Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Cons: A wardobe in the room to hang clothes and a shelf to put toiletries etc on
Good hostel, clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. Many facilites available, had a great holiday in brisbane!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nth Qld

As you expect

Posted Mar 7, 2015
It IS a backpacker place, things were as you'd expect, busy, a bit loud in the group areas. Quite in the room area. It is a bit of a rabbit warren. The double room had a shared toilet/shower, clean and high standard. Room was small, no seat or table, lockers would have been difficult to use, and bunk bed not a solid as you'd like, but beding was good. Non-adjustable air-con was not a problem, even though is was a very hot day. Windows sealed shut was not to my liking. Down side- room and whole floor smelt a bit funky and bar stopped serving meals at 6pm. Up side- Cheapish, central, clean, lots of options for drinks and meals in surrounding area. Things were as you'd expect for a backpacker accomadation. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Good location, helpful staff, fun atmosphere

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Always stuff to do, great kitchen. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Lovely bar/nightclub and next to china town. Also short walk to a very main train station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hottest, loudest, smallest room

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Air con said it was working, but must have been set at like 40 degrees. No remote in the room. Had to have the windows open for air, but that also let in loud road noise and people's karaoke singing. Had a twin shared room, which shared a bathroom with another twin room. The bathroom was new and really nice and spacious. Complementary breakfast was nice. Location was a bit of a walk from the city, but close to heaps of food options and the train station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson - NZ

saving effective accommodation

Posted Aug 18, 2014
This is a backpackers - what more do you expect - other than a bed to sleep, and a locker (minus the padlock - you have to buy one yourself) to store your stuff. The bunk bed was nice - easy enough to sleep on - supplied with a duvet, clean sheets, and a pillow. Unfortunately our shower main drain was blocked and you had to rely on the secondary one to get rid of the water - I am sure other dorms were better. The nite club attached to the accommodation block would make it harder to sleep if you were a light sleep - the dance floor goes until 3 am - bit I didn't have any problems - and had a few late ones there myself!! All in all - a place to sleep - that's all - nothing more - nothing less. Would probably consider staying there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lots to improve

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Reasonably good location next to Chinatown & near Fortitude Valley Train Station. Free breakfast was very handy.
Cons: Staff were not very helpful & professional. Hotel facilities & layout were quite messy & disorganised. Hotel entrance was not welcoming & inconvenient
Just needed a place to stay for one night. Didn't get a very good impression of the hotel when we first arrived as the hotel main entrance didn't look very welcoming & could only be accessed by stairs, so it's very inconvenient if you have heavy luggage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Typical backpackers

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Location: Good location for people wanting the hit the valley.
Just stayed one night and needed a place to stay. Didn't go out at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2014
Decent hostel. Staff could be friendlier. Younger crowd and area of town. Good for a short stay.
2 out of 5
by Jana from Canada

Busy and noisy hostel

Posted May 23, 2014
We booked a private room with two single beds. What a surprise when we entered the room and there was bunk bed. No space at all. One person had to sit on the bed while the other one wanted to move around or leave the room. The noise comming from the street was even worse than the noise from the club. It was literally as if you slept on the street! Pro is that you only share bathroom with one other room and it is right next door. Location is also a big plus. Overall, if you are a solo traveller looking to party, this could work for you. Otherwise pay only a little bit more and get a real hotel room somewhere else.
1 out of 5
by Veronica

Unsafe and LOUD

Posted Apr 1, 2014
The hotel is situated right next to a bar (tag kind of bar that caters to the party crowd), so all night we did not sleep thanks to the loud dance music and screams coming from below. At 3 am a drunk guy slams into our door, breaking it. It jammed but did eventually open thankfully since we had no way of calling for help from inside out room. In the morning, after not sleeping at all, we came into the bathroom to find urine all over the toilet and floor. This place was an absolute nightmare. If you actually are looking for a place to SLEEP, then do NOT stay here.