Ratings based on 2,103 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okayest NY hotel.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Fairly close to Times Square. Room - I got the standard room. Mine didn't have a view, which is fine, but there were only two light sources in the room so it was always rather dark. The hotel was straight up dirty like the floors and doors were dusty and gross. the standard room is tiny - the queen size bed took up the entire room. Wouldn't recommend if you're here on vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Leo Church Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologize that you found issue with the hotel. The staff works hard to provide a nice clean hotel with great customer service. Our location is wonderful for seeing so many of the city's sites like Time Square, Grand Central Station, Bryant Park, The Public Library and 5th Ave. We do hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Close to Bryant Park.

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Location: walking distance to de 5th Avenue, Rockefeller Center. Bryant Park,
The location is great. NYC Hotel Rooms are always so small, this one was bigger than I expected. The staff is always willing to help you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Leo Church - Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our location is wonderful, within walking distance to Time Square, Bryant Park, NY Public Library, Grand Central Station, Broadway shows and so much more. The staff works to provide a nice clean hotel and wonderful customer service. We hope that on your next visit to NYC you will choose to stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Elegant gem

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Very unique classic and elegant boutique hotel. Beaux-arts style, tastefully appointed with lots of original detail and yesteryear luxury.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Leo Church - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Yes, we are very unique. The hotel was built in 1903 as a single gentleman's hotel and apartments. This was the grand age of hotels within NYC. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return on your next trip to NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deer Park, NY

a night out

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: the location, staff and overall establishment
Cons: take the scaffolding off the front of the building. you're hiding its glory
Location: the location is great. EVERYTHING is nearby the typical sightseeing spots and trains/subways are steps away
I was taking my husband out in NYC and didn't want to make the late night trip back home so I booked a room here and it was perfect for what we needed. The room was very small but again, we only needed a place to crash. The room was clean and it was nice and quiet. We had drinks in the bar and the bartender was very friendly and so were the other guests who were staying at the hotel. I didn't eat the breakfast that was included due to I woke up late but the stuff that was there looked and smelled delightful that I was sorry I missed out. All in all, I enjoyed my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Leonard Church Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our location is great and we are convenient to so much of NYC. What a great history we have, having been built in 1903 as a gentleman's hotel and apartments. So much of the charm and real world history within our walls. We look forward to your return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The rooms are small and dingy there's no View. There is little or no amenities in the room the rooms are tiny the beds are okay bathroom is okay nothing special in general
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Leo Church Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
We thank you for your review, they help us to make the hotel better over time. When booking all room sizes are listed and it is noted if the room has a view. Every guest should read this information carefully so they understand what they are reserving.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Small room, good location

Posted Aug 20, 2017
The room was very small and run- down, a closet without shelves and an old noisy airconditioner but the hotel was very central. A fee minutes from some Subway stations and buses. Walking distance to Times Square
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Leo Church - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
The Mansfield was built in 1903 as a single gentleman's hotel. During the last renovation the hotel went with a yacht style room. So the rooms are laid out in a yacht style fashion, everything has its place. We thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Our stay at the Mansfield Hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Its a lovely small hotel which has an Informal atmosphere.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Centrally located, this hotel is ideal in getting around the City and is in easy walking distance to most of the sites.
The staff were very friendly and approachable. The hotel was clean and centrally located which enabled us to visit various parts of NYC with ease.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Leo Church Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. Our location is wonderful for seeing so much of NYC. We work hard to provide a nice clean product and wonderful service. We look forward to seeing you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed anymore

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Room was really hot and Air conditioning didn't really worked. I would have to pay for a continental breakfast because I didn't book through them which was $10 for Continental Breakfast?!? Also got they got rid of their free Cappuccino and Coffee Maker. Not going back there
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Leo Church Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you do not like the changes that we have made. We thank you for your review and for your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is fair but great location

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Hotel location is great. Room a bit small for 4 people meaning 2 adults and 2 kids. Bed is good but sofa bed is pretty bad. Good price but be prepared for a cold breakfast when it's included.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Leo Church Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. The size of the room is mentioned within the site, it also states that the breakfast is continental. The definition of continental breakfast is a light breakfast (as of rolls or toast and coffee). Our location is wonderful as we are within walking distance to Time Square, Broadway, Bryant Park, Public Library, Grant Central Station, 5th Ave and so much more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Time Square

Posted Jul 27, 2017
The room is a little dark, nice an quiet. Sofa bed is worn out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Leo Church Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Our location is wonderful, close to Time Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, Bryant Park and so much more. Thank you for your review, they help us to make the Mansfield Hotel even better.