Ratings based on 2,720 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Great position for QPAC and the west end.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Good location for QPAC and west end. Older style hotel but clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Simple with no frills

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Location - nearby to BCEC
Cons: Fluffier pillows
Location: 2 blocks from the BCEC, near bridge to walk across the Brisbane river to the CBD
Good 3 star accommodation. Rooms are simple but adequate for a budget stay. Can walk to the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre in 6-7 minutes and to Brisbane CBD in 15-17 minutes. Bed was decently comfortable. Even though train line is nearby, l couldn't hear the train noise (unlike at Capitol Apartments).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average stay

Posted Jun 23, 2017
A very average hotel. The lobby and the rooms look tired and could do with a facelift. Otherwise good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Nice hotel convenient to Southbank.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Southbank
Nice friendly staff , checked in late, still able to get a meal , good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Good location

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Good location
Very good location and good breakfast however room lacked block out blinds
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very clean and very good for the town

Posted May 31, 2017
My only faulty with the hotel is they advised fox television with signs all round outside the hotel but then try to tell me it was cut off if like me you are a sports person that channel is a much so for that alone I would not tell people to stayed at this hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Good location but in need of renovation.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The rooms need renovating as per everything mentioned above.
The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance of the city and the Southbank restaurants. The staff were helpful but the hotel rooms are in desperate need of an upgrade. The sheets on one bed had red wine stains which could not have been missed by the cleaning staff and should never have been put on the bed. The sheets were thin & the blankets were thread bare & we had to request another blanket as there was no warmth in the ones provided. We had to request extra soap as there was one small cake provided for two adults. We had to ask for towels as the room had been cleaned & old towels removed but not replaced. The shower doors were not secured and swung off the hinges, the beds were like sleeping on cement slabs the mattresses & pillows need replacing. It was very noisy, the garbage truck came very early two mornings in a row collecting bottles & rubbish. It was also noisy in the hallways, so much that it sounded like someone trying to use their key in our door when entering their room. We checked out a day early & booked another hotel in the city as we couldn't stay any longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burnett Region

Good Location Free Parking

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Free parking, Location. Good area between the
Cons: Drive in parking area near office for booking in before moving on to underground parking
Location: Close (2 block walking distance to Museum, Art Gallery, State Library, QPAC, Southbank and City Centre
After reading some of the reviews of this hotel I was a bit dubious about making a booking. The location and free parking won me over. I booked this hotel for its proximity to QPAC (2 blocks away - a pleasant stroll) and the free parking. The ladies accompanying me were more than happy with the hotel and its facilities. While the corridors are showing normal wear and tear, the room itself was well presented and clean. We were on the same side and level with a traffic bridge crossing the rive but were not in the least bothered by traffic noise. We did not use the restaurant or coffee cafe in the hotel precinct. We all agreed we would return to the hotel for future visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel right near to Southbank.

Posted May 3, 2017
We went to see my fair lady at apace and picked out this hotel based on previous reviews. It was perfect in every way. A short walk of 5 minutes and we were there. Free parking is a huge bonus as is the closeness to many restaurants. Staff are great and the check in was professional. We will be back to stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to CBD

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The rooms are slightly dated and could use some bathroom upgrades. Abit close to the road so traffic noise is slightly annoying. Otherwise reasonably comfortable.