Ratings based on 5,051 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Anniversary Trip

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: the appearance
Cons: nothing...perfect
Location: times square, and the theater district. Near the Central Park Zoo too.
Fantastic check in and free upgrade. Wonderful staff and hotel. Great location close to everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
It was a beautiful hotel in the heart of the city at an affordable rate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st. louis

disappointing

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The a/c in our room didn't work. They tried to fix it three times, assuring us it was fixed. It wasn't. They tried to move us to another room and the a/c in that room didn't work any better. The manager I spoke to while trying to be nice, just didn't seem to understand the problem. The engineer promised it was fixed and then realized it wasn't. To make matters worse, the drain in our sink didn't drain. I could go on but it just was a very disappointing experience. The hotel said they would give us a credit on our bill but because we booked it with expedia, it was prepaid and they could not do anything. That's a reason not to use expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NYC

Anniversary Trip to New York!

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Location, décor, friendliness of the staff, beautiful bed linen and the most comfortable mattress I have slept in for many, many years!
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities available in the bedroom please.
Location: Just off 5th Avenue, Rockefeller Centre, a short walk to Grand Central Station, Times Square and Broadway plus Central Park for the more energetic.
This was our first trip to the Big Apple and we found that the hotel was just perfect for our wants and needs. The staff did everything and more to make our stay special. The hotel was decorated to a very high standard and the location just off 5th Avenue and a few blocks walk to Times Square couldn't have been better. We walked to Central Park, yes a little long but we were able to take in the sights on the way and was rewarded by Saturday morning brunch in the Tavern on the Green, yummy. We were very fortunate and were upgraded to a room on the 23rd floor; complete with bathrobes and a host of Sunday morning newspapers. Would we stay at the Renaissance again? You bet your life we would! If there was one small gripe, it would be that there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room itself - however complimentary tea/coffee was available on the terrace each morning, we however chose to go out for coffee as a starter before our sightseeing during the day, we did however use the hotel bar for our nightcap most evenings. Thank you Renaissance for making us feel so very welcome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

wonderful clean hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Great location, very clean, wonderful staff. Room size was also great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NY Hotels

Posted Sep 11, 2017
It was a decent stay with nothing memorable, the elevators were not functioning properly and the hotel staff (except the bellmen) were quite rude
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent City Centre Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Excellent Location
Good Hotel in the centre off the Manhattan Island with Times Square being the local Metro Station. Food and drink in the local area is expensive but that is not suppressing given the location but plenty of choice. Bryant Park is 5 mins walk and a nice place to sit and people watch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartlepool, England

Exceptional staff

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Can't fault this hotel the staff are fantastic nothing is to much trouble and they are so efficient and friendly👍 Thankyou
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Nice hotel , close to everything.

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Very nice hotel , clean, nice staff, close to everything!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa city

Classy hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2017
We now always stay at the Sofitel when we're in NY. Warm greeting by the fellow who opens the door for you, luxurious lobby, helpful knowledgeable staff at the front desk, beautiful spacious room with beautiful spacious bathroom featuring a terrific shower, friendly and helpful housekeeping staff. The Sofitel is very conveniently located: during our 5 night stay, we were able to dine exclusively at top-rated restaurants within easy walking distance.