaside hotel Very historic
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear reviewer, Thank you for giving us full score on Expedia. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel once again. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Welling, Kent

Beautiful hotel, perfect location

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Very friendly staff, always go out of their way to help you. Perfect location, close to beach, shops and pier. Beautiful interior!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Georgina, Thank you so much for this AMAZING review. We all hope to welcome you back to the hotel once again. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northampton

Close to beach but noisy

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Overall condition of communal areas in the hotel is good but our room considering it was a deluxe room was very disappointing. Old furniture and a very worn out sofa that looked as if it had been collected and reused from a rubbish dump. Bathroom clean but worn out with a shower curtain that clings to you when you shower over the bath. Nothing screamed deluxe. All very very tired and in need of massive upgrade. Delightful seaview but that's about it. The hotel do warn about it being noisy at night but don't think you are prepared how noisy with not only talking and shouting outside through the night but also the constant throb from a nearby nightclub. The only good things I can really say about the hotel are its position is ideal and the staff were so helpful particularly the breakfast staff who couldn't have been more friendly or welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear liz, I am sorry to learn, you felt disappointed with accommodation provided. Your positive comments will be shared with breakfast team. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Overall a good experience, good location. Sometimes there was a weird smell in the room, but I could not figure out where it came from.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. Hope to welcome you back to the hotel again. Kind regards, Old Ship Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel right on the sea front

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Great quality hotel, really good staff and very clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel , Hotel Management
Dear reviewer, Thank you for this great review. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel once again. Kind regards, Old Ship Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Room was very noisy - we could hear the people in the next room laughing and talking well into the early hours. We left the next day with little sleep and a long drive home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear reviewer, I hope, that you reported this disturbance to Reception, so we could assist you. Kind regards, Old Ship Hotel Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

An occasion

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Character
Cons: Beds way to soft, sleep surfing
Location: Ever thing is in walking distance,
A hotel under going a transition, art Deco meets the modern world. Sea front location next to the lanes, good pubs and food Car parking too expensive
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review