Ratings based on 3,284 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Not a nice place

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Good location, near Grand Central. Room was tiny and dingy.
Cons: Rate this hotel properly as a 2.5 star hotel.
This is NOT a 4 star hotel. This is a 2.5 star hotel at best. The room looked NOTHING like the photos on Expedia. Expedia even shows a nice gym. There is NO gym at all in the hotel. They instructed me to do a one day trial at a gym several blocks away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

Great location

Posted Oct 17, 2017
We were a family of five, and the room was a little bit small for us. The hotel staff was very very kind and helpful, the location is excellent, close to Times Square
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel :)

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Hotel room was great just the bed was old & noisy when you’ll lay down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

In the heart of the city

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Location was great! Staff were friendly
Great location, tidy and clean. This place has what you need for a stay in NYC - it's close to timesquare and plenty of public transport. The facilities are clean, comfortable and the staff a friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good enough, but...

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The bathroom
Cons: The floors could be cleaner
Location: There is EVERYTHING to do nearby--it's and excellent location.
We stayed in this hotel mostly because we couldn't afford the exorbitant prices of most NYC hotels. So we didn't expect too much, and overall it met expectations. The bathroom was nice and the bed was fine. Even the "upgrade" room was small, though, and the hotel is kind of run-down; they could at least run a vacuum in the elevators. We did have a disturbing experience at the end of our stay: we asked the desk clerk how much a taxi to Newark Airport would cost. He said he should order the taxi for us, and that it would cost about $110. I was pretty shocked. Fortunately we then asked our friend, who lives in NYC, what was the cheapest way to get to Newark Airport. She said a taxi should cost about $60-$65, and that the desk clerk was probably getting a kick-back from some taxi driver friend. We're still upset about how this guy tried to rip us off!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

great location

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Location: fifth avenue / time square / central park ... its the best location for tourists who enjoy walking
great hotel... walking distance to everywhere,,, literally in the middle of Manhattan... very nice staff.. very clean room .. the negatives: no coffee machine .. no drinking water.. (unless you buy the hotels fiji water at 8$) .. other than that.. i would book there again anytime...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
i think, the bathroom should have a door. Hotel staffs are excellent. The room was always clean. Location is perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santo domingo

Hotel location is perfect!

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Perfect location, friendly staff, nice room and amenities!. Its an old hotel but the room and service were very good. one major problem is that the smell from the next door dinner is overwhelming inside the room during the mornings ... so ask for a room on high floor!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, On Canada

Loved it!

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Loved the location. Was in a great spot. Staff is super friendly and helpful and housekeeping was fantastic.
Cons: The beds. Double beds that are not the greatest. Felt like I would roll out of bed.
Location: it is a great location to stay. close to time square and Bryant park. Subways are right there too.
we were there from September 16 - 20th. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Couldn't ask for nicer people. The beds were not the greatest, felt like I would roll out of bed but the room was super clean. Loved our stay there and would recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale

A few days in the city to see some shows

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Close to Times Square. The front desk staff is very nice and helpful!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shows shows shows!
Perfect for what we needed. We like being close to Times Square. We saw several shows and took the excellent subway system to historic sites. Must walk the Lower East side and Brooklyn Bridge.