Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Timisoara, Romania

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Warm welcome, nice and helpful staff, proactive manager. Were unexpectedly helpful also in a private mater. Offered helpful staying and get around suggestions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hackney east london

Nice room in a quite area not far from the city

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Not bad,staff are great z d the hotel does what it says on the tin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds

Perfect for Clifton and Bristol visit

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Super clean and comfortable. Easy off road parking. Helpful staff came to sort out TV for us promptly and efficiently.
Cons: Could add a stainless steel caddy to the shower so shampoo etc are easier to reach.
Location: Near to lovely independent restaurants with great cocktails and food. A lively area; ideal for a break away from home.
Comfortable and peaceful hotel. Perfect for local restaurants. We enjoyed exploring the area on out trip down to the South West.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Good overall stay

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Friendly hotel staff
Cons: I don't think it was very well advertised that the room had a shared bathroom
Location: Great location easily accessible into the main city centre
It was convenient for the one night, and easily accessible to the city centre
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Potentially nice but let down by details.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff; clean; well decorated; a comfortable bed
Cons: Fix that bathroom! Provide a basin plug on a room by room basis, with a deposit if necessary to discourage stealing!
Location: Handy for the university and city museum. A 20 minute walk into the town centre, mostly downhill.
Although I was aware of the shared bathroom and lack of a lift beforehand, I let the booking stand as the price was so much better than the big-name establishments in Bristol centre. Also the location was better suited to my needs. I should have guessed though that a single room was likely to be at the top of the house and this indeed proved the case, with luggage having to be carried up three floors - though the receptionist did offer to help in that regard. The real issue for me proved to be the bathroom. The facilities were perfectly clean and modern but the pop-up plug for the wash basin was missing and the over-bath shower did not have an overhead wall mount point. The only way to have a shower was by sitting or standing in the bath and using one hand to direct the shower head. The only way to fill the basin for a wash was to place the bath plug (fortunately not attached to the bath) over the waste outlet and let the water pressure in the basin hold it in place. The (extra cost) continental breakfast was perfectly adequate and I cannot comment on the bar as I didn't use it but the details of the bathroom completely affected my opinion of the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice big bed

Posted Dec 5, 2016
This experience is mainly about the room and staff as didn't see anything of the rest of the hotel. The room was average but with an excellent massive bed. Tea/Coffee was available in the room. Only continental breakfast was on offer. Bathroom was tired looking with a knee high shower! Hand held unfortunately but adequate. Staff on reception were excellent, very polite and helpful. Parking is a bit of a nightmare to be honest, only a few spaces at front of hotel. Area is also not ideal for finding a parking space.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Nothing to whinge about.. The staff were very friendly & helpful. The room was comfortably snug, as well as being clean & tidy on my arrival. The breakfast was good; more than enough choice. I would book to stay here again, without hesitation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and comfortable stay

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and hotel was clean and comfortable. The only issue is the thin walls which mean you can hear pretty much everything in the next room - and the beautiful old Georgian windows do not keep the noise form outside out - which was loud until the early hours. The hotel itself is highly recommended so long as you can sleep well with some noise around.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not good

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
poor