Ratings based on 1,090 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Bed not ready and welcoming for my daughter, cold breakfast, paid themselves from our credit card before the end of our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Lynn, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback, I'm sorry to hear that your stay didn't not meet your expectations, please rest assure that I have passed on your concerns to the relevant departments and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards, Lynn Seehasuth- Reservations & Sales Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Close to the old centre of Bristol but quiet.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Very good value for money.
Cons: Make either or both car park and breakfast included!
Location: Great centre for exploring the old city.
Wish I could have stayed longer. A useful bonus to have a car park too. Very helpful reception staff. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by iain france, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback Hilary, glad you had an excellent stay and found the hotel very good value for money. See you again soon, warmest regards, Iain France - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marlow

Nice clean mid-priced hotel in Central location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Granted your experience is dictated by those with rooms around you but we had zero noise, zero. Clean, well equipped room. Spacious. I will stay again next time I'm in Bristol.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by iain france, Hotel Management
Happy to hear you had an excellent stay with us and we will look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Bristol. Warmest regards, Iain France - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Consett, Co Durham

University Open Day Trip

Posted Sep 11, 2017
I've stayed in a Novotel before and was happy with the comfort, cleanliness, staff and price so I deliberately looked for one this time. We weren't disappointed - the room was spacious with all we could ever need, the bed was comfortable, breakfast was reasonable and plentiful and the staff were helpful and did everything we needed of them. Can't fault it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by iain france, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback Claire, glad to see that you had an excellent stay with us and I am sure the University Open Day was also great and trust you have chosen Bristol as your destination ! See you again soon, warmest regards, Iain France - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Twickenham

Five days in Bristol with the grandkids.

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: The location; the bar/restaurant; a comfortable room and bed.
Cons: Room cleaning was a bit hit and miss. Noise from garbage/recycling trucks at the rear at 8 A.M.
Location: The S.S. Graet Britain is a must see. Also, if the weather's OK go on the open top bus tour of the city ( there's a stop right outside the hotel ).
A very enjoyable stay. Reasonably central - only a 10 minute walk to the pubs and restaurants on the riverside. The room was comfortable although sometimes in the morning there was noise from garbage/recycling trucks outside ( we were in a room at the back of the hotel ). We don't normally eat in hotel restaurants but did so twice here - the first time because it was raining and the second because we enjoyed the first meal a lot. A 3 course kid's meal plus soft drink for £5 can't be bettered! The bar staff were very friendly, as were those at reception. It was also very convenient to have a large car park under the hotel, with plenty of space reserved for Novotel guests - well worth the £10 a day charge. The in room safety box was useful - generally found in overseas hotels but not so much in UK hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by iain france, Hotel Management
Glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay John with your family, we will certainly look forward to seeing you again soon, warmest regards, Iain France - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Lovely hotel nice food

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location and room
Cons: Room service calling to early in the morning
One night stay to meet friends in the city.Easy to park lovely clean room, excellent staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by iain france, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your feedback Angie, glad to hear you had a lovely stay and look forward to seeing you back at Novotel again very soon.Warmest regards, Iain France - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Not far from both the City Centre and Temple Meads

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The staff were very helpful and the buffet breakfast was great.
Cons: Nothing, really.
Location: Very convenient to us as we came and left by train.
We wanted something in a good location to visit the Balloon Fiesta and it worked out just fine for that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by iain france, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your review Regan, glad to hear you had a great stay with us and trust you enjoyed the International Balloon Fiesta. See you again next year. Warmest regards, Iain France - General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Good for a stop over

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Great location for our needs and the onsite car park was very handy as we have a 14month old and has more suitcases then us!
Cons: The hotel needs to invest in it's rooms and train the cleaning staff better.
If we were planning on spending time in the room to relax, have bath, etc than I would have been very disappointed in the hotel. We didn't use the sauna facilities etc but considering they exist, I would have expected a more comfortable room in terms of condition, cleanliness and comforts. If you are unhappy with anything the staff will be proactive to sort it out. However if you are going to be out and about in Bristol and need a place to rest and wash then this hotel is great.There was good floor space in our room for our little one to move about without us worrying she was going to hurt herself. Staff that are meant to engage with hotel guests are all very polite and helpful. Breakfast was great in terms of variance so glad we included that. Parking was a little tight and the usual suspects park over the lines so that you can't get into the spot next to them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by iain france, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback Ron, glad to hear that overall you had a good stay and found the team to be proactive. We will look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards, Iain France - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ferryhill

Smart, clean hotel close to Train station

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Modern Clean Good value
Cons: N/a
Location: Close to Train station
Friendly staff Efficient check in and check out Generous breakfast Clean bedroom and bathroom Eco friendly soaps
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by iain france, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your feedback Shelagh, glad to see you had an excellent stay. See you again soon. Kindest regards, Iain France - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from marlow

Nice hotel and good location

Posted Jul 19, 2017
We like the hotel for its location. We stayed for two nights this time . Found our room on first night extremely warm it appeared even though I had set the air con to where we would be comfortable it did not work, so had to leave the windows open to cool the room the following night and we're woken early by noise from outside, aircon in the bar area however was chilly. enjoyed our trip but were glad to get home for a good nights sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by iain france, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your feedback Jack, glad to learn that overall your stay was good however, I was sorry to learn that you found your room too warm and the bar area too chilly, I will certainly request my maintenance to to investigate and take the appropriate measures to address your concern to prevent future occurrence. Kindest regards, Iain France - General Manager