Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Posted May 16, 2018
We wanted to change the date from Monday 7th to Wednesday 9th May. We rang Expedia's customer service department. They apparently rang the hotel to change the date (whilst we were on the telephone). The hotel were supposed to confirm this change. They did not. I telephoned the hotel and a member of staff agreed that the change had been made. When our guest went to the hotel on 9th May they claimed to know nothing about the change. We had to find another hotel using booking.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Stay

Posted May 10, 2018
The best of the hotels in the Quarter Group. Attentive, caring staff and well-equipped room with good bathroom. I will stay again, if they keep their discounted prices. Full price wouldn't be value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel overlooking Berkeley Square Gardens

Posted May 4, 2018
An informal and welcoming hotel in a quiet location in the heart of Bristol's West End. Well located for shopping, exploring, arts venues; close to the University, Brandon Hill Gardens, waterfront locations. Staff very friendly, but didn't always have all the information they needed to help correctly with enquiries. The public parts of the hotel can be booked for functions (e.g. weddings), and discos etc can be noisy. Probably worth checking what's scheduled before booking. Breakfasts were variable. An excellent menu with a very good range of choices. Two meals were beautifully cooked and delicious. However, the other two were disappointingly average and not good value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Overcharging errors - twice!

Posted Apr 30, 2018
Pros: Breakfasts were very good and the staff serving them were excellent: cheerful and faultlessly efficient.
Cons: Staff at reception need to be accurate about the prices they are charging, and be trained in customer service skills like apologising when necessary.
Location: Location was convenient, and particularly close to the Bristol Museum and Art Gallery, which we enjoyed.
We booked a weekend here online. On arrival on Friday we were asked to pay for our stay; the price we were charged was £25 more than that stated on the confirmation email. I mentioned it, & the staff checked and reaffirmed the (wrong) price. I was too tired to look for the email that night but did so on Saturday morning and raised the issue again. The same staff, now obliged to accept she'd been wrong, said she must have assumed we were including breakfast, but we had discussed that with her on Friday night and she was quite clear that the price she quoted was without breakfast. She said 'Well, I've got pregnancy brain' - i.e. an excuse, not an apology. On checking out on Sunday we were again told we owed them £37 for food. I queried it and another member of staff luckily intervened and corrected this. I commented that the errors were disappointing; once more there was a sense of awkwardness behind the counter but no apology. Amazing that the staff cannot stretch to a friendly apology, which would have made all the difference. The room was OK, the bathroom clean. A couple of minor issues. We were on lower ground floor, and there's a yard immediately outside that staff use for cigarette breaks, so to get privacy the curtains must be closed. Also while we were out, clean tea cups were brought but the room not tidied, bins not emptied. We chose to take breakfast in order to absorb the overcharged £25; it was very good and the staff serving it were charming and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for city break

Posted Apr 15, 2018
Overall good stay. Fresh milk in very quiet fridge, fresh fruit and small decanter of sherry all lovely touches
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Cave, East Riding of Yorkshire

Quirky and great location

Posted Apr 13, 2018
A world away from the high rise glass and aluminium business hotel alternatives. Great location, nice staff, full English was spot on! stayed here twice now and would recommend, only negative is that they have a great bar and outside space which on both occasions has seemed closed or booked out for a function. Would've liked a drink or two in the hotel but felt it wasn't an option. Maybe bad timing?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, well placed for te city centre

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Fabulous, friendly staff, great beakfast, dog friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol

Wedding venue

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Stayed as part of of a wedding party... everything was perfect. The bed in the executive single.. seemed a little shorter than normal and the riom was cold. I did put up the heating tho and slept well. The complimentary sherry was delicious!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Berkeley Square Bristol

Posted Apr 1, 2018
Pros: Breakfast and choice and service
Cons: Guests in reception area
Location: Set in the centre of Bristol so lots to do and for different ages
Called the hotel, a few days before my visit and was told parking wasn't a problem.Arrived no parking, so I had to street park maximum ticket two hours, so I couldn't relax in my room had to time going back out again to put another ticket on my car, cash only so another problem. Got to reception there was a wedding on a group of guests were in reception.They were making that much noise I could hear the receptionist speaking to me, so she just had to give me a leaflet for breakfast times and other bits I needed to know Room was adequate single room, bath difficult to operate taps due to fixed shower screen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, some nice touches in the rooms

Posted Mar 28, 2018
Small but not inadequate single room, complimentary fruit, sherry, and tea and coffee. Comfortable couch. Lovely soft single bed. Not a huge amount of room, but perfectly adequate and serviceable. Good for the price.