Ratings based on 1,358 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gem in Manhattan

Posted Feb 17, 2018
I recently stay at The Refunery Hotel with my partner for a weekend getaway. To say I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel is an understatement. It is beautiful! It has a lovely modern/rustic/industrial feel. Immediately, as you walk in there is a beautiful fragrance to accompany the warmth of the lobby and staff. I was upgraded to a larger room, which had an amazing view. The room was spacious and bad amazing. The lighting in the room is automated which can be set to various moods (nice touch). The bathroom had a shower only (wish it had a tub), but it was large and spacious. Once we left our room after dropping our bags we received a turndown service, which was a great surprise upon returning. I was initially due to receive a bottle of wine which the hotel replaced with baked good from Magnolia Bakery and Maccarrons (do not recall supplier) and a Refubery Hotel (same fragrance from the lobby). All were nice touches. The rooftop bar is nothing short of amazing. The atmosphere was great, which accompanied a diverse menu and cocktails list. We also tried Parker Quinn for breakfast room service. Food came quickly and was satisfactory. We wanted pancakes; however they do not do certain menu online menu items for room service, which I think should be revisited. Coming in and out of the hotel there was always a doorman to great and open the door. Front desk staff knew patrons name, making the hotel feel at home. I will definitely visit again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location, fantastic service, and all smiles

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Happy staff, close to Times Square (without being stuck in all the chaos), lots of food options nearby, and very reasonable rates for in-room dining and minibar. You won’t regret this choice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, England

Great location

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Hotel is great. All staff were very polite and helpful. Location is ideal for the attractions of midtown Manhattan. Would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa

Awesome hotel experience in every way!

Posted Feb 5, 2018
I have stayed at this hotel multiple times for one main reason. The hotel and staff consistently know how to provide a superior experience for the guests. The location is convenient, and everything the hotel is top notch. There are many choices in NYC, but after choosing this hotel experience you will never go anywhere else!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2018
Staff was excellent, rooms are very modern, bathrooms are beautiful, rooftop bar with nightlife was fun. I would highly recommend if you are staying in New York City.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Returning Guest - Went from Great to good.

Posted Jan 30, 2018
Pros: Location, decor and rooftop bar.
Cons: Internet
This was our 4th stay and I found a few things have gone downhill since our previous trips. - The internet was so poor on both my laptop and phone that we resorted to tethering from our phones to get work done. We brought this up with the concierge which said it had been fixed but not much changed. - We stayed in room 905 (second time) which I thought was a nice little surprise but the bathroom door wouldn't close. When we mentioned this during checkout we simply got a "we will look into it". In general, the staff is very good and accommodating and if it weren't for those 2 things I would have given it an extra star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset UK

Nice Hotel good location great roof top bar

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Pros: location, roof top bar with view of the top of the Empire State building
Cons: reception too noisy in the evening with music from downstairs bar
Location: Empire state building, Times Square, Radio City Music Hall Rockettes Christmas show
New Year stay nice hotel, great view from the roof top bar, good location for the New York sites we wanted to see easy to walk, helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Had a wonderful time! Great Staff, food, and music

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Rooms are very clean and spacious.
Cons: Although there are 3 elevators, just a little too slow. But really not the worst thing.
Location: Very close to Bryant Park. Lots to see and do there. Shopping nearby and plenty of fun for all.
Had a wonderful time celebrating a birthday! The staff could not have been more accommodating! The rooms were very clean and spacious. The food and entertainment were great! I would stay here every time I stay in the city!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt. Sinai, NY

Wonderful, cool hotel with a great location

Posted Jan 16, 2018
We loved the design of this hotel - industrial, modern, stylish, comfortable. It is our favorite place that we've ever stayed at in the city. The rooftop bar is a great place to hang out, the attached restaurant next door has excellent food. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are quite spacious for NYC, and we loved the vaulted ceilings and tall windows. They were also very welcoming of our dog and gave him a soft bed and food and drink bowls.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Cleanliness not at its greatest

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Staff was absolutely great, wonderful jazz band at bar, great decoration. Room floor dusty, women’s restroom next to reception was disgusting dirty. Guests were forbidden to use two elevators used for rooftop party. Unfriendly and unfair treatment. Main door entrance should be improved. Reception was cold.