Ratings based on 1,129 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Townsville

Great location

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Located close to everything
Cons: Dirty run down room if motel is fully booked they must just put you in these rooms which wouldn't pass a health and safety check
Have had similar problems with this motel previously. Great location and if you get the right room very comfortable. My room for 4 nights was run down dirty with only heat working on the Air conditioning. The young gentleman staff member was great and gave us the only fan he could find but couldn't use as it was too big ,but as motel was booked out couldn't change room and no maintenence staff on weekends. Rusty hotplate/stove only one plate working unless you tap it hard so electrical problem.Filthy rusty microwave filthy overhead vent above stove. Bathroon taps leaking and broken soap dispenser carpet marked and torn in places. Was charged top price due to sporting events being on,they should offer a refund or free nights as it was very unpleasantness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshinecoast

Close to shops and transport

Posted Jun 4, 2017
quick overnight stay. Stayed here often due to comfort and convenience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Nice Hotel close to Roma St Station

Posted May 28, 2017
The hotel was perfect for my travels. The room was clean had a kitchenette with microwave washing machine and dryer in the bathroom,tv and comfy lounge. It did lack a few pieces of crockery and toiletries were minimal but was perfect for my 1 night. Would stay there again if and when i go to Brisbane next.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2017
Speedy check-in, large well-presented room and very close to train station and Brisbane city CBD
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location but noisy

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Location, Price
Cons: Sound insulation and Wi-Fi service
Location: Very convenient for the rail network and much of Brisbane's downtown facilities are in easy walking distance.
Have stayed here before with no issues. this time, despite being on the 12 floor we were kept await by traffic noise. The sound insulation seemed very bad. It is a pity as the location for Roma Street rail and other facilities is great. No inclusive Wi-Fi is an irritation although Brisbane City does provide this free but it doesn't reach the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne VIC

Four day stay....

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Very comfortable bed/pillows, clean and good facilities.
Cons: Get your cleaners to take out the rubbish as they should be.
Location: City central, close to public transport etc
A very pleasant experience, clean rooms, very comfortable bed, BUT could only get channel 7 on the TV (luckily for me it didn't matter too much as i didn't really watch it often) AND an excess charge if you DONT REMOVE YOUR RUBBISH?? What is with that? Is that not what the cleaners are for? Thankfully i had read some feedback on here earlier so knew about this beforehand (although too late to change the booking), but this is a very poor extra fee for a service that should be included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qld

Handy to Roma St train station

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Wotif
This hotel is very conveniently situated across from Roma St station. We use it whenever we have overseas flights to catch and need to stay overnight in Brisbane, so easy to catch the train to the airport and also close to Queens St Mall. Very well priced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room, but needs fixing.

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
The room was OK. The elevator was poorly maintained with squeaky, slow sticking doors. The bed in room was extremely springy/spongy. The TV cabinet appeared to be a precariously balanced stack of loose lumber, the slightest bump would collapse the whole structure. The curtains were pretty dirty too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived late, but it was quite easy to get our keys to our room. On arriving to our room there was a damp wet smell, and noticed a huge wet patch of carpet, that was soaked. The carpet was filthy!! We booked the hotel because it had a full size fridge which makes our monthly shopping for the island convenient. The next morning we noticed the fridge didn't work, so we went to reception to complain, and got room moved by a lady at reception which to my opinion had no interest in the situation, followed by no apology. We then got moved to a room where the microwave didn't work, and the shower handle kept falling off. But a huge thank you to the Asian lady at reception (forgot her name), if it wasn't for her we probably would have left earlier, she definitely knows what customer service is, a huge asset to Abbey on Roma. Overall I think the hotel needs maintenance, and carpets definitely need to be cleaned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nz

Very handy to transport

Posted Apr 6, 2017
As per the other recent reviews, our room was outdated and tired. Bed not really a queen size and even though we had 3 people in the room with an extra bed, we were only given 2 towels and had to request another. The kitchen is not really suitable for cooking but fine for self catering breakfast. However the location across the road from the Roma street station is fantastic, trains and buses are at your fingertips and it isn't too far to walk to South Bank. For a place to rest your head it is fine-you get what you pay for and the staff were very helpful!