Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Nice hotel for weekend stay. Breakfast wasn't good as anticipated but the staff was excellent and rooms were clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2015 by Danny W. Owen, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to provide our guests with clean and comfortable rooms along with the best in customer service. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope you'll return when in the area !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

The hotel was okay but the staff made it amazing.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: The hotel was a typical Holiday Inn Express but very clean and well maintained.
Location: We were all about Bristol Raceway but did enjoy downtown.
I worked in the hotel industry for 9 years and I'm quite a hotel snob but I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel it self was a typical Holiday Inn Express and with a last minute booking in a sold out town that's what I was expecting...but I would go back over an a luxury hotel anyday!!! That staff is top notch...they did everything but tuck us into bed! Pancakes, water, updates we couldn't think faster than they were offering to help! As a business owner they need to hold on to their staff!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2015 by Danny W. Owen, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and comments about our staff. I will definitely pass those along to everyone !! It is our goal to always provide clean and comfortable rooms and the best in customer service. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Great place ~~~~ we try to always stay in a holiday inn express ~~~~ quality is very consistent city to city
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Danny Owen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. We are glad that you had a great stay. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible for all our guests. Thank you for choosing our hotel and hopefully we'll see you again when in our area. Danny W. Owen Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2014
The staff were very courteous and breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2015 by Danny Owen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. We're glad you stayed at our hotel and happy that you found everything good. Our staff is always available to assist our guests and we desire that every guest have an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Thank you for choosing us and we hope you'll return again when in the area. Danny W. Owen Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Culpeper, VA

Excellent place in Abingdon

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Staff, Facilities, Room, Cost
Cons: Nothing! I wish they all were like this.
Location: Just stopped for the night.
Had an unexpected stop in Abingdon - turns out this hotel was excellent. Clean, nice staff, delivery folks knew where it was, tv worked well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by Danny Owen, Hotel Management
Thank you, William, for your review of our hotel. We love the title of your review and so happy that your stay was excellent !! Our goal is to always provide clean and comfortable rooms and the best in customer service. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we welcome you back whenever you are in the area. Danny W. Owen Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

great stay in Abington!

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: location to the highway, the staff, clean
Location: several restaurants, we didn't do any local sightseeing.
staff was wonderful, they helped us get settled in after 8 hours on the road. they had recommendations for local restaurants and some help I needed for the car we were towing.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2015 by Danny Owen, Hotel Management
Many thanks, Kimmy, for reviewing our hotel. We are pleased that everything was to your liking. We have a wonderful staff that are always available to assist in any way possible including recommendations to some of our great local dining establishments. After a long time on the road, we want to provide our guests with clean, comfortable rooms and a restful night. Thank you for staying with us and be sure to stop in whenever you're back in the area. Danny W. Owen Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pigeon Forge,TN

great hotel close to creeper trail and Damascus

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Free breakfast; close to historic downtown
Cons: maybe matresses on beds
Location: historic downtown abingdon and creeper trail
Excellent staff, breakfast very good, great big thanks to female staff member in charge of breakfast area. Never had I been asked at a hotel breakfast if I needed anything while eating; very attentive. she was constanly replenishing food. she was like that both days we stayed too. would definetley stay here again!! Thanks Holiday Inn Express!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Danny Owen, Hotel Management
Thanks, Lona, for the wonderful comments and for reviewing our hotel. Our Express Start Breakfast in a great way to begin the day and our our hostesses are always eager to please. Our location is also convenient to many local area attractions and great local dining as well. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon !!! Danny W. Owen Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Everywhere

Noisy area invades room.

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Great staff and clean room. However, the walls of this hotel do not keep out the outside noises.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Danny Owen, Hotel Management
Thank you Jeff for taking time to review our hotel. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the clean room, and yes - we do have a wonderful that is always available to assist. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope we'll be your choice again when in the area. Danny W. Owen Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Cons: How about a smoke alarm in every room that would go off is someone smokes?
Location: Abingdon is a wonderful little town, near lots of outdoor activities, and the Barter Theater.
The manager and front desk person on duty could not have been nicer. Our only complaint is that it was evident that someone had smoked in or near the room. The breakfast was good, and the breakfast staff were most pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by Danny Owen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We certainly apologize for the smoke odor you encountered. We are non-smoking hotel. We're happy that you were able to begin your day with our Express Start Breakfast and that you found our staff to your liking. We always are ready to assist our guests to provide the best in customer service with a great nights rest. We hope to see you again when in our area. Danny Owen Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winston Salem, NC

Virginia Highlands Festival attendees

Posted Aug 7, 2014
We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly. Our room was fresh and clean; normally reserved for pet use, you would never know another pet had been there before! The room was nicely appointed with a king sized bed; great bedding and mattress. We will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Danny Owen, Hotel Management
Thank you Cindy from Winston-Salem, for taking the opportunity to share your experience. Our housekeeping staff is the finest and they make sure all rooms are clean - whether they be pet friendly or not. We are glad you were able to rest comfortably on one of our new pillow-top mattresses. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon !!