Ratings based on 15,965 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from harvard ma

Refuge from the snowy festivities

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Location, helpful lobby staff, all people.
Cons: Wireless
Perfect location. Helpful getting taxis and with bags, great service all around. We expected older place based on some reviews, our room was quiet and large. Comfortable beds and pillows. We were happy😣
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Location: close to park and 5th ave
helpful staff, lobby a little soiled. Old hotel but well taken care of. internent is outside service, i had trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great location

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Free Wifi
Location: See above
If you love Central Park this is the place for you. Great staff - walking distance to most everything- subway is two blocks away . Only negative aspect I've ever found after staying many times at this hotel is that they don't have free Wifi. I would still highly recommend this hotel - it's been my go-to hotel in NY for years ----
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Decent hotel with great location

Posted Dec 10, 2017
You can't get a much better location. Quick walk to Central Park, close by Broadway shows, easy walk to Times Square and 5th Ave. Subway super close. We got the suite which was very large and accommodating for 4 people. Much larger than any previous stay in the city. Everything was very dated, especially the bathroom. It was decent enough for us and excellent for location, if your looking for a typical nice hotel stay I would look elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Getaway in NY

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Close to anywhere you want to go. Time Square and Rockefeller Center just a short walk. Subway 1 block away. Staff friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Serres Greece

nice traditional in right place hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: the right place
Cons: breakfast
Location: a lot of
if it had breakfast, it would be valuable. in any case the hotel was nearby to most interest places in New York and we applause this proximity to visit Times square, Rockfeler center, central park , olombus circle ant all cultural places around there
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very ordinary

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Good location. Hotel not special in any way. Bathroom in a suite was tiny and from my grandparents era w/ a Home Depot vanity! Room clean. Would never recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large rooms!

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Cons: Wi-Fi!!
This is an excellent location but it is central, meaning any cab ride will take a while. Having stayed in NYC many times, this is indeed the largest room by far, two closets and a hallway! The kitchen area was a surprise, fridge, microwave, no mini bar, but no lock on fridge, coffee maker,.... better than some NYC apartments! My one issue is the wi-fi. In this day and age, we should not be charged for wi-fi. The phone reception is poor in the rooms and the wi-fi is directed through a third party that charges $14 a day or more! Come on, $400 for a roo and we have to PAY for wi-fi? Not Good. that alone will discourage e fro staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barbados

Great Location!!

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Great location to center and good staff. close to the market and also shopping. Restaurants nearby, the subway also which we used and a fedex ship center just across the road
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

No Charm. Tolerated, Not Embraced.

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Location, clean, cost.
Cons: Details, charm. No real ambiance of note. Staying here actually made me realize how important the "irrational" attributes of hotel selection.
Location: Typical NYC shopping, food, etc.
How you rate this hotel is probably a relative function of your standard. I had to redirect here because of a snag with a Marriott reservation. Expedia recommended. The Good: Location. Clean. Cost. These are the big "rational" three. The location on W 57th was in the mix of NYC with lots of options for food and NYC walking attractions. Beds and bathroom clean. And, the cost kept me at $350ish for the one night on a business trip (Marriott increased to $650 by the time I needed to make a last-minute change). Check-in and staff, perfunctory, neither pleasant not bothered. Lobby, small, no charm. Elevator worn. Walk onto 11th Floor, and my room number was missing from the wall placard, so I had to walk up and down to search. Big room, a suite with door separating beds/bath from "living area" with couch and coffee table and side chairs. The living space is so big as to be suitable for a small gathering of 6 adults comfortably. Therefore, if you've got children, and if you're on a tight budget for NYC, this suite arrangement might be perfect. The "desk" was a coffee table, not suitable for long-time working. The chair was so funky that I pulled it away and moved in a non-rolling large side-chair. Since I was only there one night, it was acceptable, but not comfortable. I would trade all that living space for a nice desk. Bathroom clean with ceiling markings. Bed comfort, pillows barely. Overall, acceptable, but could be great for family on a budget.