Ratings based on 958 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good value but pack your earplugs!

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Central location. Good buffet breakfast.
Cons: Extending parking facilities. Separating loud groups from other guests. Our room had a mild smell of vomit! So cleaning needs to be improved.
Location: Close to Cabot circus shopping and river. But it's located in quite a corporate area with not much to see and do.
In terms of value for money this hotel is pretty good. It's definitely seen better days however, parking is hectic and on weekends it is swamped with hens parties for some reason, who seem to have no regard for fellow guests. Lots of noise late at night followed by early morning families loudly making their way to breakfast as a means of payback! The staff, however, were all lovely. I felt sorry for them!! Buffet breakfast was good and lovely staff at reception gave us a late check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester

Great location for city centre and train station.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Great staff, very accommodating. Very comfortable beds and superb breakfast!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hove

Strange idea of a "city view"

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Overall our stay was ok, but we (a family of three, 10 year old daughter) all agree that we would not return to the mercure. When we checked in there was a problem as our booking was not on the database, this was fine as we were early so went and had a coffee. The man from reception (who was very nice) kindly came and found us to give us our room key, unfortunately, because of all the confusion, we didnt get told about any of the facilitities in the hotel, breakfast, check out, swimming etc. Not too much of a problem as we worked it out ourselves. For some reason, we were checked into an accessible room. While this offered a vast amount of space, it was awkward for us as the sink in the bathroom was tiny and very low down,with no adjoining shelf for our toiletries. The shelf that did exist was directly above the loo, which had no lid, so we had to out all our teeth cleaning stuff in the bedroom for hygiene reasons. Also,no shelf in the shower either, this was also awkward, but would have been perfect for a person in a wheelchair. Biggest disappointment was that we had expected a city view, this was in fact an ugly car park overlooking a block of flats. My daughter enjoyed the swimming pool, they went for a swim early in the morning so had the pool to themselves for an hour. Location was very handy, ten mins to TempleMeads station, Cabot Circus and a stones throw from the Marina and Old City.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Well placed hotel for exploring Bristol.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Reasonable room rates booked in advance and convenient for the harbour and city centre.
Cons: Serving the food hot and cooking it properly. I had french fries with my burger and they were tepid and soggy. The price of drinks should be reviewed.
Location: Close to the harbour and convenient for the city centre. Bus and boat tours, shopping. Pubs and restaurants.
This hotel was about as expected for the price. The room was fine apart from the mini fridge not working and we were overlooking the car park - which many rooms were. Having seen a privilege room I would say it would be well worth upgrading. Breakfast was reasonable quality if you could help yourself to the food while it was hot and you could order some items from the kitchen. Breakfast was priced online at £16.50 but if you pre-ordered the day before it was £10:00 but no mention of this online. We ate there on the first night and the food was ok but on the cool side which often happens when you are with a group. The menu was also quite basic. Drinks seemed very expensive but probably on par with other hotels. Car Parking was £13 per night which seemed expensive but was worth it for the convenience of being on the hotel site. The staff were all pleasant and helpful and I could not fault them. The hotel seemed to have several hen/stag parties and it could be quite busy and noisy a times. There was a wedding party one night and we had to listen to the music until 12:30. Overall I would hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends although if you don't mind a little noise and bustle it is reasonable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Rooms are a little tired

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Good location near the station and close to centre. Room was small and pretty outdated. Windows had mould on frames and paint peeling on cills. Toilet seat was loose and toilet was stained. The hotel lobby was beautiful. We didn't use the spa facilities so can't comment.
4 out of 5
by Roger

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Checking in staff impolite. Rest of staff were fine and all in all my brief stay was pleasant. Brilliant breakfast!!!
4 out of 5
by Matthew

Generally okay

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is well located and convenient. It's a little dated, misses some leisure facilities and parking was a bit tight. Generally okay.
5 out of 5
by Alex

Great place, great location

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was very welcoming, great facilities and very clean and an ideal location for out purpose. Only downside which was only minor would be the lack of parking, most being taken up by work vans but this didn't hamper our stay at all