Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Anglia

Business Trip

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and customer focused.
Cons: Room décor and FFE were somewhat dated but the cleanliness and little touches somewhat made up for the shortfall.
Location: For my business requirements; a perfect location in central Clifton Village.
A very pleasant surprise as the food and staff were excellent: Location was exactly as required: Only disappointment was being thrown out of the dining room at breakfast due to some kind of previous booking - no notice given to any of the breakfast diners ! Notwithstanding this glitch, however, the hotel was certainly acceptable with some nice touches of class but overall décor needs improving with the times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Amy Harding, Hotel Management
Dear Clive, Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the service and food during your stay with us. I apologise for breakfast finishing early with no prior notice given, this is certainly not the sort of service we want to offer to our guests and I will ensure the communication between my events and reception teams is improved. I sincerely hope we can welcome you back to the Rodney in the near future. Kind regards, Amy Harding Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Enjoyable stay in great location

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Me and a few friends simply required a number of good value for money rooms, for one night. The location of the hotel was perfect for our night out in Bristol. We each had a single room and were all pleased with the comfort of the beds and room facilities. The only complaint I would have was that the shower was very weak, and I need a shower to really get me up in the morning, which it didn't. The staff were great and despite the shower if I required a good value for money option in that location again, I would go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Amy Harding, Hotel Management
Dear Ryan, I am so pleased to read that you and your friends enjoyed your weekend in Bristol, and with us at the Rodney. Our single rooms are good value and I'm glad you found the facilities comfortable. The majority of our single rooms have electric showers so I have asked my House Manager, Claudia, to take a look at the pressure across all floors so that we can identify any weaker areas. Thank you for your feedback on this point, I am exactly the same when it comes to needing a powerful shower to wake me up! All the best, Amy Harding Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for browsing around Clifton sites

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff and willingness to help. Characterful hotel.
Cons: Decor a bit tired in places but clean and adequate for a good price.
Location: Walking distance of Clifton Suspension Bridge and all that surrounding area has to offer. Beautiful views over Bristol and Avon valley.
Easy access into Bristol by bus or even walking! Plenty to see and do in area. Parking outside of hotel if lucky, if not plenty of 3 hour slots near by. Free after 9pm and Sundays! Friendly and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Amy Harding, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and enjoyed the character of the area and the hotel. Clifton is a very beautiful area of the city and not to be missed on any visit. We are lucky enough to be very central in Clifton Village, so there are plenty bars, restaurants and lovely boutiques in the surrounding streets, and obviously as you mentioned the breathtaking Suspension Bridge. We are able to offer 7 spaces directly outside the hotel at £7 over night and 10 additional permits which can be used in the surrounding streets, there is also, as you mentioned, the pay & display option so guest arriving late. Thank you for your kind comments on the staff and the service you received. I hope we can welcome you back to the Rodney for a future stay. All the best, Amy Harding Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little sleep at Rodney

Posted Nov 30, 2016
kept awake most of night by a boiler or fan near room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Book with them!

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect service!Very friendly staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

good 2 nights stay

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: -excellent coffee in the room, fruits and very good cosmetics in the bathroom
Cons: -provide unlimited internet access, it is annoying to have is disconnected in the middle of an important task -the windows are terrible
Location: -brilliant location
- electrical warmer provided which was very helpful as the windows are not keeping the heat in ( I don't know if they are allowed to change them with more efficient ones). - no parking and to find a parking spot on Friday night was nightmare ( however they provided a permit for street parking). - excellent care for details: good quality coffee, fruits, good quality cosmetics provided - my only issue was the internet - I thing is normal these days to be provided with free unlimited internet access during your stay, I needed only during the evenings and I ran out of it in the middle of important tasks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay Hotel in Good Location

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was fine. Breakfast was expensive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Great location.
Kellogg's variety packs of cereal, sliced white bread, coffee served from a flask, not a breakfast to savour at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and very helpful, nice change from large chains
Cons: Some minor decoration
Location: Shopping, historical places
Great location close to Ashton Park, Clifton suspension bridge and exciting shops in walking distance.