Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

Staff uniformed but great place - enjoyed the town

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The decor was beautiful and the antiques very nice
Cons: Front desk left us waiting bc they failed to call when the room was ready and no one could help us find ice - why the ice bucket?
Location: Barter theater and walk on Virginia creeper trail
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South

Great historic hotel.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Staff was so pleasant/accommodating. We enjoyed The Sisters restaurant so much we ate out very little. Superber chef and staff. Generous entrees
Cons: Air handlers in the pool & hot tub area & parking lot are very noisy. It was difficult to have a conversation near them. These will need attention.
Location: Virginia Creeper bicycling. The Tavern, Buskers' Fair. Great Golf in the Area: Especially The Virginian.
Great time, service, area, Americana in the area, biking, golf, .....fun time!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, MD

Wonderful place to relax and recharge your battery

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Everything except the unreliable wireless. If I were traveling for pleasure, I would say everything was perfect.
Cons: The unreliable wireless. Everything else was outstanding.
Location: Beautiful location in the mountains. There was a bus ride to a nearby mountain top where you could ride bicycles back, 35 miles.
The only criticism I had was the wireless cut out several times during my visit. I was traveling for business, so this was a definite inconvenience. But I loved everything else about it. I plan to come back for a long weekend. There were so many amenities that I didn't have time to enjoy on this quick trip. The restaurant had great service and cuisine, and a very impressive wine list. The staff was very friendly and eager to please. The grounds were beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roanoke, VA

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: It's such a lovely hotel and the history is so interesting to learn about.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Great central location to restaurants and the theater
We attended a play at the Barter Theater which we thoroughly enjoyed. It's so nice that the hotel is right across the street so we could just walk over. Parking is great at the hotel, too. The room was lovely and a good deal for the price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wonderful time in quaint city and great theatre at

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: old southern charm
Cons: mentioned B4---mattress
Location: we went to the Highland Festival and the Barter Theatre and you must eat at Tavern (1779 period) restaurant and also 128 Pecan street restaurant
the pillow top covers on the bed was nice but seems the mattress was so broken down on both sides that you almost felt like rolling out of bed---my wife and I both thought the same thing. with two in the queen bed noticed but if was only one on bed then you could stay in the middle-- room 215. everything else was perfect-- hgn
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Perfect baby-moon!!

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Being almost 8 months pregnant--this hotel was perfection. The location could not be beat-as we could walk anywhere in town, to the great restaurants and to the Barter theater. However, the amenities.....the pool, plus putt putt, lots of lounging areas, and beautiful hot tub. Highly recommend!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Abingdon Hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: Staff, pool, room, the ambience
Cons: Nothing
Location: We like the Creeper Trail.
Our greeting was wonderful. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to make our stay great. We love staying there. We definitely will be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlothian, VA

Historic delight in Abingdon

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Just so historic, with all the photographs from when it was a women's college.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Short walk to many restaurants. A bit more than a mile to the movie theater. Also a short walk to the King art museum, which is worth a visit.
The Martha Washington is such a wonderful place. Nicely located across from the theater, with beautiful grounds, a nice restaurant, friendly staff, huge front porch, free parking, a large library. It is the perfect combination of a classic old hotel and modern conveniences. My stay couldn't have been better while visiting the area for Bike Virginia.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Christmas Season!

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Historic authenticity
Cons: We loved it all.
Location: Many interesting shops and a great theater.
Loved this town and the resort! Hope to return!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of a kind!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
You know that you are somewhere magical the moment you set foot in this amazing property! The Christmas decor was breathtaking. As a local, I have been blessed to experience The Martha in many ways throughout my life. My Great-Grandmother and Great Aunt were both students at Martha Washington College. I have enjoyed brunch with girlfriends, had my baby shower there, attended Weddings, etc. But this was my first time as a guest! Our night at The Martha was a wedding night stay. I was fortunate to check in and then have my bridal hair style created in the Salon on premise. Janna was fantastic, and all of the employees were consistently, genuinely cordial. I enjoyed blissful solitude and reflection in our gorgeous room prior to the wedding ceremony. I had a brief walk down the road to my church. Perfect! The bed was truly the most comfortable we ever had slept in. I loved the Aveda amenities provided. We have decided to make this an anniversary tradition from here forward, plan to enjoy all that the Martha has to offer when we have more time.