Ratings based on 2,031 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Great location for sightseeing in NYC; near subway

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Matresses
We spent minimal time at the hotel because we were on the go. It does have a bar and restaurant which were very nice. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful when necessary. Due to its location we were able to spend six days in NYC, never taking a cab, using the subway and walking to any location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Nice Hotel Close to Everything

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: The location and the staff was wonderful.
Cons: Nothing it was great!
Location: Rockefeller Center, 5th Ave shopping and Times Square is all within walking distance as well at the subway to get anywhere.
We had a great stay at the Shoreham. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were on the smaller side but it is New York. Very clean room and fitness center. The location is excellent, just a few blocks away form Rockefeller Center, Times Square and Central Park. Also close to the subways. The staff was very helpful and gave me some things to do which were all worth seeing. Would definatly stay here again!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Uncomfortable

Posted Dec 27, 2017
The beds are so old and terrible. They have huge dips where you are supposed to sleep. When you’re exhausted from your day in NYC the last thing you want to go to is a bed you can’t find comfort in. Also the temperature in the room would never work right. We had to call the front desk and an engineer came in to fix it by saying you can either have it on heat or air conditioning which was a shame. The water pressure would only be on super hard as in it would scrape your skin off (not really but the water pressure was super hard). It was a great location though and the staff was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Jelissa Rodriguez, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. Please know that your comments have been shared with our team in order to continue improving our operations. We hope to exceed your expectations in a future visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great easy night

Posted Dec 25, 2017
In town for broadway...just what we needed. Thankyou...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 Star On Their Best Day!!! Beware!

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: - Good water, water pressure and plenty of hot water. - Good restaurant food but very pricey. - Some of the staff were nice and accommodating.
Cons: See list above!
I normally don't take the time to review but I could not pass this by. I really don't know where to start...... So, I guess I will make a list: - Only 1 cold drink machine on 1st floor of a 14 story hotel, it was out of order during our entire stay. - Only 1 ice machine on first floor. No ice buckets in room, only throw a-ways at the machine. - Carpet was nasty and looked molded in several different areas, musty smell in room. - Could not keep room temp below 74 degrees even after the building engineer looked at it. - Room was behind elevator shafts so could hear elevator cables slapping the wall all night. - Took a couple of extra towels from the housekeeping roller stand in the hallway because there were only two in the room, (3 staying in room) and was treaded very rudely by the housekeeper for doing so. Reported it to staff and they blew it off. - Told manager that we did not want housekeeping to clean for our stay and the housekeeper knocked on our door two of the four days we were there wanting to clean, even though the "Do Not Disturb" sign was on the door. I could list more but these are the highlights. This was not expected by a hotel that costs as much as this one did. If you are looking to stay in New York I would suggest you look further than the ShoreSham!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2017 by Jelissa Rodriguez, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please know that your comments have been shared with our staff in an effort to continue improving our operations. We hope for an opportunity to exceed your expectations in a future visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alexandria va

A nice hotel in a good location that is worn.

Posted Dec 18, 2017
The staff was lovely but our room was tired and worn. The location was perfect. The bed was comfortable but the space needs attention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet place, good location.

Posted Dec 17, 2017
This is a quiet little hotel. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. We had no problems or concerns with the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Awesomeness

Posted Dec 16, 2017
This hotel is close to all the shopping on 5th. Walking distant to time square, Rockefeller Center, Moma,Central Park and even the theater district. Just awesomeness.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2017 by L Madrid, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom too small for 2 people to manage towels( only 1 small hook for towels) , We had to put our towels hanging out of drawers. Really easy for you
Your front desk staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2017 by L Madrid, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Location

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Location is great - 55th between 5th and 6th is really ideal for high end shopping and restaurants. And it is a fairly quiet area
Cons: Two towels instead of just one in the bathroom even for a single occupancy. A coffee maker with coffee to me is a basic necessity, no?.
As in other reviews, the staff are very pleasant and professional. The room, and the bathroom size was much larger than typical NYC hotels in this price range for sure. The bed in the room I was in, was not comfortable. Super hard (beyond firm). When I checked in I was starving. And reception recommended Pazza Notte (over their own restaurant) and gave me a coupon for a free Turamisu or a Bellini. I made the mistake of going to this place. It turned out to be a horrible loud packed (American) Italian place with service objective is to get you in and out as quickly as possible. Getting out was the best part of the experience! If I were the manager of the Hotel, I would never refer any of my guests to such a place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2017 by L Madrid, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback.