Ratings based on 619 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North East

Take some earplugs

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location is close to the harbour.
Cons: The sound insulation and the gluten free choices
Location: M Shed, SS Great Britain, etc
We arrived after 11.30pm to be greeted by groups in the lobby drinking beer and very loud music. This in itself was not an issue; the issue was the fact that we couldn't hear the receptionist and he couldn't hear us! We were allocated a room on the fifth floor and thought that the noise wouldn't be a problem. However, the seal on the window didn't stop the traffic noise. In fact, we could hear the conversations of everyone passing by in the street. It's probably something to do with sound reverberation and the opposite building being located just in the wrong place but by 6am with very little sleep the physics of it all was immaterial! The room had one dressing gown and one pair of slippers so we shared. The shower, bathroom, tiling and carpet were showing signs of age. Breakfast was a further challenge. None of the cereals were gluten free so I was given 2 slices of almost done toast. No pastries were offered and nobody came to ask if I wanted any more bread / toast. I came to the conclusion that I would have to provide for myself and duly did so for our second breakfast the following morning. Having said all of that, the staff wepoke to were pleasant and obviously busy. The public areas were tidy and well presented and the outside space was reasonably neat and tidy. We have stayed in many Hilton hotels across the world from Asia to America and this was our first experience of a Doubletree. We will be travelling back to Bristol shortly and intend to stay in a Hilton!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The staff were really nice and welcoming when first checking in the hotel and when checking out the hotel, making it seem very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Small room but close to train station

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff very helpful
Cons: Shower needs to be sorted
Location: Close to good public transport and the canal area
The twin room was very small but had everything we needed. The shower looks amazing but it had very low pressure. Rooms are not sound proof and it was annoying hearing other guests talking outside room early and late in the evening. Parking is very expensive. Bar staff very pleasant and food was well presented. Easy walking distance to canal area, and train station which means you can get buses to local attractions. Hop on hop bus stops outside hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but check your room type

Posted Apr 10, 2017
When checking into the hotel I was told I'd booked an accessible room. I wasn't aware that I had done this but checked the booking confirmation from Expedia and indeed I had. This meant that the room and bathroom were designed for guests with disabilities. As there were apparently no available double rooms I had to upgrade to a king room at a cost of £30 in order to get a traditional bathroom. The receptionist told me this is not an uncommon occurrence with Expedia bookings as if all the doubles are taken the website will list accessible rooms on the webpage. No issue with the hotel but if you are booking and don't require accessible facilities be sure to check.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Usefully close to the station

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Good food for breakfast.
Cons: More comfortable beds - and extra blankets/pillows as an option. Better room layout, a bath.
Location: Great location for station and city centre
I was impressed with proximity to Temple Meads and there was nothing overly bad about my experience - it was a bit mediocre for what I expected from Doubletree. Bed wasn't particularly comfortable, shower wasn't at all powerful (and was accessible, great option but meant there was no bath which I was hoping to make use of after working all day). TV was near the ceiling on the wall facing the bathroom (i.e. not visible from either bed or chair) and didn't have the option to plug in own device to a media unit (not a big deal but I was banking on a USB socket to charge my phone). All in all, not a bad place to lay your head for the night but nothing special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The hotel staff were friendly, nice breakfast. We didn't have a good sleep with next door neighbours making noise throughout the night. We'll definitely go back again hopefully we will have considerate neighbours this time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

A recently modernised hotel.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: As above.
Cons: Saving socket 110/240v in bathroom not working in room 538 on the morning of 25/02/17 - hence unable to shave.
Location: Within walking distance of town centre.
Comfortable hotel with attractive dining facilities and a high standard of service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Throwback to the 1970s

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Frozen room on the arrival it took two hours to warm up. Staff do not interact with customers no greetings when you bump into them. Got disturbed four times before 10.00am from housekeeper
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good clean efficient

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Good location with easy bust expensive parking. Room facilities good. Breakfast in the Kiln restaurant has a reasonable choice in pleasant atmospher. Staff welcoming and attentive Barbara in the restaurant deserves special mention for her enthusiasm in describing the history of the restaurant and wider Bristol area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: easy to find
Cons: bathroom a little small
Location: City location
Clean , comfortable and close to the city and train station