Ratings based on 15,676 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg VA

A great location for getting to almost everything

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Location, room, price.
Location: See above.
I chose the Salisbury because I wa sfamiliar with it and needed a great location.(its on 57th between 6th and 7th) The hotel is pefect for those who have a relatively short itme in NYC. A few blocks to 5th avenu, Central Park,or even Lincoln Center, and subway stops pretty close. It is very clean, I had a very large room with nice bathroom. Staff was very helpful. Price is fair for that area. Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Good value hotel greatlocation

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Great location Reasonable price
Cons: Renovate bathrooms . Make wifi free
We had a huge double room . Beds clean and comfortable 3 big closets for storing stuff.Bathroom needed work. Door handle loose
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London. England

A very nice, well situated hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Good situation, comfortable rooms, pleasant staff. Quiet.
Cons: Cant think of anything.
Location: See abive.
We spent two nights at the Salisbury which is an old favourite. we were lucky to be upgraded to a very spacious suite with an enormous double bed, a large well furnished sitting room and cooking facilities. The Salisbury is well situated in East 57 Street, near to Carnegie Hall, MOMA and our favourite New York breakfast restaurant ( a block away). Would happily stay again, even without the upgrade!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

My favorite hotel in New York

Posted Oct 17, 2017
The hotel is not part of chain it’s just a great place to stay. It’s a good location, close to Central Park and 5th Avenue and of course Columbus Circle.The subway is less than 100 yards away. The staff are pleasant, efficient and obliging. The room we were originally given only had shower and my wife was keen for a bath so we asked and without any hesitation they moved us to another room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Best deal in Manhatten.

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: It was all we needed, and more. It's a charming older building, and maintains some vintage architectural features.
Cons: I could not imagine asking for anything more.
Location: Near to Central Park; walk a few blocks to hop-on-hop-off tour bus routes. You're right in Manhatten.
What we got was not a room, it was not a suite, it was an APARTMENT. Maybe not the most modern furniture , but comfortable in every way. We only stayed one night and didn't even use the living room and kitchen, but for a longer stay it would have been glorious. There is a nice Italian restaurant with a bar right next door, not fancy but very good, and next to that is a little convenience store that also has tables and prepared food, very economical. There's a steakhouse across the street if you want to get fancy and pricy (we didn't). I'm sure there were endless choices if you walk down the block; we didn't have time to explore.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Not free wifi

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Staff is very nice, great location but there is not free wifi, as a person from out of the country when I look for a hotel I look for internet access which i read in the website they had it, what they didnt say is that they are going to charge you extra per day, i felt like they fool me about it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby England

Excellent hotel close to the centre of things

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Its location
Cons: Nothing really everything was very good
Location: Walking distance from central park and the broadway shows. It's also very close to the subway for access to the rest of New York.
The hotel is easy to find, by a subway and is very reasonably priced. It is close to the amenities - central park, broadway etc and the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Staff was very nice. Room was clean. Beds were very uncomfortable though so that was disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Good value and great location!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location and Value for your money.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central Park, Columbus Circle, Carnegie Hall, Subway just a block away!
The hotel's staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a great location, just a few blocks from Central Park and across the street from Carnegie Hall. The room size is wonderful (we had a suite). The value for a New York City Hotel in this great location is wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Great location. Room was huge. Would definetely stay here again!