Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reservation was changed by staff.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Charming but disappointing as our reservation was changed from family room to 2 double rooms. We weren't notified of change until day of arrival. Staff would not allow us to cancel with refund. We chose this location based on the family suite so that we could stay together.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't bother

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Hotel was "overbooked" and had to rearrange my stay with another hotel...and that was sh1t.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penzance

Historic

Posted May 25, 2017
Enjoyed our stay in this historic and austhetic place . has a great feel of the past . although no-one in attendance in the breakfast area while we were there, very much enjoyed the experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from barcelona

Solid 5

Posted May 20, 2017
Best hotel in our uk trip, I have no doubt I would repeat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south wales

Beautiful period cottage.

Posted May 6, 2017
Beautiful period cottage sympathetically decorated but with up to date fixtures. Would highly recommend a stay here. Odama/Lisa was a wonderful hostess, very friendly and amenable. Will definitely be visiting again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

17th century charm

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Peaceful
Cons: Difficult in such a style of property to do much to add or improve.
Location: Very rural. Not much to do immediately nearby.
Very quiet, countryside setting, lovely grounds. Small rooms, rather dark, nice views. Very low key atmosphere, not for those who crave excitement. No restaurant, but good inns a few miles away. Basic amenities, no wardrobe, few drawers. Will appeal to quiet, reflective people.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Miriam

Breakfast safety issues

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
My issue with the hotel was breakfast - the quality was poor for a continental breakfast but that is by the by - the real problem was children running amuck in the kitchen. The layout of breakfast was unbelieveably poor - up one end of the kitchen you found the bread, at the other end the toasters, in the dining area was to be found cereal, however milk was in the kitchen - you get the picture. Add to this mix parents and children and hot water - I come from a family in which a child was badly burnt in a kitchen when said child ran into parent carrying tea. During my whole time in the dining area no member of staff was to be seen. The dining breakfast experience has obviously not been risk assessed and this needs doing immediately. It would help if everything was laid out in one place, bread, toasters, cereal, milk and butter etc. and have coffee and tea available so not have individuals wandering around with kettles full of hot water. A member staff keeping order would also help. Otherwise the hotel was wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Peter

Clean and quiet boarding house

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
We were made very welcome and given a tour of facilities available. Nothing was too much trouble.
5 out of 5
by graham

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great