Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leicestershire

Lovely welcoming staff

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The friendliness
Good room with plenty of space and view over the sea. The bed was very comfortable and it was nice to have plenty of pillows to prop yourself up with. Staff were very helpful and happy. Nice stay will book again if in area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Nice hotel with waterfront view

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: value
Cons: all was in order
Location: On the water on a quiet road fairly close to main hiway and waterfront boardwalk and restaurants .
Nice older building, excellent service , and well kept rooms .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Value hotel

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: Good location for visiting South Bristol area with newly refurbished Victorian pier nearby. Nice views.
Cons: Upgrading of reception and corridors.
Location: Near to Clevedon Pier, Clevedon Court (National Trust property) and Bristol attractions.
First impression was as expected, rather dark, tired reception, large dark corridors with ancient lift to upper floors, but room was clean and tidy and bar and breakfast areas were pleasant with nice views out over the Bristol Channel and down to Clevedon's Victorian pier. Overall our stay was pleasant with nothing to complain about. You get what you pay for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit too cluttered

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: The location and the bar prices
The overall experience of our stay was pleasing. Our room seemed to have too much furniture to the point we could not open our warddrobe door without first moving an additional chair.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Good location for a seaside hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: Needs refurbishment and it would be great if windows could be cleaned on a more regular basis
Location: Clevedon is pleasant and the pier is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Bristol can be easily accessed
We enjoyed our night at this hotel but the rooms would benefit from refurbishment. Our room should have had a sea view but the window was so salt encrusted that it was virtually impossible to see out of the window. We enjoyed a tasty meal in the bar / brasserie and good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, lots of charm

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: The room was good, the food was mostly excellent although restaurant menu a bit restrictive but gave us the break we needed.
Cons: The bathroom was cold all the time. Not turned on so as to stop people burning themselves The restaurant menu a bit restrictive.
Location: Good location- short walk down to pier and the front. Wouldn't want to visit in summer. Haven for kids.
The hotel had lots of charm with a good mix of old and new - on the whole very pleasant. Starting to show signs of needing upkeep - you could see some signs of water ingress. The staff were mostly excellent and couldn't do enough to help you. Reception failed to sort out the fact that the bathroom radiator wasn't working but told us that they were turned off to avoid people getting burnt. We were informed that there was a switch in the cupboard in our room. On investigation there was no such switch. While the cleaning ladies were swapping our duvet (far to hot for us) to sheet and blankets we asked them and they didn't know either and proceeded to turn on several switches but all to no avail. On leaving we mentioned it again to be told that it had been reported to maintenance - no heat in bathroom all weekend in early February. The duvet - we asked the same lady in reception if we could have a summer duvet to which she replied yes then as we were leaving the hotel she hurried out saying it would have to be blankets to which we said ok. We came back to find one blanket on the bed which had been taken out the cupboard so we had no spare -we spoke to the cleaners who found us another one.- Heavy weight duvet down to one blanket??
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bristol

Nice hotel, nice view, free parking and wifi

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Nice hotel, nice view, free parking and wifi. Good : like the toilet, clean and clear. Not good : slow shower.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Only stayed for one night. It's an average hotel, little dated, but in a stunning location. Old building has a romantic aspect to it. Room was average but furniture little dated, despite that I had a great night sleep and would go back again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Imposing building. Great views

Posted Jan 22, 2016
We stayed one night whilst house hunting. The staff were very welcoming. Our dog was also welcome. The food was really good and reasonably priced. The room was clean comfortable and lots of hot water The hotel was a bit shabby and the bar was poorly lit but the staff lovely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LN

Right by the sea

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Doesn't look like the pictures on the Internet. Very tired looking. Beds comfortable and rooms ok, pretty basic. Only one small bottle of water. Breakfast though was very good. It does have a lift, though it is the oldest I have ever seen. Apart from very old B&W films.