Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Strange set up

Posted Jul 31, 2017
The George is an unusual set up because it's rooms attached to a pub.The rooms have all had a very recent revamp because you could still smell the paint ,apart from the entrance way which still needed to be done. The pub itself needed a very major overhaul and was not a good advert for the rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aylesbury, bucks

welcoming hotel central to all facilities

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: as above
Cons: don't know
Location: good location
lovely old building, situated conveniently in pleasant but busy crewkerne. we arrived by rail, so location a plus lovely food, rooms very good. staff helpful and efficient builders currently updating all the rooms, but didn't affect us at all in terms of noise. only downside was lack of hot water on first evening,due to the building works.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Lol

Posted Feb 27, 2017
We booked 2 premium rooms but they must have a different definition of the word to me as having a 4poster bed in it doesn't quiet do it if the room doesn't get cleaned or the beds don't get made ther was no toilet paper in the bathroom. So overall experience was not good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia, Canada

Hotel under new ownership and working out problems

Posted Feb 3, 2017
This hotel is under brand new ownership so please keep in mind they are working to improve. Firstly, we booked this hotel because of the very cheap rate of $67/night Canadian. The first room we had wasn't even worth half of that because the heat was unbearable and the TV didn't work and no wifi. After several calls they decided to move us to the George suite. This room was lovely and had a nice jacuzzi tub, great TV, etc. We were very happy with this room, however, would not have paid the price of 160 pounds per night. Breakfast was included and it was great....both hot and cold full breakfast was available. The staff were very nice and helpful. This is not an accessible hotel. Many, many steps up and down all over the hotel. Taxi service in this area is limited, so make sure you book in advance. There is a wonderful Indian restaurant right across the street which I highly recommend which is called Bengal Raj. There is a pub on the main level and the food is very good. There is a supermarket called Lidl for all of your needs very close by. Many quaint little shops around this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
OK for the money
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
value for money because of where it is and the time of year. Good staff and good food the hotel needs a spruce up but again it is value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

A Traditional Inn

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The George is over 400 years old, although the present building only dates from 1832. Considering its age it is still a handsome building and has been remarkably well looked after. The courtyard is an ideal spot for sitting with an afternoon beer watching the world go by whilst the former stables have been converted into little shops and a café. I was pleasantly surprised by my spacious, immaculately clean, twin room which came at a very reasonable single occupancy rate. Check-in was swift and friendly and throughout my stay I found the staff cheery and the public bar convivial with excellent beer. Breakfast was a simple affair, but nothing wrong with that - I didn't expect a 5-star champagne buffet. About the only minor fault is that there's no in-room Wi-Fi, but if you're in a suitable room you can pick up the free Wi-Fi from the nearby Costa Coffee during the day and I do believe you can use the hotel's connection in the bar if you ask for the code. The town centre location is ideal for the other hostelries, shops etc. and the local bus stop is just outside the archway if you want to get out and about.
4 out of 5
by Mark from Newark

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
En route from Bristol to Dorchester
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Welcoming hotel in lovely country town setting.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Friendly staff, lovely room good breakfast included. Fantastic value for the price.