Ratings based on 2,060 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island

Not Family Friendly

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Mostly everything except the automatic window shade.
Location: Good location, lots of restaurants - bad hotel.
Shortly after checking into the W Times Square we were a bit concerned in short order. First, the associate at the check-in desk was very rude during the check-in process and offer very little assistance to some basic questions. The hallway's are very dark, no lighting except above the room doors. This was frightening to our child the whole time we were guests. The room was a bit in disrepair (broken tiles, dirty hair on bathroom floor, hole in the ceiling....etc). Room service was a joke! One evening we ordered toast, two ginger ales and vanilla ice cream....total bill = 72.00! Around the front entrance of the hotel constantly smelled liked someone was getting high (probably the bell hop). Saturday evening we returned to the hotel only to find our lobby was transformed into a night club and needing to navigate around every imaginable creeper from times square. Once again, this is not a family friendly hotel - more like a no tell motel.....stay away!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient - but disappointing

Posted Jan 8, 2018
The room was only okay. he room was extremely loud, had to sleep with ear plugs and a white noise machine and still could hear traffic noise. The fan/ac/heater was making some sort of jiggling noise all night, we could not fix it and didn't want maintenance guys in our room trying to figure it out. Bathroom door was a pocket door and didn't shut properly. Check in was a nightmare, had to wait 30 min in line, only to be told at 4:15pm that our room was not ready yet, and to wait (with all EIGHT of our bags) in their bar/lobby area. Waited an additional 45 min to go up to our room. Check in desk was old, small and cramped. Overall, disappointed given the price of the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

New Years 2018

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Great place to stay. Close to everything!! Hotel staff was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Amazing Christmas in NYC

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Just a 5 star experience all the way around from the greeting at the door to the time we left for home. My son's my mom and I enjoyed every moment of this trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Staff was very Friendly and Helpful!

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Staff was very helpful. They made sure our bags were accommodated until check in. They also assisted us with recommendations on tourist attractions and good eats. Staff made sure we had taxi when we needed. Hotel is n a great proximity to everything important!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel @times square

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Affordable and convenient to lots of theatres! We walked most places and enjoyed a fabulous Christmas trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location.

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: wall insulation.
Location: Ellen's stardust diner.
Room walls are thin. People next door sound like they are in the room with you. Hotel staff was quick to tell them to lower their voices late at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas,tx

Ok for a W hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Great location. Typical small New York room size. Lobby is on the 7th floor and seemed very restricted because the ceiling is low. As we were packing up our belongings we found a pair of men’s briefs that were stuffed between the hair and the wall. Not sure how long they had been there but pretty disgusting to think they were in there the whole time. We could also hear a very high pitched sound when we or other suites near us would turn on the water from their shower or sink. Pretty annoying. Over all the entire hotel felt small and restricted. We have stayed in other time square hotels that felt more open and inviting due to the size of the lobby and hall ways. the hotel was nice but expected more from a W hotel. Rooms were updated and location was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Great location. Site fee includes laundry and bar credits!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Will stay here again

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Pros: Lively without being too much
Cons: Kettle in the room
Definitely recommend this hotel. Location is central, hotel modern, lively and very comfortable.