Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NH

Nice quiet hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of staff, clean, quiet
Cons: TVs, need to have blowdryers
Location: It's on the far west end of Tortola, so it is quiet a distance to Road Town. Pusser's Landing is close by though with lots of shops.
We only stayed for one night because we just took a day trip from our stay in St. John. Very friendly and accommodating staff. The manager called us a Safari truck to give us a tour of the island. Bouncer, our driver, was great! We spent 9 hours on and off the truck and whenever we called him, he was there. He made our visit. It's a nice place if you want to go and stay there for a few days or a week. Not really a lot in town except for souvenir shops. It's quite a distance so you need to hire a cab every time you go out.
3 out of 5
by Emil

know before you go

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is a very nice place to stay if you want a clean, comfortable two room spot with a full kitchen. However, there are a few things to keep in mind. First, the staff is very nice but not available all the time. We checked in around 5, welcomed warmly by name, but we when we returned an hour later, there was no one at the front desk. There was no phone in the room and we had to activate cell roaming. We found someone in the kitchen to get a cab for our dinner reservation. Second, food service is relatively limited, with just breakfast and option for dinner on site (you have to order before 5 and we thought that the setting was pretty unappealing) and nothing really in walking distance. Third, it was good that we brought shampoo, shower gel, etc. because all we saw provided was small soap (dare I say it was the kind you find in a motel?) and the linens could use an update. But as we said, it is a lovely clean beach spot with a lovely staff. As long as you know to arrange for a car, phone, toiletries and food before you go.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
Very serene here! We stayed one night before a sail trip and it was perfect. We loved it and will be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

a pleasant place

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: our balcony was lovely !
Location: There is nothing to do in that part of the island !
nice relaxing place ! in the middle of nowhere so get ready for the very expensive taxis of Tortola !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Family Loved our Villa.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: My family loved the spacious villa and kept telling me what a wonderful job I did in choosing Fort Recovery. The rooms and bathrooms were big. The l
Cons: The pool looked a bit old and was a bit small but with that said it was clean and there was a pool.
We had a wonderful week long cruise around the British Virgin Islands on a yacht we chartered. I thought that was the best part of our trip but it only got better when we got to Fort Recovery Villa & Suites Hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel, lacks neighborhood and amenities

Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
Room was very spacious and very clean, but décor could use some updating. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. Overall however, we had expected a more amenities for the cost however...nicer toiletries, a bit less outdated, and above all: a restaurant that serves meals throughout the day instead of just dinner. Also, the seclusion of the hotel is nice in many regards, but it is inconvenient to have to take a taxi to any restaurants, shops, and activities...there is literally nothing around the hotel.
3 out of 5
by ANTONIO from CARIBBEAN

Overvalued

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
Nice room, but for what it is, it is overvalued.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2015
One night stay after a boat charter. Nice location on beach, friendly staff. $15 cab ride to Soper's Hole for restaurants.
4 out of 5
by Susan from Portsmouth

Relaxing

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Great place to relax. Our room had an amazing view! No real restaurant or bar to speak of so plan on taking taxis to go out for food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire, USA

Relaxing stay at Fort Recovery Villa

Posted Jan 30, 2015
The minute I walked into our suite, I felt at home. The rooms felt more like a home than a hotel and were very clean and comfortable. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We had wonderful meals at the Sugar Mill Restaurant and Bananakeet Cafe. Smugglers Cove is a wonderful place to sun and snorkel. It's off the beaten path and doesn't have any amenities, but is a quiet and has a with a beautiful beach.