Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Tries to multi-task

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: This hotel is well suited to someone attending a party on the premises who wishes to stay over.
Cons: The function suite and the hotel are under the same ownership but different management. Someone could do with reviewing how they work together.
Location: Very well situated for the centre of Bristol University and for Clifton Village. Beautiful Clifton Cathedral nearby.
I have stayed here twice now. Beautiful location and exterior and a little cheaper than comparable hotels. However, the attempt to convert a traditional hotel to a boutique style has mixed results. It feels as though guests attending a function on the ground and lower floors are prioritised over overnight guests. There is a tiny reception area where a group of young and friendly staff grapple with their computer system. This time, they could not find my Expedia booking at all, and relied on my booking confirmation. They did upgrade me to a double room. On both occasions my room has overlooked Berkeley Square, which compensated for drawbacks. The rooms have been adapted so that now they are on the small and awkwardly shaped side. I discovered this time that dogs are welcomed, which explained the yapping in the next room. Last time, the music from the function stopped on the dot of midnight; this time it was somewhere between one and two am. This is less of a problem than the guests who stand on the pavement having loud conversations under the bedroom windows. Fantastic breakfast, though now at a price I could not justify paying again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms look dated

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We staid for 2 nights with parents. The single rooms were ok but the bathroom quite outdated. The first night we had a double room in the basement right next to the hotel club with a wedding party that kept us up until the early morning. The second night they managed to move us to a better room but no discount was provided for the first night. I told them they should not let the room in the basement next to the club if they have a a party there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Just stayed for 2 nights for a wedding. Wedding meal was good and well served
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel near to university.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was very good. Our room overlooked a garden square. We enjoyed our stay.
Cons: Check in time was quite late and although we arrived early there was no parking. The staff are helpful but a little disorganised.
We stayed for a graduation. The hotel is in a great position for this. The room was a good standard with nice touches such as fruit and sherry to drink.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Fantastic location

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Where to start?!
Location: Lots of good restaurants, cafes and historical buildings.
The location of this hotel is great... very central. However, that's the only plus. Paid £171 !! For a basement room, dark, dingy, dated and stale smelling. Shabby decor. Whole hotel felt very dated. Front desk staff totally disorganized. The room was almost next door to the downstairs bar, very noisy and then to top it all the refuse truck came at the crack of dawn. Poorly glazed rooms mean you hear all outside noise. Highly regret choosing this hotel as I've stayed in other Bristol hotels many times before. Would not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Great location for a Bristol evening out

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Excellent check in staff, I've stayed in many top end hotel and their attentiveness and professionalism was right up there! Room was clean and very well presented. Have already recommended this hotel to friends and family 👍
4 out of 5
by Richard

Nice little find

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Furnishings a bit tired and drab, but great little bits of flair that made it an enjoyable stay, unfortunately I was staying whilst we had the heat wave so was quite uncomfortable but I can't fault the hotel for that. Great service, very clean and lovely location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing hotel in nice Bristol square

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Good location.
Cons: A great deal more attention to detail and to providing basic amenities.
My room in the basement (lower deck) was small, dingy and shabby with numerous black marks on the wall, but was not cheap and I was told it enjoyed the same rate as all the other rooms. Inexplicably, it had only one electrical outlet that the kettle was plugged into and which was relatively inaccessible - there were no other electrical outlets in the room for charging phone, laptop etc. I've never come across this before even in cheaper establishments, let alone a 4-star hotel. The letter of welcome encouraged me to make use of the complimentary items, which apparently included loose-leaf tea, freshly ground coffee and a decanter of sherry. The only problem was none of these items were present. There was no independent temperature control for the room which on one of the hottest days of the year made things very uncomfortable. The complimentary soap appeared to have been used, presumably by the previous occupant, which made me wonder how many other things had not been changed...
5 out of 5
by Gemma

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Benjamyn

Boutique in Bristol

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
An excellent small boutique hotel with great staff and a welcoming smile. Rooms not the largest and a little refurb wouldn't go amiss.