Ratings based on 2,028 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Terrific location great restaurants on the same block easy to walk everywhere. The hotel is old but the lobby looks nice rooms are worn Upholstry dirty but the beds are nice clean and comfy. Baths are tiny functional but that's it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Leo church, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our location is great for seeing so much of NYC. We are within walking distance to so many of our most famous sites like Time Square and Broadway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from belwood ontario

History is evident and pleasant ambience results.

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: The history of the hotel is retained. The staff was helpful, friendly and nice.
Cons: Our room was small and lacked a bathtub and the window seat needed a facelift.
Location: Location wonderful.. walking distance to 5th Avenue shopping and more.
I appreciated that the hotel had retained a lot if it's original appearance.. from the "library" with its' pencil portraits of celebrities, and wonderful classic books, the narrow hallways and pretty old stairwells and the bar with its' sweet and relaxing music and comforting decor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Leo church , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We have worked to maintain the style and atmosphere of our historic and architectural landmark hotel. Our location is great for seeing so much of our wonderful city. We hope that on your next trip to the city you will choose to stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

GREAT FRIENDLY STAFF EXCELLENT LOCATION

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: Staff. Location. Intimate room size
Cons: Climate control
Location: Anything!
Had an easy, fun check in, staff is top notch. Place is a bit old, but I like that. Climate control in the room is a little challenging, but thats not an issue to me. Very convenient location. Overall, would stay here any time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Leo Church, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. The staff works to provide an nice hotel and good customer service. Our location is wonderful for seeing so many of NYC's most famous sites, most within walking distance. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to NYC>
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Good location but old structure, small rooms not very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Leo Church, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our hotel is historical and architectural landmark in NYC. The staff works diligently to keep the property clean and provide good customer service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Well situated but room small with some problems

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Very helpful staff and nice people. But room facilities not good. No stopper in Bath or basin and we had to ask for them. Bedside light switch did not work even after I asked for it to be mended. Room far too hot in the mild weather. Air con too noisy to leave on. No bedside table on my side.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Leo Church, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do apologize for the issues that you experienced while staying with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Hotel with panache

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Cons: Replenish toilitries daily ! Ironing board and coffee maker would be nice.
Location: Midtown manhattan - walkable to central park, ffith ave, grand central station, rockefeller plaza, radio city music hall. Fairly close to empire state
The hotel is 100 yrs old, so the architecture is classic. Beautiful hotel, great location ,v close to Grand Central station, fifth ave, rockefeller plaz, nbc studios, radio city music hall and time square. Easy access to subways. Be aware there are no extra amenties: no coffee / tea maker, iron with board. Only hair dryer provided. Rooms are comfortable. Bar is present on main floor, The reading room adds a touch of class. Gym present as well. No complaints - you won't go wrong here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Good Morning and thank you for your review. We do have irons/boards & we send them to the room upon request. Coffee/Tea is available in the Mbar from 7am to 11am as well. We hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastern Connecticut

Hotel is close to everything you may need.

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Old style decoration. Nice library and restaurant.
Cons: Complete ongoing renovation.
Location: Close to everything you may need during a short stay in Manhattan. Walking distance to Grand Central station, Time Square. Madison and Fifth avenues.
Our third times, noted improvement in size of room. Also brighter lobby and stairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Leo Church, Hotel Management
Than k you for your review. The hotel is a historical and architectural landmark in NYC. Our location is great, within walking distance to so many of the cities famous sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Location and Staff

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Location and Staff
Cons: Prices at the bar
Location: Extremely close to everything!
This hotel is perfectly situated just behind Times Square and in walking distance to everything you need. Rooms are clean and the staff are an absolute joy. Drinks in the bar though are very expensive as is the food, but they do have a happy hour some nights to ease the blow. All in all though a great stay and would highly recommend the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Leo Church, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. The staff works to provide a nice hotel and great customer service. Our location is wonderful for seeing so many sites in NYC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Close to everything

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was small but cozy. Shower was the only issue, it would flood every time you showered, I addressed the staff and they said it will be taken care, it was not addressed while we were there. Room service was very disappointing and expensive. Received flat coke and seltzer water. Food that was ordered (truffle fries 1 coke 1 seltzer water) was not worth the $35. We only ordered in b/c of server rain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Leo Church, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our location is great for seeing so many of NYC's most famous attractions. I am sorry that you experienced an issue while staying and that we didn't get it addressed properly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, good location

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Good location, nice and friendly staffs.
Cons: Room needs more lights, too dark.
Location: Closed to everything , no complaints about location
We spent 2 nights in this hotel. Location is excellent, walking distance to everything nearby. Staffs are nice and friendly. Rooom is too smalll and dark but acceptable for temporary stay for few days at this location. If more lights in the room, staying probably be better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Leo Church, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We work to provide a nice clean hotel and wonderful customer service. We have started adding more lights and changing the type of light bulbs with us to lighten up the rooms. This process will take time.