Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Just stayed for 2 nights for a wedding. Wedding meal was good and well served
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel near to university.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was very good. Our room overlooked a garden square. We enjoyed our stay.
Cons: Check in time was quite late and although we arrived early there was no parking. The staff are helpful but a little disorganised.
We stayed for a graduation. The hotel is in a great position for this. The room was a good standard with nice touches such as fruit and sherry to drink.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Fantastic location

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Where to start?!
Location: Lots of good restaurants, cafes and historical buildings.
The location of this hotel is great... very central. However, that's the only plus. Paid £171 !! For a basement room, dark, dingy, dated and stale smelling. Shabby decor. Whole hotel felt very dated. Front desk staff totally disorganized. The room was almost next door to the downstairs bar, very noisy and then to top it all the refuse truck came at the crack of dawn. Poorly glazed rooms mean you hear all outside noise. Highly regret choosing this hotel as I've stayed in other Bristol hotels many times before. Would not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Great location for a Bristol evening out

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Excellent check in staff, I've stayed in many top end hotel and their attentiveness and professionalism was right up there! Room was clean and very well presented. Have already recommended this hotel to friends and family 👍
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing hotel in nice Bristol square

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Good location.
Cons: A great deal more attention to detail and to providing basic amenities.
My room in the basement (lower deck) was small, dingy and shabby with numerous black marks on the wall, but was not cheap and I was told it enjoyed the same rate as all the other rooms. Inexplicably, it had only one electrical outlet that the kettle was plugged into and which was relatively inaccessible - there were no other electrical outlets in the room for charging phone, laptop etc. I've never come across this before even in cheaper establishments, let alone a 4-star hotel. The letter of welcome encouraged me to make use of the complimentary items, which apparently included loose-leaf tea, freshly ground coffee and a decanter of sherry. The only problem was none of these items were present. There was no independent temperature control for the room which on one of the hottest days of the year made things very uncomfortable. The complimentary soap appeared to have been used, presumably by the previous occupant, which made me wonder how many other things had not been changed...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from q

Posted May 29, 2017
Good location and lobby, however dated and uncomfortable bedrooms, expensive for this range of hotel. Unfortunately I booked at the last minute so this was one of the few remaining hotels which had availability. Certainly wouldn't be returning.
4 out of 5
by Jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff hospitality but...

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Staff hospitality at reception and restaurant
Cons: See above about my experience
The best thing about the hotel is all the staff are very welcoming. Great staff service at reception and restaurant. Room has pleasant compliments of small sherry, tea leaves and grounded coffee beans with cafetiere. .. But really disappointed with cleanliness of room. Bath looked unclean with stains, stains on dark blue sofa, and bed base which was covered with stain and seams coming off. I will not return again but the hotel has potential if the owners do some renovation and better cleaning of rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Banstead

Love this stylish boutique hotel.

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Fresh fruit, biscuits and sherry in the room.
Cons: It is a Georgian building which receives constant maintenance and upgrading.
Location: We walked to Colston Hall and St Georges Hall for the concerts that we had booked. Restaurants everywhere in this part of Bristol and the
Great room looking onto the the garden square. Excellent staff and fabulous breakfasts. It is our favorite hotel in Bristol.
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Wonderful hotel!

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
I was in Bristol on business related to the law school, and the Berkeley Square Hotel was the recommendation. It was very close (30 steps!). This boutique hotel is positively charming. It is an older-style European hotel, but just outright ovely. Excellent internet connection and inclusive breakfast that was fantastic. I did not get an opportunity to take advantage of the "Square" (either a night club or bar, and either connected to or adjacent to the hotel - not sure which). Wonderful staff, great room (with complimentary Harvey's Bristol Cream Sherry, local apples, and a couple of other nice treats), and I would definitely stay here again. Check it out!