Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ballina

Quiet location

Posted May 23, 2017
Recommended as a well appointed quiet stay with excellent restaurant and friendly helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Rooms are very well appointed - large, quiet, comfortable. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, as well as being efficient. Location in New Farm is quiet - off the main roads. Great restaurant as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Well positioned boutique hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Good to find a friendly hotel with parking within walking distance of the City and its attractions. accommodation is split into two blocks close together but not adjacent - not an issue as all treated the same. Carried cases up one floor but I am sure someone would have done that for us if I asked. Excellent restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay at the Spicers Balfour

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely gorgeous hotel with beautiful Art Deco touches. Breakfast was delicious. However, location was a bit isolated and a bit far from the CBD.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Lastminute
Cons: A few small plates and some cutlery would be handy in the Balfour Suites. Some choice of lower priced wines would be appreciated.
Spicers Balfour is conveniently located in New Farm and has a refined, comfortable ambience. The staff were personable and helpful, the Balfour Suites are beautifully appointed, quiet and scrupulously clean. Our evening and breakfast meals were delicious. A delightful place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Relaxed and excellent service

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Wotif
The service was excellent which you only get from well trained and motivated team. We will be going back to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A gem of a hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely place. Staff fantastic. Rooftop bar with view of the bridge was special. Restaurant had great breakfasts. Dinner was beautifully cooked and served, but we felt the menu wasn't great. I had difficulty choosing a main course. Bathroom had a split sliding door that was impossible to open or close quietly - very annoying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from sydney

Quite small which we love

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Everything staff accomodation food & situation
Cons: Nothing like it just the way it is
Location: Location good lots of good restrants in walking distance
Close to everything we wanted to do so very convenient
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, NSW

Just a lovely boutique hotel.

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Shopping in James a street, New Farm
From the lead up emails anticipating our arrival, to the quick and easy and friendly check in, to the delightful roomy well appointed room, to the drinks on the rooftop bar, to the wonderful breakfast, this is a really lovely hotel. My wife and I loved this hotel and will definitely be back. Everything done well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful suite as always

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Wotif
We stayed in suite 17 with the gorge balcony leading to the rooftop garden. The bath with the Appelles bath caviar was divine.