Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Tries hard but disappoints

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Decent room size and though this was a non-serviced apartment, new towels and toiletries after 3 days was a nice touch. Close to the city.
Cons: Useless Wifi did not work in room on level 3. Batteries in remote never replaced as requested, nor bin emptied as requested several times.
Location: Close to CBD
Things started off bad as we had to wait for 20mins for reception to arrive, when they did - they were more than friendly and had the room ready before 2pm. Now perhaps there was an issue with what was written on Expedia and with what I booked? But free extra bedding for my 4 year was not forth coming and I was charged $21 per night for a cot. This is the first time I have ever had to pay for a cot anywhere in Australia, Asia or Europe. Otherwise the room was fine, with large tv, kitchen and clean bathroom. Breakfast was a few slices of bread, tiny cereal packet, two juices and some spreads - extremely disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Close to bars & restaurants & the shops. Love the older style motels the history etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very nice hotel with very friendly staffs

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The hotel is very close to central station. The staffs are very nice and friendly. They upgraded my room free and always provided the information I needed. I had a great time in Brisbane!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great location

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Breakfast provided
Location: Walk the bridge
Very good. Friendly helpful staff. Good location. Clean room. Difficult to get into if you arrive late. Only staff available on telephone remotely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent hotel and the staff as well

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Big cozy room. It has kitchen and dining table
Location: The location is so convenient to everything that you need around the city, mall, grocery store, restaurants etc.
The hotel is very nice as well as the staff. This hotel is highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane City

First Hotel my wife and i have visited in 10 years

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Atmosphere, staff, close proximity to shops and layout.
Cons: Working spa, toaster ovens in room and free late checkouts for people who don't want to leave.
Location: Nice and close to Central station, Woolworth and shops.
Arrived not knowing much about the hotel and was very excited with the layout and decoration. Check inn was quick and added bonuses of house keeping and room upgrade were given for free. Room was immaculate and very well presented, with air con already on witch was a great relief on a hot day. Rest of stay was as joyful with daily breakfast baskets delivered and house keeping always pleasant and polite, wished the spa was working hopefully is next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jimboomba

Convenient & affordable - A gem in the city

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The location, right in the heart of the city. The staff could not have been more helpful. The rate was extremely reasonable.
Cons: Don't dare change a thing!
Location: Right in the heart oh Brisbane at 301 Ann St. close to Central railway station, a short walk into the Brisbane mall, Riverside, Casino, or Southbank.
We had a function to attend close to the city so had intended to stay at the Marriott. On checking the rates and availability of that hotel decided unless we won Lotto or remortgaged our house, we would have to do the round trip from home on the night. Then I found The Rothbury on Expedia. It was less than a block away from the aforementioned 5 star hotel and would cost us one-third of the rate (when taking into account parking costs). It was an unknown gamble, but well worth it. The Rothbury is an absolute gem - built in the 1930's it has retained much of the art decor from that era! The lifts reminded us of the small boutique hotel we have stayed in in Paris ( although to be fair The Rothbury lifts do accomodate more than 2 people at a time). A word of warning - if you are driving, be sure to book a car space when you reserve your accomodation, as they have very limited space available. This is not mentioned on the Expedia listing, luckily we rang prior to leaving home and nabbed the last car space, thanks to a very helpful lass (Monique?) on reception. The on-site management staff were not only delightful, but very helpful & accomodating. We fell in love with this little boutique apartment hotel and will definitely be returning whenever we are in need of a city hotel! Interestingly when I checked the Sofitel rate the morning of our stay, it had dropped by over $100 for the night in question (compared to when I had checked it out 2 weeks prior).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highest Recommendation!

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The Staff, the room was so lovely... the feeling of being safe.
Location: Ann St was so easy for me to walk anywhere I needed to go. Easy to leave late at night and access the M1.
This 1930's hotel was just the best place I have stayed. I was doing an intensive course and needed to be in a place where I felt totally at peace, The Rothbury was just a 4 min walk to where the school was. It is old and the character and charm is what makes it. You feel as though you have been there before. The staff are what made it for me, the freindliness, helpfulness and more interested in your needs then the $. I arrived with a flat tyre on my car , a little stressed as I had back to back 12 hrs of study ahead, finishing late at night. The staff were instantly there to help in any way they could . The receptionist even said, not to worry, I am an expert at changing tyres, even though she didn't have to, that was just an example of exceptional genuine customer service and care here. This was the beginning of the most wonderful stay I have ever had at any hotel. Greeted with smiles everyday and everyone that was staying there was up beat and Happy. Will definatley stay there again if I have to be in Brisbane...
3 out of 5
by Ron

Convenient, but not up to standard.

Posted Feb 4, 2017 on Hotels
Somewhat disappointing. Advertised continental breakfast, but this turned out to be only bread for toasting and cornflakes in the fridge. Wasn't replaced for the second day. Free wifi was for only 200Mb. Shower stall had significant mould and the soap holder was broken off. Two night stay but the room wasn't serviced. Poor reception opening hours. Bed comfy, convenient location near central station and a nice old building.
4 out of 5
by Miles

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels