Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Ideal location for food

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Didn't like how you had to pay for parking. Room was clean in parts you can see but under bed was terrible
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Very expensive for a glass of wine. Pleasant staff on arrival welcomed well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelt of tobacco

Posted Oct 6, 2017
It was fine and breakfast was nice. Arrived v. late and apparently last room in the hotel, so no point in quibbling about the room.... which smelt of tobacco which was disappointing as it was a non-smoking room. That was my main issue. The rest was fine. Felt a bit dated decor and had the worst kind of muzak playing in the lobby, but was not shabby - kinda suggesting that they want it to look dated! Odd. It takes all sorts I suppose. :) It was fine as a place to lay my head for the night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire UK

Lovely staff are let down by details

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Very quiet, comfortable rooms and helpful Reception staff.
Cons: More cruets, some staff training for breakfast staff. Checvk all info for guests is the same.
Location: I was on a course locally so n/a
My room was so comfortable and quiet that I overslept the first morning! So I booked an alarm call for the next 3 days - one of which was late and one never happened. Reception and dining room staff were good - except at breakfast, but they were let down by the little, easily fixed, things. I always had to go to another table to find salt, papper or both. One chair had a big rent up the back. The table was by the wall so it would have taken only a minute to put the chair thother side. The food was well cooked, but as it was also very ordinary and everything except breakfast beverages waas self service it was over priced. For two out my four breakfasts I had to spend some time trying to catch someone's eye to get a cup of coffee. On one occassion the response was 'I'm not working this section today'. On the other, another guest the other side of the member of staff concerned heard me trying to get his attention and got hold of him! He then zombied over, took my order without speaking and delivered a coffee pot in the same way. He drifted around, shirt collar unbuttoned, tie only half way up, and had to be told to clear tables he could easily see needed attention. Documentation was confused. The web site says swimming pool. One sheet in the room says free to green room key holdersd (implying not free to the rest) anotheer says 'Just bring £1 for your locker'. Web says 2x20 min free Wifi, plus free in lounge. Reception says free in lounge only (and beware - it's not secure).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Decent enough hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2017
This hotel was ideal for what I needed and was in a good location for where I needed to be. I noticed it was cold in the room and that the window would not close properly. Someone came to room to fix this issue and then suggested I put the radiator on. Until they realised the radiator was broken. It wasn't until the next morning when I woke unnoticed a carrier bag and elastic band tied around the smoke alarm. Which could have been done by a previous guest. The hotel was comfortable and clean and a very good price and great for my needs. I was just a little disappointed with certain aspects
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Didn't know it was a Britannia when I booked

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Both Dinner and Breakfast were good and the Spa facilities were fine. That is the plus side. The minus side is as follows:- 1 We had to pay to park 2 We were charged to use Spa facilities (Expedia kindly refunded these charges on contacting them; they were appalled about the charge at a Spa hotel.) 3 Charge for Wi-Fi after only 20 minutes. 4 The only hotel I can recall that forbids ANY food or drink to be taken in. This seems to be a policy that is non enforceable so merely penalises the honourable guests. 5 Coffee making facilities but No biscuits supplied in the room. We had a dreadful previous experience in a Britannia Hotel and would not have booked this one had we known. It was previously a Hilton.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Needs updating

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Ok for the price and perfect location for our needs. The rooms however do require updating and are a bit rough around the edges. The bathrooms are small (due to the separation of the bath and toilet from the wash basin) and we didn't have any towels in ours! We were not overly enamoured with the receptionist who checked us in and out (a bit surly and miserable). Have stayed here a few times when visiting family and friends in the area but will probably stay elsewhere next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Dirty bath and no lift

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Staff are helpful
Cons: The rooms need updating
Location: Near to nice villages once outside Bromsgrove
The room was like a 1980s eastern european motel with a brown carpet with red and orange line and circles motif. The carpet was so old it was overstretched and uneven. The bathroom was equally tired with an old shower curtain and horror of horrors one of those horrid rubber suction mats for the shower. The bath was filthy with a build up of dirt. Someone knocked at my door at 11 pm to ask if I wanted clean towels! Very odd. I had the £15 dinner which was ok. I was told there was no lift. Reception had improved since I was last there. There was only 2 pillows on the bed but I found more in the wardrobe in the middle of the night. There was no matress protector on the bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Parking Charges

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: Totally free parking. You are not in the centre of Birmingham - why are you charging as if you were?
Rooms are tatty but serviceable. Food was alright. However still got charged from carpark management company even though included with hotel. Receptionist said system did not always work right and that guests often got threatening letters demanding payment. Is alright as a budget hotel but wouldn't recommend until parking management company is replaced or parking is free as you may get a nasty surprise extra charge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

not bad for price

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: price was good
Cons: yes decor
Location: all ok around
very good hotel for price would not pay any more than I did as it starting to look at bit run down