Ratings based on 952 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Attending event at hotel- good room with adequate facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Excellent hotel for a weekend away

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location. Comfort. Leisure facilities. On site parking.
Cons: More than 2 teabags in the room. Not everyone likes coffee!
Location: 2 minute walk from Hippodrome theatre. Riverside bars & restaurants (book on a Saturday night), Aquarium, @Bristol, SS Great Britain 10 minute walk.
This hotel is in the perfect location for a show at the Hippodrome and/or a night out in the bars and restaurants along the river. We have stayed here several times and the room has always been comfortable and clean. Staff always friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the swimming pool and steam room as it was relatively quiet but I can imagine it must get busy over the summer months and you'll need to go very early or late to have space for a decent swim.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Comfortable and Calming

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Had a lovely stay here for birthday/Valentines. The room was quite ready when we arrived but we were given a couple of free drinks vouchers which was a nice touch. The pool and spa were excellent as was the breakfast. Would definitely recommend for something a little special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice place to stay in Bristol

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Convenience/location
Cons: More showers in the spa and the hotel bar could be made more trendy. It's ok, but you get the feeling with a bit of effort it could be a cool place
Location: The hotel is based on a nice square and close to the water. Very handy.
Central, standard quality hotel. Good position and there's an underground car park at £16 a day, which is handy. Just roll up and check in. No complaints apart from the bizarre shortage of showers in the mens' changing rooms in the spa. There's only 2 and they have locking doors. So two fellas go in, lock the doors and the rest of us (about 7) just stand around wondering where the other showers are and how we're going to wash the chlorine off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Grand looking hotel close to Bristol Canal

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Bedrooms clean and bed comfortable, no view from room but that wasn't an issue for us. Bathroom clean, overhead bath shower nice and powerful, however fairly difficult controlling temperature, very hot! Bar area comfortable and large, staff helpful and breakfast buffet good. Priced well, nothing not to like
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wiltshire

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Lovely hotel. Great facilities. Ideal location. Only issue was the bed, it was not comfortable. So we both woke at 3am ish. And couldn't get back to sleep,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Great hotel, ideally located for Bristol centre.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Staff balanced friendliness and professionalism perfectly making the staff feel exclusive yet welcoming. Breakfast good value and car parking (although not cheap) was ideal for my requirement.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

Iconic building, a bit tired

Posted Dec 20, 2016
We stay in many hotels worldwide but this week visited Bristol, my old home town, for a pre christmas event. I chose it for its location and also for nostalgic reasons. Growing up in the 1960s, I knew it as the Royal Hotel, then later in the 90s we stayed there a few times as the luxurious, 5 star, Swallow Royal Hotel. Check in staff were efficient and charming, but as we walked through the hotel, our general impression was disappointing. Our deluxe double at the front of the building was roomy, comfortable and quiet. However the public areas we saw are badly in need of an upgrade, worn carpet, tired decor and the christmas displays with an excess of frothy "wedding net" , looked very thrown together and a bit tacky. This is a beautiful building crying out to be a superb luxury hotel but it needs attention.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good start

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Booked delux. Confirmed at check in. Realty very different.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Close to amenities

Posted Dec 8, 2016
What a lovely upper classs hotel close to all bars and restaurants in the centre Of Bristol really enjoyed my stay here for my birthday beautiful for a special occasion