Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

So very in helpful

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Booked for a romantic break and Spa , neglect to say spa closed down , service and general attitude shocking
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Historic connections

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: It's age and atmosphere
Cons: Only when renovations are complete
Location: Beauty spot.
Hotel going through extensive expansion and refit. Had unsettling influence on stay , although was advised of inconvenience.They tried their best , but it did diminish the impression of the hotel
2 out of 5
by Ian

Oh dear..... what's happened to this great hotel?

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Massive building works ongoing, stunning breakfast room closed, scaffolders woke me up outside my window at 8am, no hot water which is odd as hotel half empty. Used to be a fabulous hotel, now just an overpriced travelinn. Very very disappointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Restoration for an old favourite

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is currently undergoing restoration and Catherine very kindly went into great detail enabling us to make a decision in advance.. Catherine made us very welcome and I sincerely hope that the hotel will soon be restored to its former glory!
4 out of 5
by Hua

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel building is very historical, and full of characters. The hotel is under refurbishing, but all the facilities hasn't been effected. Room we stayed also been refurbished, had new modern bathrooms fitted, shower is powerful. Staff are very friendly and helpful!! The restaurant is quite pricey for what it is. Overall it's good experience.
5 out of 5
by Gareth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central Location very historic comfortable .

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The Hotel is well located Spa & Swimming pool are good nice Gardens to relax .Situated in Town Centre close to Shops & Restaurants The service is good staff very at tentative to all requests enjoyable stay .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chipping norton

Beautiful old Cotswold hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Great location and hotel, only thing wrong was part of the hotel was in the middle of a refurbish and the room we had was lovely but needed a refresh.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Traditional hotel in lovely Cotswold village.

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Everything
Cons: Personally, I thought the evening menu could be improved and the portions were quite small. I also did not enjoy their choice of coffee bean.
Location: Lots to do nearby. The high street has lots of choice of shops and eateries. Very quaint traditional village. Lots of places to visit nearby.
Old hotel but has modern facilities for its guests. Great atmosphere, lovely log fires. I was surprised that dogs were allowed but any I saw were very well behaved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wolverhampton

Well positioned. Central location

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Had a wonderful stay. Very cosy hotel and full of history. Loved all the open fires. Well positioned for walks. Food delicious and well presented. Staff very frienly and accomodating. Loved it.