Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel. Great restaurant.

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Wotif
Room was exceptionally good. Restaurant was lovely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great mansion house transformed into hotel.

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The location, the main house, the staff.
Cons: More acoustic insulation is needed for those occupying the ground floors rooms.
Location: Henbury is tiny but charming, Bristol is a half hour ride on a bus away.
Staff were seriously good, engaged, polite and helpful at all times. The house itself is beautiful and the little village of Henbury where it's located really fascinating. Ask for rooms on upper floors though, or you'll be following your neighbours' steps walking on wooden floors above you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Just an overnight in Bristol

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: The staff, bathroom/ shower
Cons: The beds
Hotel is very close to motorways, hence easy access. Situated on a mini-roundabout with a narrow entrance which made getting in "interesting" in my car. Wouldn't be a problem with small hatchback though. Very friendly helpful staff. Our room (3) was huge - a double and a single bed in it, but enough space to have a game of football I reckon. Decor a bit dated, mattress VERY hard, but the bath/ shower room and separate loo/ basin room are appointed with very modern fittings. Excellent shower - lots of pressure. We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but the full English breakfast was huge ad well presented, although my sausage was under-cooked in the middle. Wasn't worth making a fuss about since there was more than I could eat in any case. The waitress at breakfast was delightful, and was similarly pleasant to all the other tables. All in all therefore a decent hotel, but I think the beds could do with an upgrade
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shropshire

Beautiful hotel, impeccable service, homely feel

Posted Mar 7, 2015
I cannot recommend this hotel enough. From the moment I arrived the staff were so welcoming and helpful. The room was beautiful and everything was immaculate. The dining room although small served the most amazing food. My only comment was that the lighting in there was too bright, could be toned down to create a more ambient atmosphere. Would come here again in an instant. Glad I've discovered this gem of a place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Great Yarmouth

Pleasant hotel in lovely setting

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The surroundings and general ambience.
Cons: Sunday evening meals served and a lift.
Location: Close to Blaise Castle and Hamlet. Pleasant walks in the grounds.
Most aspects of our stay were fine and the staff especially pleasant and helpful. However we arrived on a Sunday evening and were surprised to find that meals were not served that evening. We went down the road to the Toby Carvery which was alright, but not exactly what we wanted after a long journey. Also we were surprised, on arrival, to find that we were on the second floor with no lift. It would be advisable to include this fact in the hotel description as not everyone is able to get luggage upstairs. The receptionist offered to help but she was not the most robust person ever seen so we managed ourselves!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesham

Nice hotel just missing out on the details

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Plenty of car parking. Friendly staff.
Cons: More tea bags and milk! Only 4 of each over the weekend. No doubt could have asked for more but only realised when I got out of bed.
Location: Cheap Toby carvery in walking distance if that's your thing. Very easy to get to Bristol - SS Great Britain is highly recommended.
My daughter checked me in with no problems. Everything was fine and the staff exemplary. Had a pleasant loft room with sloping roof and exposed beams. But all the furniture was cut down to fit. So very low bed - easier to roll out of than get up from. Same with the bedroom chair - great if you're a kid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A real change from the Bristol City Centre options

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Attitude at front desk; cosy atmosphere.
Cons: More lively breakfast service (perhaps more staff are needed). Making the coffee machine self service might reduce some of the delay.
Location: Interesting National Trust-owned 'hamlet' within 5-10 minutes walk nearby.
Very attentive and helpful Reception staff. This hotel has no lift but without prompting the reception staff offered to carry our large bag up and down stairs (at arrival and departure). Much quieter than the usual Bristol city centre hotel choices (Bristol can be quite an experience on a Saturday evening ...). Good access to local taxis (we chose to leave our car in the hotel car park). The cooked breakfast was unusually good and the service pleasant, even if perhaps not the fastest we have ever seen. In the room the modern shower cubicle was fantastic, but watch out for the slippery floor, especially in the absence of any grab rail. Also, it's easy for some of the shower water to escape on to the bathroom floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, pleasant stay

Posted May 27, 2014
Overall a very good experience. Food was very good during the dinner service and breakfast. The room was a good size with a comfy bed and nice bathroom. Nice local walks around Blaise Castle and local parkland. Friendly staff both on reception and in the restaurant. Also not far from city centre in a cab/bus etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Location: Although I didn't have time to look around or see anything of the area, the hotel was everything I needed it to be.
Lovely big room with tea, biscuits and comfy chairs. Very nice breakfast. Faultless service from friendly staff who couldn't do more to help. What more could you want? :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Danny from West Sussex, UK

Great hotel great staff great value

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: Perfect for Buisness travellers and couples on a weekend break
Cons: Nothing at all
Location: Great
We chose the hotel because of its location to a site we were attending, our arrival was met with a friendly smile and the receptionist booked us in efficiently,room was great very roomy , bathroom was Clean and modern with a great shower, bed was very comfortable. We elected to stay to stay in the night of our arrival and eat in the restaurant, food was exceptional however menu was limited in vegetarian options electing for a single "main " pasta dish. Breakfast was again brilliant and the home made Jam was to die for. Overall great hotel great staff good value