Ratings based on 2,843 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york city

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Staff was great and informative. Room was comfortable. Our TV was not working when we got there, and it did take a while to get it fixed, but fortunately it finally did. One issue we had was that the shower drain was clogged, so we were standing in water while showering.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location, disappointing facilities.

Posted Jan 13, 2018
The location was fantastic with a 2 minute walk to the centre of Times Square and tube stations just two streets down. The facilities were terrible, the room was small, the heating was broken, the shower was intermittent and the cleanliness was disappointing. The photographer for the sight was very talented at photoshop as the rooms did not resemble the photos.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston ma

Rooms are too tight very hot a lot of noise

Posted Jan 12, 2018
I will never go back to this hotel again. Very bad experience,I will never recommend anyone to go even if it's free to stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland, or

Dirty, bugs n uncomfortable

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Just don't. Bathroom was dirty, shower walls had not bee cleaned, nor around floor of toilet. Stains on room walls I could wipe off with warm damp wash cloth. Bugs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location great. Everything else was not so

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Most of the staff were rude or lacked people skills. I had to change my room twice because the heat in the rooms were broken and it was like a boiler room in them. The A/C / heaters look super old and rusty. Who know what we were breathing. Also, the walls are paper thin.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NYC business trip

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: location and staff collegiality.
Cons: The hotel needs to install storm windows or new windows to make the room useable for sleeping.
Location: Everything is nearby, restaurants, theater, subway, bus, etc.
Lovely remodeled room and personable staff. Unfortunately the old windows allow for a very disruptive overnight sleep. Even on the 8th floor I was awakened at least 6-7 time each night with sirens, honking horns etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good location in Times Square but not fantastic

Posted Jan 8, 2018
We had to move rooms because the air conditioning was broken and was very hot and the engineer could t fix it. The second room was smaller and half way through our trip the air conditioning just constantly gave out cold air in the middle of December even when it said it was off. The room wasn’t cleaned completely as there was still fluff on the floor and the bed was made each day but the sheets weren’t cleaned for a few days. For the size of the hotel the lifts are far too small and you end up waiting for ages with all your luggage to get an empty lift so you can actually fit in. We had to wait a while every time we went to front desk about the room as the phone in the room didn’t work and then we had to wait longer for the engineer. The customer service was disappointing as we did t feel they were that helpful or friendly. I have also got home to find an extra charge on my credit card so I am still waiting for Expedia to rectify this as I didn’t have anything extra to the room and paid all the tourist tax at the hotel. Overall I would say the experience was ok but disappointing as expected better customer service and facilities but the location is good as you are in the heart of Times Square but I wouldn’t stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great: Price, Location, Staff. Ok Hotel, its NYC!

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Location. Price. Staff. Felt safe
Cons: Few room fixes (shower had fruit-fly like bugs, so maybe seal off cracks and pipes), bathroom door didn't close, pipes were super loud (2nd flr)
Location: Heart of times square. You're minutes to shopping, 5th ave, central park, Rockefeller center etc. Subway, food, all at your doorstep.
Hotel price, location and staff were all fantastic. Condition of the hotel.. well it's a really old building with some new wallpaper. But you're right in the heart of NYC and won't be spending much time in the room so who cares! If you're someone who is picky about their hotel room, maybe stay elsewhere. But if you're looking for a safe place (not a hostel) at a really cheap price, in the midst of the hustle and bustle, this is the place to be. Positives: Price. Location. Staff. Safe.Better than a hostel. (went for new years eve, even check in was super speedy!) Things to consider: It's an old building. Few fruit-fly like buggies in the shower (not the bed), bathroom door didn't close, old radiator heater system.. but it worked, pipes were loud (but you're also downtown NYC with sirens so really can't complain about pipes). Overall, decent place if you're budget conscious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location and nice staff

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Location and the hotel staff!
Cons: Maybe add a microwave in the rooms.
Overall a great stay. Check -in was easy and fast, the hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed is comfortable. The room is a little bit small, especially if you have two bis suitcases. But it's still big enough. It's has everything you need for a nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Primbee NSW

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Location, friendly helpful staff.
Location: This hotel is in an awesome location. It is steps away from Time Square and many other attractions are an easy walk.
This was our first time to New York and as we are a family of 4 with older children we required a room that had a comfortable amount of space for us. The Gallivant Hotel is definitely the place to stay, we booked the Family Suite and it had ample room for us and was a great price, great room! The hotel is near all the attractions so we walked to pretty much all of them quite easily. There were plenty of restaurants, shops etc close by. Our room was serviced daily which was great. The hotel staff from the front counter to the cleaners were all very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay at The Gallivant Hotel again.