Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Apr 27, 2018
Stunning building, so much oak very well done gives great character, cosy stopover.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Bend, IN, USA

Picture perfect historic hotel / inn

Posted Mar 12, 2018
Pros: The staff, rooms, breakfast, and friendly dogs!
Cons: Nothing - it's perfect.
Location: Ten minutes or so from the airport, in a lovely rural setting. A gas station 10 minutes away (great for filling up rental cars before returning them).
My fiance and I stayed at Meadow Cottage on our last night in England, and we wish we'd stayed longer! We were warmly greeted by the owner's adorable old Labs in the courtyard, only to step inside and realize that the inside of the building is every bit as charming as the outside! The small, twisting hallways, incredibly smooth old stone floor, and gorgeous kitchen with generous breakfast offerings were just what we wanted on our last night of vacation. We stayed in room 3, which has an incredible stone floor that has been worn smooth over the centuries. The small en-suite shower room was perfect for our needs, and the electric heater helped to warm the room to just the right temperature for us. The only issue we had was with the shower - we couldn't get the temperature to be less than very hot. This may be due to our inexperience with the shower style (on/off on one bar, temperature on the other), and probably could have been resolved quickly, but I was too tired to go in search of help. If you're looking for a typical hotel that could be found anywhere in America, you'll probably be happier in the chain hotel down the road. If you'd like an experience to remember, in a rural setting, with a lovely staff, stay at Meadow Cottage. And make sure you include time to enjoy the beautiful outdoor area! Overall, this was exactly what we expected, based on the photos and description on Expedia and other travel sites. We will stay again when we are next in Bristol.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top notch

Posted Mar 10, 2018
Lovely place. Really peaceful and lots of bird song to be heard. Beautiful building and really warm room. A lovely self service breakfast in a spacious modern kitchen and country cottage dining room. Good WiFi signal in the kitchen and better phone signal there too. Really great place in beautiful grounds and two friendly labradors came to join me for coffee on the terrace. Would definitely recommend this accomodation and I hope to return for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Wish we could have stayed longer

Posted Mar 7, 2018
Location: Pub/restaurant within walking distance where we had a lovely dinner
Loved this B & B. full of charm and character. We opted for the larger room and was very pleased. Good selection of breakfast - all help yourselves. Booking requested we do self check-in which we didn't have a problem with. Didn't see anyone in a.m. Not an issue for us.......sure they're was a number to call if we'd have had a question. Will definitely go back if we can
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Perfect for Airport

Posted Mar 2, 2018
Pros: The quirky nature of the property. Close to airport but very quiet.
Cons: Longer check in times, but nothing that can't be worked around.
Location: Darlington Arms at the end of the lane is excellent for food, may be wise to book, as we only just managed to get in before a big group arrived.
Easy to find property located down a narrow country lane, but less than a five minute drive to Bristol Airport Silver Parking. Turning into the main car park was a little bit tight, and space was a bit tight once inside, fortunately there is space for a few cars on a small car park outside on the road, perfect for an early get away in the morning without the risk of someone blocking you in. We were met by two very friendly dogs who escorted us to the front door. Check in was simple and efficient by the property's very friendly and helpful owner who showed us to our room and the complimentary self serve breakfast area in the cottage kitchen. We were recommended a good pub to get food at the end of the lane, had to drive as no lighting in the lane and would be dangerous to walk in the pitch black of the night. Our twin room was small but had everything we needed for an overnight stay, the room, like the rest of the cottage had lots of charm and appeal, the bathroom / wet room was spacious with a shower. Complimentary tea and coffee was provided in the room, also in the kitchen. Wi-Fi was excellent, there was a TV in the room too. Breakfast was a good self serve selection in the kitchen, attached to which was a nice dining area. I'd definitely recommend this cottage and if I ever have a very early flight from Bristol Airport I'd rebook again. Check in time was limited to 17:30 to 20:00 but not an issue for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Ideal for the airport

Posted Feb 27, 2018
My wife and I stayed here for the night before an early flight from the airport. We had a fantastic welcome and a great explaination of how things ran. The room was clean and comfortable and the shower really powerful. Breakfast was a pleasant self service affair with plenty of choice and well known brands. We’ll definitely stay again next time we fly from Bristol!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chipping Norton

Comfy and ideal for the airport

Posted Feb 26, 2018
Pros: Very comfortable and warm on a cold night...patio and gardens pleasant.
Cons: Hallway could do with fitted carpet to soften noise on the flagstones. Bedroom floor cold due to bare flagstones.
Location: Ideal for the airpost run..or £10.50 for a local taxi.
Very welcoming, warm and cosy. As a professional Dog Training Instructor I was delighted to be met by 2 labradors outside, and a cat! Wifi good but mobile signal not brilliant. No hallway carpet made the corridor noisy. Someone in the room above disturbed me at 12.34am. No rugs in the bedroom made the flagstone floors cold. Buffet Breakfast had a good spread.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Posted Feb 20, 2018
A warm welcome, an amazing building, good self help breakfast. All in all a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North West

Value for money and comfort.

Posted Feb 16, 2018
It’s a beautiful cottage in a nice quiet area and I was greeted by 2 friendly labradors most evenings when I arrived back there. My room served its purpose, it was comfy and cosy. Self service for breakfast was good too as I had to leave around 6am each day. Close to the airport and and about a 25-30 min drive to Bristol city centre. My only gripe was the shower head wasn’t fixed to the wall and the internet didn’t work 2 nights in a row, even when I was sat in the dining room which is where I was told the strongest signal was but other than that it was very pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ludow

Thank you Expedia and wonderful staff

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Expedia turned this into a nice memorable stay... The lady that greets you can only be described as a wonderful person... She's hard working, caring and just a delightful person... The establishment is perhaps hard to maintain, but if you like different quirky places this is for you, we will go back in the summer when perhaps we can enjoy the lovely views more