Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Fort Recovery, a solid choice in BVI

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
The Fort Recovery Hotel was certainly nice, with a rustic feel and natural island setting. It is not a four star property however, and restaurant/bar service was weak.
5 out of 5
by Tim

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic service, exceptionally clean and great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lyons, CO

A wonderful, serene spot.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
I was looking for a small, comfortable resort away from the airport and Road Town bustle but not so isolated that it would be difficult to get to a convenience store (for our kitchen needs) and to other restaurants and sights. Fort Recovery filled the bill. It's at the West End of the island. Sopers Hole is close with a huge marina and lots of shops and restaurants. THere's a ferry pier close that offers trips to St. Thomas, St. John, and Jost Van Dyke. The villa was nicely decorated, clean and very comfortable and had gorgeous views of sunsets and St.John and other smaller islands. The beach is steps away and very private. The staff was very attentive and helpful. We had breakfast there and Idet made up whatever we wanted and it was delicious. Justin was very attentive and helped us arrange our itinerary of daily activities. I would definitely recommend Fort Recovery for a delightful stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Very quite and peaceful
Cons: The restaurant
Location: Need a car or taxi to get anywhere
The restaurant was odd. It took an hour to get scrambled eggs for breakfast. It's not open for lunch. Dinner needs to be pre-ordered by 5 PM and is only available from 6 to 7. The atmosphere just really made you feel like you didn't belong and shouldn't be there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just Lovely

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
The overall stay was excellent. The room was missing an iron and ironing board.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NH

Nice quiet hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of staff, clean, quiet
Cons: TVs, need to have blowdryers
Location: It's on the far west end of Tortola, so it is quiet a distance to Road Town. Pusser's Landing is close by though with lots of shops.
We only stayed for one night because we just took a day trip from our stay in St. John. Very friendly and accommodating staff. The manager called us a Safari truck to give us a tour of the island. Bouncer, our driver, was great! We spent 9 hours on and off the truck and whenever we called him, he was there. He made our visit. It's a nice place if you want to go and stay there for a few days or a week. Not really a lot in town except for souvenir shops. It's quite a distance so you need to hire a cab every time you go out.
3 out of 5
by Emil

know before you go

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is a very nice place to stay if you want a clean, comfortable two room spot with a full kitchen. However, there are a few things to keep in mind. First, the staff is very nice but not available all the time. We checked in around 5, welcomed warmly by name, but we when we returned an hour later, there was no one at the front desk. There was no phone in the room and we had to activate cell roaming. We found someone in the kitchen to get a cab for our dinner reservation. Second, food service is relatively limited, with just breakfast and option for dinner on site (you have to order before 5 and we thought that the setting was pretty unappealing) and nothing really in walking distance. Third, it was good that we brought shampoo, shower gel, etc. because all we saw provided was small soap (dare I say it was the kind you find in a motel?) and the linens could use an update. But as we said, it is a lovely clean beach spot with a lovely staff. As long as you know to arrange for a car, phone, toiletries and food before you go.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
Very serene here! We stayed one night before a sail trip and it was perfect. We loved it and will be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

a pleasant place

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: our balcony was lovely !
Location: There is nothing to do in that part of the island !
nice relaxing place ! in the middle of nowhere so get ready for the very expensive taxis of Tortola !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Family Loved our Villa.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: My family loved the spacious villa and kept telling me what a wonderful job I did in choosing Fort Recovery. The rooms and bathrooms were big. The l
Cons: The pool looked a bit old and was a bit small but with that said it was clean and there was a pool.
We had a wonderful week long cruise around the British Virgin Islands on a yacht we chartered. I thought that was the best part of our trip but it only got better when we got to Fort Recovery Villa & Suites Hotel.