Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north west

Not Impressed

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Very pretty views from garden.
Cons: A personal touch and someone overseeing breakfast..
Location: Situated up a very narrow, unlit lane. Nothing to do nearby that we found.
Situated further from Bristol Centre than anticipated. Young lady who let us into building was pleasant, but placed lacked a welcoming touch. We arrive 10 minutes early and had to wait outside for 15 minutes before anyone arrived yo let us in. Room was very small, no room for luggage, and not a nice smell from drains in bathroom? Thought for price paid. That we wouldn't be expected to be asked yo clear our own. Breakfast Crockery, particularly as we had already served ourselves?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shetland

Beautiful building in lovely surroundings.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: It was so different from the normal new hotels which are nice but all have a sameness. This was so unique and full of character.
Cons: Perhaps advance notification to book at the local pub for an evening meal if required. We could not get a table until late evening.
Location: Quite remote. A car would be an asset but there is a pub 10mins walk away
Loved this place. A report on Trip advisor mentioned being put off by the barking scary dogs. Buster and Shadow are the sweetest natured Labradors you will ever be welcomed by although Buster would keep you for hours as his ball thrower if he could. The building is 17th century unspoiled and beautiful. A wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, U.K.

Lovely hotel in a very quiet location.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: We liked the age and style, and it's location.
Cons: Parking resolved, perhaps marked out spaces. Better breakfast facilities.
Location: Airport nearby, plenty of good places to eat locally,....try the Darlington Inn on the main road.
Hotel and grounds charming. Checked in with no problem. We really enjoyed our stay here, just a couple of things to make people aware of. Parking was an issue for us, twice we got parked in by other guests. The second time, was 5.30 am when we were trying to depart (fortunately not to catch a plane). The guest in question finally came down to breakfast at 0845! No apology, but moved car. The only other minor issue was the self catering breakfast. Bit disappointing and limited choice. We also felt that as a lot of 'bread' items available involved having to take out of package and handling goods, cutting off required amount before returning to pack, which was fine if you were the first one down, but not if several people had been before you. Although they do not offer restaurant/dining facilities, they do list good, local eateries.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ruhig gelegen-für uns die Überraschung des Urlaubs

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Das Cottage ist liebevoll eingerichtet mit vielen kleinen Details. Wir haben uns im gemütlichen Zimmer sehr wohl gefühlt. Das Bad war sauber und modern. Es gab beim Frühstück eine große Auswahl, dieses ist aber wegen der Selbstbedienung beschränkt, es gab z.B.kein Ei. Das hat uns aber nach 2 Wochen b&b überhaupt nicht gestört. Schade, dass es nur die Nacht vorm Rückflug war - wir wollen wiederkommen!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great experience in 1640 built stone house.

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Ambiance
Location: Close to Bristol and not far rom Bath, Stonhenge and South England.
Stayed in a number of B &B's on this trip and this was our favorite. Basic self serve Breakfast. Beautiful grounds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cottage with character, very pretty gardens.

Posted May 29, 2016
Lovely period cottage with plenty of charm. Gardens a delight. If you intend to use this lodging because of being close to Bristol Airport make sure you book your own taxi. Nice pub within short distance.
4 out of 5
by Tendai from Birmingham

Cute little place

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms were lovely and clean, hotel is a bit tricky to get to. Conveniently near Bristol Airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2016
Sehr schönes Objekt aber leider nicht sehr sauber. Das komplette Zimmer war eingestaubt. Einmal war das Bett nicht gemacht. Wenn es sauber gewesen wäre, wäre es ein Traum
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful country estate

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Very late check in (5:30), and very early check out (10:00). Owner is busy, so not a lot of personal time. Beautiful, well kept estate. Breakfast buffet was, ummmm blah. Breads, cereals, yogurt and instant coffee, all served on your own. I tried a piece of toast and jam, but the moldy jam was off putting. Great place for an overnight stay for early airport departure.