Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

soana

Posted Oct 1, 2017
short 2 day break the hotel was clean and in a good location 1st class staff very friendly
3 out of 5
by Aaron from Villanova

Basic and convenient

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel was very conveniently located for my purposes and only a 10 -15 minute walk to the old city and the waterfront (aquarium, etc.). The rooms are basic but clean, the staff friendly and English-speaking. It occupies the 4th floor of a building and after hours one needs to buzz to enter. The desk is not manned from 1 AM to 7 AM. Wi-Fi in the bar area but not rooms, and this was not functioning during my visit. Even given the basic nature of the accommodations and services the price was a bargain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dartmouth

Clean, simple and cheap

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Well placed for seeing the sights. 6 or 7 mins walk to the main station.
Situated on the 4th floor of an old building. Very basic, but clean and tiday and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Nadine from London

Better than a 2* but curfew is a setback

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels
I thought this hotel deserves more than a 2* rating. It was clean, comfortable and has the facilities you'd expect from a 3* hotel (en suite bathroom, air conditioning, WIFI, TV, minibar). It is also in quite a good location, less than a 10 minute walk away from the historic city centre. The staff were also friendly and helpful. The only problem I had with this hotel (and it is quite a big one) is that there is a curfew of 1am (2am on Saturdays), which wasn't well publicised when making the booking. I suppose this is because it only occupies one floor in a shared building but it's still not ideal. Overall it's a decent hotel and offers good value for money, but the curfew is something to be wary of!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic needs well satisfied.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
As long as your needs are simple and basic, this hotel will be fine. Location was great, the staff very pleasant, and wifi was okay. For the price I was happy!
4 out of 5
by Tara from Australia

Excellent location

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels
The location could not be better. We had a beautiful view of the bridge from our room. Staff were very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
by Ro from London

great stay

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels
best budget hotel in central genoa. The staff was very helpful. However hotel is not very well acoomodated with tea/ coffee for that you have to go out. Pls note this hotel is based on 4th floor of a building (small hotel). Sonia the receptionist was very welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce from New Zealand

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Pros: Best point of the hotel was the extremely helpful staff
Location: Close to shops, post office and train station (not central station)
Soana hotel was a little odd at first sight being on the forth floor of a building with an old fashioned lift that worked very well and smoothly despite it's appearance. The room was large, spacious and very clean. The staff were extremely kind and helpful. It was positioned in the centre of Genoa next to shops and the train station (not the central station but can't remember name). Good value for money. Would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from England

A bargain, November stay at The Soana.

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: The price, location and comfort.
Cons: The shower could be bigger but I am a big guy. Tea & a croissant wasn't that filling. Adding a piece of focaccia would have made a better breakfast.
Location: Very central. Lots of bars, shops, restaurants and sights within a few minutes walk. Very close for buses and trains. Excellent location.
We were given a balcony room at The Soana, number 13. Although the balcony had a locked gate on it it was still a lovely little room. Although it was small you had enough room to get around. The only issue we had was that the radiator was on and couldn't be switched off. It was November after all and to Italians it was cold. We however were baking hot. A minor quibble given that the room was spotlessly clean, the beds were very comfortable and the staff were very pleasant, polite and accommodating. People forget that this is a budget hotel in the middle of a busy city centre. Noise was expected but not too bad. The continental breakfast seemed a little sparse but it still did the job, just! I would use the hotel again. Thanks to the owners, the lovely Sonia and the rest of the staff of the hotel for making us so welcome and comfortable.