Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kirby from Seattle

Bitter End = Perfect Honeymoon

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful honeymoon. Bitter End is the perfect remote escape. The all inclusive package is incredible considering you can spend up to $150 nightly on dinner and all of our "water activities" were included providing endless fun with the sun without creating a huge entertainment bill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect place for a romantic get away

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
This is a perfect place for a romantic get away, especially if you like to sail. It is a beautiful location and everything was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern VA

Our 5th BEYC Stay - Beautiful, Sailing, Boating

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The resort offers a variety of room locations, two open-air restaurants, and a kids' camp. The food is generally great and sometimes excellent.
Cons: We have no complaints.
Location: Prickly Pear Island has a long, deserted beach on the east end, accessibly by Boston Whaler. The Sand Box Bar & Grill and Saba Rock are close by.
This was one of our best vacations in memory. We sailed our brains out. We motored to deserted beaches, we drank lots of rum and wine, we swam and floated around in the ocean water, enjoyed the beaches and pool, ate great food, enjoyed the 'to die for' scenery, and were very well served by the staff. At 40 years old, BEYC is a mature venue, but we don't go there to sit in the room and admire the furnishings. It's clean, plenty roomy, and totally functional. The well-maintained rooms have seen upgrades or improvements many times, and they are not far off the quality of other rooms that we booked at other BVI resorts on previous trips. Not every room is air conditioned, so make sure you are booking the room that you want. We prefer the A/C during the summer months to lower the humidity in the room, but the constant ocean breezes may be all you need, especially in the winter. BEYC has made some improvements over the years; they now have digital safes in the rooms so we didn't have to use the safe deposit boxes at the registration desk, and they added a seaplane dock that is mostly used in the winter. You get hardwood floors at BEYC, no Italian marble, no crystal chandeliers. Our previous four experiences at BEYC were also excellent, so BEYC has a pretty good track record from our viewpoint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great honeymoon

Posted Jun 19, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed there on our honeymoon. Beautiful setting, wonderful and helpful staff, great activities. On-site spa had unfortunately closed and would be more convenient if open, and room service would be nice option, but otherwise amazing! We'll go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

A Tropical Paradise

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Everything was great... We will be back with our kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Neptune Beach, FL

Honeymooners

Posted May 17, 2015
We stayed here for our honeymoon in early May and it was beyond perfect. Room: the wood 'huts' are so neat- we stayed in one of the highest ones which had amazing views. We loved the open air aspect and feeling the trade winds blowing in at night. Our shower overlooked the balcony and north sound, so cool. Very clean, mini fridge is great, and the mini bottle of Mount Gay Rum left in there for us was also very nice. The restaurants: Amazing fresh food at every restaurant and every meal. We could not have been more impressed or happier with the changing menu nightly at the clubhouse, with Anegada lobster being kept on every night which was so good! The key lime pie for dessert was the best! The bars: great drinks, great views, great staff. Bartenders were so friendly, we loved Aline. Reasonable prices. Excursions: the best part, we enjoyed snorkeling, sunset cruises, trip to Anegada, the Baths, best of the BVI's and more. Kinto and Jaye were so great to us, along with everyone else. Watersports: we loved using the paddleboards, windsurfing, and taking out the boston whalers. All the staff was so helpful and friendly and made it very easy to get out on the water. Overall, this is the best honeymoon we could have imaginged. The staff did so much to make us comfortable, put us in a room with amazing views, were so friendly, helpful, and made a point to know our names and always say hi and ask how we were. BEYC is seriously an amazing place to vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate New York

There are many options for fun.

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: There was a lot to do if you wanted activity If not, it was a great place to unwind. The Staff and other guest seemed like very nice people.
Cons: travelling back with ferry changes and customs was an all day affair. There should be some guidance on direct/ non direct ferrys and options.
Location: Saba Rock
I like to fish and usually go to a lodge with far fewer amenities; The Bitter End is one of the few top resorts where one can fish the flats for bone fish and other species and finish the day with an elegant dinner. The other water activities were also very accessable as well and the staff very accomodating. We had a meal plan and at first I concerned because it did'nt look as extravagent as a different high end resort we have stayed at numerous times. I was pleasantly surprised howerever, that the quality and ingredients and preparation was excellent every meal. The ambience is not totally themed but rather eclectic. It is a mix of traditional seaport with a carribean flare. The other guests seemed friendly and not at all uptight which you can sometime run into when people are trying to unwind . There were some children who all seemed very well behaved.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Diane from New Smyrna Beach

WOKE UP WITH A LARGE DEAD RAT NEXT TO MY BED!!!!!!

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Paid over $1,500 for 2 nights. Was supposed to have a beautiful ocean view as shown in the pictures. Ended up with just opposite. The view was completely obstructed with trees. Tried to straighten this out with the front desk, who was VERY, VERY RUDE and could care less, and then just decided just to remain where we were as we had been waiting from 11 a.m. until 4:30 for the room to be ready and had wasted half the day! Also told upon checking in there was a stomach virus spreading throughout the resort and to wash our hands frequently. Not a great way to start out a vacation! Fortunately we did not get it, but definitely made us nervous the whole time. To top things off, the second night I AWOKE TO FIND A LARGE DEAD RAT NEXT TO MY BED!!!! Travel frequently and have never encountered anything like that ever! Was given a $200 credit by the hotel, which I definitely feel was not enough! Never even an apology for the rat, just and ewwww! Obviously, THIS HOTEL TURNED OUT TO BE A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!!!!!!! It's unfortunate because I was really looking forward to staying here and it is a very pretty location. I think the hotel might want to look into whether a rat infestation may be causing people to get sick there!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Disappointed.

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Staff was very accommodating. Pool lovely, beach beautiful and private. Food good. If you are on a boat it is a different experience.
Cons: Cleanliness of rooms, more options on menu, TV, wi fi in room, more lights on walkways. locks on doors.
Location: Remote spot that meant you had to take ferry to get there. Lots of islands near by to visit and see. Lots of watersports, but prices high.
No TV or wi fi in room. No locks on doors or patio doors, no safes except in main house quite a distance from room. Lights dim on walkways (they give you little flashlights), room was old, needed power washing, full of noseum bugs which management said they would get rid of, but never did, the netting was missing in the shower so lots of mosquitos, rooms in need of updating for prices charged. The food was good but menu did not change for the 6 days we were there. When I complained about not knowing about no tv or wi fi I was told that they do not say they have TV! The hotel is remote and only way to access anything is to take a ferry to main location. The trip going there was 13 hours and a ferry ride on very rough seas, with 8 foot swells and pounding every mile of the way. The trip home was good, and ferry rides were pleasant. Just not knowing any of this was disappointing. Did not know that different packages included watersports, so we wound up paying high prices as watersports were not included in package. Very costly vacation..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lisa from McKinney TX

Bitter End Yacht Club

Posted Mar 12, 2015 on Hotels
Great place for a respite from the real world. Isolated. Lots to do. Virgin Gorda is beautiful. I've been throughout the Virgin Islands and this was my favorite spot.