Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Stunning view, good location, but faded gem

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The view over the Severn Estuary at the back of the hotel is stunning (and from your room if you are lucky enough to be at the back),
Cons: the room was a bit pokey, the TV was misplaced so you would have to sit on the desk to watch it and the hotel looked generally in need of a face lift
Location: good location. Castle nearby where you might have friends getting married
The view over the Severn Estuary at the back of the hotel is stunning (and from your room if you are lucky enough to be at the back), but the room was a bit pokey, the TV was misplaced so you would have to sit on the desk to watch it and the hotel looked generally in need of a face lift. The b&w photo on the wall in the lobby with a horse drawn carriage outside the hotel basically said it all. Staff were ok. Room was clean and obviously benefited from a recent slightly 'botched' refit. The double socket in the wardrobe was part covered by a new piece of walling meaning one socket was inaccessible and the other being used as an extension into the wardrobe wall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good but not great

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The outside of the building looks very nice and in a beautiful location. However the hotel is very old and the inside definitely shows that. Footsteps can be heard passing in the hallway from inside the room. And the general look of the hotel feels old. This isn't a luxury hotel, but is still good for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Noisy nights

Posted Apr 3, 2017
A well deserved break for my wife and I. Nice welcome, good location, impressive building. The hotel looks a little tired inside, as did the room but on the whole, fine. UNTIL....... We arrived home after dinner to a booming wedding party in a function room above our room. I'm fairly easy going so put up with it until 11:00 and than rang down to reception, not happy! Nothing could be done, music stopped at 12:15 ish. Complained in the morning and was told that the hotel and tried to ring twice before our trip to warn us! Don't remember that! They had another function on the second night and offered to move us to another room. This was all done effortlessly and the room was better. Happy, UNTIL...... Tonight's function was in a room below our new room! I think I should have asked for a refund after night 1!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Staff excellent, room recently refurbished, clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Comfortable with courteous staff

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Location: Out of town centre, but near some shops. Off road parking in hotel car park. A few minutes drive from front.
Good atmosphere, warm and comfortable, very good food well presented.
3 out of 5
by Mark

Overnight stay for a nearby wedding.

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great location to stay for a Clevedon Hall wedding nearby.
5 out of 5
by Ann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
The staff, hotel and food were excellent
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gods waiting room

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: The view
Cons: A refurbishment
Location: Fine
Hotel Staff need more training. A very bland a faceless meet and greet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with great views. The free parking,free and Wi-Fi were fantastic and great to have room service. Comfortable beds and friendly staff. I will definitely visit again.