Ratings based on 2,514 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Close to Times Square which is its best attribute.

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Its proximity to Times Square was great.
Cons: The volume of the music on the lobby level on the 7th floor could be lowered. It always seemed to be playing loudly.
Location: The location is great, right on 47th at Times Square. It's within walking distance of Central Park, Grand Central Station and all the Broadway shows.
We stayed in two rooms, one on the 35th floor in a suite, the other on the 22nd floor. There were 3 of us in the suite. My daughter was staying in the pull-out bed in the suite. She said the bed was extremely uncomfortable and it hurt her back. She ended up sleeping most nights uncovered on top of the couch. Also, the view was absolutely terrible on the living room side. All you could see was a balcony that had equipment all over it and was very dirty. The bedroom side view was a nice view of Broadway. Would have preferred to stay one floor higher or lower. Don't stay on the 35th floor if you can avoid it. In my sons' room on the 22nd floor, there was a bug on the bed. By the description of it, it sounded like it might have been a cockroach. My sons killed it and they tore apart their beds to make sure there were no others. There weren't any more fortunately. The worst part were the bathroom doors. They were translucent so you could see the person inside the bathroom from the outside of the bathroom. The stranger part was when you wee inside, you could not see out, but from the outside you could see in. So you had virtually no privacy. That made for a very awkward time, especially with my teenage daughter sharing the suite with us. Why would the dark side be inside the bathroom and the translucent side be on the outside so you could see in? Makes no sense. I don't want anyone seeing me when I'm in the bathroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel and location chosen by family. Not my choice

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Location: Close to theatres, but not for shopping at major stores.
Décor of room and hallway may be hip and current but too dark and not bright or airy--not my taste. Tight closet space. Conflicting info from front staff re. late check-out. Long wait in morning to reach reception by phone. Deficient way-finding signage given the location of reception on upper floor, and different elevators for blocks of floors. Did not use food service. Not likely to return for future stays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Great location, great staff Very accommodating and clean Weird sink, but great shower
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Times Square

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Loved everything. Close to the action. Great staff. Great room with a view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

great Stay at W Times Square

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Staff was very nice. Decor was very modern, clean. Location was great.
Cons: There was a nice refreshing punch available in the lobby on Thursday when we arrived. We checked for it on the other days of our stay but it was not
Location: Very close to shops restaurants, theaters
All Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Room was very nice. Overall great stay, I would definitely choose this hotel for another stay in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

The perfect base for a New York stay

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Comfortable rooms, stylish fittings and amazing showers.
Cons: There was an air-con / other strange sound in the ceiling that could have been distracting, but I forgot about it soon after arriving. (Room 1903)
Location: The location needs no intro. Times Square, New York... and a great base for any other Manhattan activities.
The W Hotel at Times Square is the perfect springboard for a stay in New York. The standard (room, staff, location) is high, the rooms are comfortable and stylish, the showers are amazing... really couldn't fault it. I will definitely be staying here next time I'm in New York. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Central location to everything NYC has to offer!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
This is my 5th stay at the W Times Square...It's our go to hotel for the city. Nice rooms, great vibe and friendly staff. Love the bar and DJ on the 7th "welcome" floor. The location is great...it's close to great restaurants and shopping...Rockefeller Center and 5th Avenue are just several blocks (walking) away. We will be back!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2 full size beds are too small for grown adults

Posted Jul 3, 2017
A/C was leaking, rug soaked, beds to small, room right across from elevator and was extremely loud
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in bad condition rooms very dirty

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Bathroom was dirty and moldy . Hotel need update hotel way too far from 4 and 1/2 . Noisy Area . Never go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall great stay.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Friendly people. Great location on time square. Great breakfast delivered to room. Wish we had a better view of time square but really not in the room enough anyway!!