Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorks

Great edge of city location

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: location and cleanliness
Cons: doors in the corridor and bedrooms could be fitted with a damper to help reduce noise as they slam quite loudly
Location: Brilliant views of the suspension bridge and gorge
I wish I had upgraded to a room on the gorge side as the light and noise from the road made sleeping difficult. Other than that it was a very nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Location great for exploring Clifton village and the Suspension Bridge. Great views of the gorge and bridge.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stunning location, needs firmer beds

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
We were only using this as a stop off for 1 night, would have liked longer to explore the local area. Bed was a bit soft and breakfast was disappointing, but the steak for dinner is fantastic, the staff are great and views of the gorge are breathtaking
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful view of bridge and gorge

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely views. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely place which we have visited before as well. Nice room and fab bathroom with great toiletries, and Clifton ia one of my favourite places!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Modern Suite in a Traditional Setting

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
I think my case was an exception, but I found myself checking into the "Kings Suite", an apartment in a separate part of the historic property. This was a suite of five rooms, including a games room with Snooker table, all very generously sized, nicely appointed and very comfortable. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from Brunel's Clifton Suspension bridge which is truly magnificent. The hotel is part of a typical Bristol Terrace, so parking may not always be easy
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean spacious room.

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Large clean room with comfortable bed. I'd avoid eating anything from the restaurant though as it's over-priced and there are several much better options within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. The breakfast is disappointing, again over-priced for what you get and my Eggs Benedict were stone cold. The coffee is also the weakest coffee I've had in a very long time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convient and clean hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
An ideal location when visiting our son at uni. A good, clean, traditional hotel In an upmarket and vibrant, area of Bristol.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Depends on room!

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
The breakfast was excellent . We were unfortunately put in one of the smallest double rooms. The heating didn't come on. Not a problem overnight but felt it late afternoon. Need showers to get warm.